Hong Kong: HK holiday - Where to go?

Creative_tec

actually if you knows where to search in HK, there are a few places with really cheap stuff, have you been to Shum Shui Po? most stuff in Ladies market got it from there, over there , they also have a building something like our SL Sq, where they sell very cheap electronic stuff too.

if you are going for good and cheap seafood, but that place is a bit far off, it's something like kukop in malaysia, very cheap and fresh.. [thumbsup]

The Apliu Street David mentioned is in Sham Shui Po. The building known for electronics and computer stuff is known as Golden Building, of which there are two different sides, Golden Computer Centre (高登電腦中心) and Golden Computer Arcade (黃金電腦商場). A lot more messy than SL Sq, but you can often find good buys if you know what you're looking for.

we spent 3 nites in HK and 1 nite (2 days) at Disney, $800 each for family of 4. If you have kids, spend at least 2 days there and stay in one of the Disney hotel [thumbsup] . we booked thru SA free & easy.

go early Dec to see the x'mas lighting [thumbsup]

i went there for 1 week in july...

day 1: arrv 730pm..eat dinner at central

day 2: buy PC for my aunt(who we are staying with) at Mongkok

day 3: Disneyland

day 4: Shopping

day 5: Oceanpark, Stanley bay and the Symphony of Lights at TST

day 6: Shopping, evening went up The Peak

day 7: Shopping, mid-level escalator

day 8: Shopping, flight to SG at 9pm..almost missed the flight..me and my gf the very very last one to board..whole plane waiting for us.. [laugh][laugh] we took SQ btw..

8 days..don't even have time to go macau, zhu hai and shenzhen...

interesting. i be going for 6D5nites. Planning go shenzhen, macau.

Creative_tec, maybe u can consider going to warehouse shopping at mtr Tungzhong, handbags for ladies at TST. computer stuff at mongkok. Which hotel u staying btw? i be staying at stanford.

haha... maybe a bit of shopping but not those extreme shopping. i am more of wanting to experience the culture there, like going to the race course, wake up at 5.30am to eat breakfast and ect [:)]

i will be staying at the Prudential Hotel... somewhere near to Jordan

If you are into aquarium, The stretch of Tong Choi street near the Prince Edward MTR station would be very interesting. Lots of fish shops along the street and aquarium equipment prices are generally much cheaper than in Singapore. Then there is another stretch nearby all selling potted plants and flowers. But I am more into fishes than flowers.

Edited by Patcheon

some shopping suggestions:

)Times Square

2)Harbour City (Over 700 shop worth a try)

3)Miramar Shopping Center (Can Skip)

4)Argyle Centre (Yes you shld go)

5)Langham Place

6)Sun Arcade

7)Grandville Road

8)Landmark

9)Stanley St (If time permint)

----------------------------

thanks bro!!

i think you kenna con by your gf liao... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

if not wrong, they are having the end of summer sales at this period of time,

she pays the holiday, you pays the expenses...shopping... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

haha... i told that to my gf and she was telling me "why never i think of that"

but she have promised me no shopping there.. only do the things i want.. haha

is it expensive to eat there?

i think i am getting a bit confused. is Tai O the same the lamma island?

Tai O is on Lantau Island, the same island as the airport, Disneyland, the big Buddha etc. Lantau Island is big, bigger than HK Island itself, so expect to spend some time travelling around if you try to cover more than three places at Lantau in the same day. Lamma Island is another, much smaller island, but there are no cars or buses on it so you'll have to get around pretty much by walking (not sure if you can rent bicycles). But anyway if you go there just for the seafood and for a leisurely walk its not a problem.

Lamma Island seafood is not bad, I've eaten there quite a few times. There are two main parts of the island which most people visit, Yung Shue Wan and Sok Kwu Wan. The former has a couple of seafood restaurants, but mostly an eclectic mix of other types of food like Western/Italian etc. Sok Kwu Wan is home to a lot of seafood restaurants, can't remember exactly which one is best but in general the food is fairly good and fresh.

A third island, Cheung Chau, lies between Lamma and Lantau, heard the seafood there is also very good although I haven't tried myself. Another place famous for seafood is Sai Kung (I live here), but in actual fact the restaurants here pale in comparison to those on Lamma or even in the urban areas, so I wouldn't bother.

Summer sales are actually over long ago, the autumn designs have all appeared.

thanks for the detailed overview!!

go macau 1 day only? rushing.. not worth the 2hrs travelling time..go early b4 noon, catch the "ah ma tian ping" [:p]

bro.. your iternary looks good. maybe i will skip disneyland and replace it with day trip to macau...

there is just too many things in hk to do.. i am getting all excited now!!

my gf wanna go there eat the chicken cutlet bun.. she say its very famous there one

my gf is going to treat me to hongkong for holiday next week. just wanna find out other than the early morning ice tea with dim sum and the late night clubbing at lan kuai fang, what else is fun there? worth seeing?

If you want shopping then I can't help.

But for us the following are great:

Trip up the peak day and night if there is no haze.

Get in the front seat of double decker bus to Stanley. Better than any Disneyland ride and good market to look round in Stanley.

Lamma Island boat trip for great views of HK. The sea food is OK, not great.

Get MTR to Choi Hung then catch mini bus outside station to Sai Kung. See other HK apart from the Island. Nice sea food restaurants on the sea side in Sai Kung.

Or get a taxi from Sai Kung to the Beach Resort Hotel 5 min taxi away for a great range of open air restaurants and variety of food and Roast Suckling pig cooked in front of you.

Of course the Star Ferry and Dim Sum in the Restaurant next to the Star Ferry on Kowloon side.

Shenzen. Don't bother.

Macau, yes by the Super Cat 1st class. Not expensive and the only way to travel to Macau.

Get to Macau by 10am if possible then mini bus to Fernando's Restaurant on Coloane Island. Great food, BBQ style and more.

Sardines, chicken, prawns, tomato salad, freshly baked bread still warm and a bottle of Vino Verde wine. As great a lunch as you'll get anywhere.

The old cathedral and the antique shops in the road just below.

Custard tarts are about the same as Singapore but worth a bite with a cup of coffee.

A Lorca restaurant is good and the Budhist temple close by sets off the biggest fireworks you've ever seen, but not everyday.

Casinos, yes if you like.

You need more than a day trip to do Macau properly.

Night Horse Racing at Happy Valley. Do it. Get tickets to the Stable Bend Restaurant. Call and book by phone. More expensive now than it used to be but great view of the racing, free international buffet from 6-30pm all we Singaporeans can eat and more, and free flow of all drinks all evening including alcohol. And if you want to place a bet then you don't have to move and all the ins and outs of betting friendly explained. Fantastic nights entertainment.

Zhu Hai. Don't bother.

Night markets in HK, well ok if you must.

The Budha on Lantau, well again ok if you must.

The restaurants just across the road from the old Kai Tak airport. Lots of choice.

That's enough from me.

WAH!!!!! this is what i really need!!! good insight!!

chicken cutlet bun.. original from Macau, 'tai pa' not the city area where most traveller went, the shop open till 10am only so very limited supply..1 day u no way to go there lah..may be u can consider the famous magerate egg tart ba