Taiwan: Hotels in Taipei

Getzoooom

MO,

Thanks for answering my call and the direction given just now.....

I can't believe that young chap point the wrong direction to me.. [furious]

Damn, I was heading to BanQiao ( 'Wood bridge' )...... [sweatdrop]

post-1039-1275318424_thumb.jpg

Taipei 101 is in the Xinyi district and there are loads of shopping malls and a mega bookstore in the area besides Taipei 101 itself. But the stuff are mainly mid to high-end so don't expect night market prices. Still it's a great area for people watching and especially vibrant on weekends.

Here's what u can expect to find in the area:

1) Shin Kong Mitsukoshi (新光三越)

This is a jap dept store similar to our Taka but 10 times bigger in size. They have like four or five buildings (each about 3 ~ 4 stories) congregated in the single stretch. The sheer expanse of it never fail to fascinate me no matter how many times I'm there.

2) Eslite Bookstore (誠品信義店)

Similar to our Borders but again, 10 times bigger. They sell more than books and you can find loads of other lifestyle products in there.

They open till late (around 2am I think) so it's a great place to hangout if u got nothing else planned for the night. Another fave place of mine.

3) Vieshow Cinemas (威秀影城)

This is a Cineplex and they got like 17 screens. But watching movies isn't very cheap in Taipei. Cost about NT$260 for a weekend ticket.

5) New York New York (紐約紐約)

Another shopping mall but mostly lifestyle stuff. I think there's a Muji in there, Toys R' Us, an Apple Store and a few ice cream and fast food outlets.

They are all reachable by walking but mind you, this area is quite big so it's not like a 5mins radius. I reckon it's a bit like walking from one end of Orchard to the other. And if u pop in every mall, you can easily spend half a day. Factor in shopping time, meal time and probably toilet breaks in between, you can easily spend the entire day there.

Item 1. Very near to where I stay ((Zhongxiao East Road), I'll try to check it out if I have the time....

Kekekeke...knn, my US friend in my car was laughing after I hung up your call,

said I was like a freaking walking street directory/encyclopedia. He called me

also when he needed directions in San Francisco/Texas/LA.

Those small fry donno the place, anyhow whack one.

Now My question:

"Where do you wanna go today?" [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Eyh, have you gone to Dan Shui? Call me if you need directions.

Got a of lobang to tell you. :D

MO,

Saw ur other postings re car accessories. Can try neihu jiu zhong lu yi tuan. Yellow hat, richahaus and autobacs all there.

Item 1. Very near to where I stay ((Zhongxiao East Road), I'll try to check it out if I have the time....

BTW, going to WuFenPu via MRT is far easier, but less cheaper option

as compared to taking the train. Your Pah Ter Lu got section 1-4, so doesn't mean

near your hotel, one section sibey long hor. I walked the while 4 sections

when I was on attachment there, use map do topo. [laugh]

MO,

Saw ur other postings re car accessories. Can try neihu jiu zhong lu yi tuan. Yellow hat, richahaus and autobacs all there.

A big eerrrrr..... which train station??

Now My question:

not sure If i have the time tmr as I'm meeting my client at 12pm for lunch followed by a presentation at 2pm... by the time i'm done. It will be 5-6pm... Don't really like the idea of carrying my laptop to go shopping... very heavy... [sweatdrop]

BTW, going to WuFenPu via MRT is far easier, but less cheaper option

as compared to taking the train. Your Pah Ter Lu got section 1-4, so doesn't mean

near your hotel, one section sibey long hor. I walked the while 4 sections

when I was on attachment there, use map do topo. [laugh]

I just saw the map.. it's almost 4 MRT away... but quite a distance from the station..... [sweatdrop]

I think I'm going to loose weight here..... with all the walking....

Now My question:

By the way, can I also call you for direction when I go tokyo?

I'm staying in near Yoyogi Station.. [:p]

Well, if you can drop off your laptop back at your hotel, that place is nice to walk round that time, seaside so to speak. Got makan and night market as well. Maybe you rest first and go the next day. But that area has THREE places to visit, morning to night, but it would be really great if you brought your wife along. I bet she will love the scenery.

not sure If i have the time tmr as I'm meeting my client at 12pm for lunch followed by a presentation at 2pm... by the time i'm done. It will be 5-6pm... Don't really like the idea of carrying my laptop to go shopping... very heavy... [sweatdrop]

Bus service quite easy lah, pay only when you get off. Ask driver, they will tell yo when to get off and also how much the fare is.

I just saw the map.. it's almost 4 MRT away... but quite a distance from the station..... [sweatdrop]

I think I'm going to loose weight here..... with all the walking....

Chicken feet lah, had Kow Liang on my off day, and Shaoxing during pre-mission ops. [:p]

NICEEEEE!! [thumbsup] Add one sng buay in, wah!! Ok, ok, no more, I stopped drinking years ago. *ahem*

3486129756_7ab680a3b9.jpg

I'm going to enjoy the rest of the night with these..........

Can I charge per 5min block. [laugh] [laugh]

By the way, can I also call you for direction when I go tokyo?

I'm staying in near Yoyogi Station.. [:p]

Well, if you can drop off your laptop back at your hotel, that place is nice to walk round that time, seaside so to speak. Got makan and night market as well. Maybe you rest first and go the next day. But that area has THREE places to visit, morning to night, but it would be really great if you brought your wife along. I bet she will love the scenery.

Damn... I think I need to go back to wu fen pu tmr.... the trouser I bought. a bit too big...

I bought the same size different colour, didnt expect to have such a great difference.... [furious]

Damn... I think I need to go back to wu fen pu tmr.... the trouser I bought. a bit too big...

I bought the same size different colour, didnt expect to have such a great difference.... [furious]

I don't even bother buying there, quality

wise no difference from Bkk. You're better

off buying from the department stores, and

some have good bargains plus a changing room

to try out. If not expensive, don't waste your time

going back, I gather no receipt, some will not

entertain exchanges. My sister last time SQ told her

she stubborn, then kpkb. Hahaha...

Month end, I'm going to Regent Hotel Taipei!!! :D

Ok r not huh?

I have came back from my trip... This hotel (京华饭店) is power 5 stars... Room damn huge, bed super king size, bathroom power, LCD big... Solid...

bros,

if i want to buy a pre paid telco card mainly to use the 3G for data surfing, any advice to get which telco card or amt?

and is there a lot of free wifi to tap in the shopping areas?