Animal kills of men at zoos

Galantspeedz

I was driving and heard on radio earlier at 4+ an interview with some director at the zoo regarding this.

Seems like its a Malaysian contract worker who was acting weird during lunch and said something to the extent of "goodbye". (the contract worker works in the zoo) The contract worker got into the enclosure. The zoo staff were alerted then went to the enclosure and tried to distract the 3 tigers from the contract worker by throwing things into the enclosure. But the tigers attacked anyways.

Sad story...

Sucidal? What a way to go [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

seem that that will fall under indurstrial accident, MOM will step in. Let see the report how it happen..

Jia lark liao ... The zoo got to do risk assessment for all their animals [sweatdrop]

they didnt state that he worked for the zoo leh..... only said he was a contract worker

Channel NewsAsia - Friday, November 14SINGAPORE:

A Malaysian contract worker died after being attacked by three white tigers at the Singapore Zoo on Thursday.

The worker has been identified as Nordin Bin Montong. The 32

Imagine those fangs sinking into flesh...

A lesson learnt for everyone - a wild animal remains wild, no matter how long it has been kept in a man-made enclosure. Heck, even us humans behave like wild animals at times.

Edited by Emils

wonder if the tiger will be put to rest.. [sweatdrop]

Very unlikely the White Tigers will be put to sleep, at most the Zoo set up cages.

They are an endangered species and too rare (not to mention expensive).

Furthermore this was probably an accident, you can't really blame the tigers for acting like tigers. It's not as if they escaped their enclosures.. Only then will [rifle] become a viable option.

But RIP to the poor fellow who got killed.I agree with you. Sometimes, zoo visitors (not referring to the deceased) may have forgotten that these are wild....no matter how 'pretty' they look, how friendly the enclosure looks, etc...

could it be that being a poor lowly worker he was just following the instructions of his bossy

his bossy without being clear asked him to clean the pond

dare not argue because fear of being fired

just do it

that is why he hesistate before he jump in

could this be the real reason

BUT rest assure the authorities will ensure that NO ONE will be blame for this incident except the jumper

watch and see

it is always the case

In the 60s/70s, there was a panther escaped here in Singapore. I cannot remembered if anyone was injured or killed. You could be right being that this is the first fatal case in Singapore but there could have already been other case elsewhere.

In as far as I can remembered, I was in Las Vegas in 2003 when the news came over that the White Tiger Show in one of the hotel is cancelled because of a incident. The injured was the trainer. It was reported that during the show, something dropped onto the floor and the trainer tried to pick it up. At that instant, one of the white tigers grapped the trainer's neck in its mouth. It then later release after much prompting.

It was said that when the trainer bend down, the tiger's instint kick-in. The trainer bending down was not 'in the script', so to the tiger its something new or threatening.

I cannot comprehend why anybody would choose such a painful and agonizing way to commit suicide. Imagine facing 3 savage tigers tearing away at your body, just the thought of it is making my hair stand.

That's despite me being a cat lover. [lipsrsealed]

It is reported that he jumped into the pond with visitors around..

The tigers are great jumper(i think can jump 20-30 feet from running) and so the enclosure had been designed in such a way that the tigers cannot jump out by using surrounding water.. So no way any boss would ask their workers to clean the pond from the visitors viewing stand..

But if they enter from the back, and the tigers are inside, then the boss is in deep trouble

The Las Vegas attack happened during the Siegfried and Roy duo if I remember correctly. It was really shocking. The attack almost ended the life of the magician (I think it was Roy but I can't be sure)... whew.

some info from wikipedia...

On October 3, 2003, during a show at The Mirage, Roy Horn was bitten on the neck by a seven-year-old male tiger named Montecore. Crew members separated Horn from the tiger and rushed him to the only Level I trauma center in Nevada, University Medical Center. Horn was critically injured and sustained severe blood loss. While being taken to the hospital, Horn said, according to sources, "Don't harm the cat."[2]

Horn was in critical condition for several weeks thereafter, and was said to have suffered a stroke and partial paralysis. Doctors removed one-quarter of his skull to relieve the pressure of his swelling brain during an operation known as a decompressive craniectomy. The portion of skull was placed in a pouch in Horn's abdomen in the hope of replacing it later. Horn was eventually transferred to UCLA Medical Center in Los Angeles, California for long-term recovery and rehabilitation.

As of 2006, Horn is walking, assisted only by Fischbacher, and talking. To host Pat O'Brien on the television news program The Insider, he complained about his daily rehabilitation, "They are slave drivers over there. You'd think they are the KGB from Russia."[3]

It is disputed whether or not the tiger attacked Horn. Montecore had been trained by Horn since he was a cub; he had performed with the act for six years. Fischbacher, appearing on the Larry King interview program, said Horn fell during the act and Montecore was attempting to drag him to safety, as a mother tigress would pull one of her cubs by the neck. Fischbacher said Montecore had no way of knowing that Horn, unlike a tiger cub, did not have fur and thick skin covering his neck and that his neck was vulnerable to injury. Fischbacher said if Montecore had wanted to injure Horn, the tiger would have snapped his neck and shaken him back and forth.

Former Mirage owner Steve Wynn (who hired the duo in 1990) told Las Vegas television station KLAS-TV the events were substantially as described by Fischbacher. According to Wynn, there was a woman with a "big hairdo" in the front row who, he says, "fascinated and distracted" Montecore. The woman reached out to attempt to pet the animal, and Roy jumped between the woman and the tiger.

According to Wynn, the tiger gently grabbed Horn's right arm with his jaws, not scratching the arm or tearing his costume. Horn said, "Release, release", attempting to persuade Montecore to let go of his arm, and eventually striking the tiger with his microphone. Horn tripped over the cat's paw and fell on his back; stagehands then rushed out and jumped on the cat. It was only then, said Wynn, that the confused tiger leaned over Roy and attempted to carry Horn off the stage to safety. Wynn said that although the tiger's teeth inflicted puncture wounds that caused Horn to lose blood, there was no damage to his neck. Stagehands then sprayed Roy and Montecore with a fire extinguisher to separate the two.

A white tiger in the Mirage habitat.

Montecore was put into quarantine for ten days in order to ensure he was not rabid, and was then returned to his habitat at The Mirage. While Horn has requested that Montecore not be harmed, the incident may augur the end of exotic animal shows in which there are no barriers between tigers and audience members. Some animal rights activists, many of whom oppose the use of wild animals in live entertainment, sought to use the incident as a springboard for publicity, though few have ever accused the Siegfried & Roy show of mistreating animals.

The injury to Roy Horn prompted The Mirage to close the show indefinitely and to lay off 267 cast and crew members with one week's severance pay. While Fischbacher has said "the show will go on", a hotel spokesman told the production staff that they "should explore other career opportunities".

According to the Las Vegas Advisor, The Mirage will suffer financially, not just from the loss of $45 million in annual ticket sales, but from having to forgo untold millions in sales of food, beverages, hotel rooms and the casino's gambling winnings. An MGM Mirage spokesman said losing Siegfried & Roy is a bigger hit to the Mirage brand than to its finances, because the entertainers are "practically the faces" of the hotel, and finding a new hotel brand or identity will be difficult.

Thank You for correcting me. There is another hotel, MGM, where if I remembered correctly a 500kg Lion who would appear in the glass enclosure. Wonder if that lion is still aorund.

wonder if the tiger will be put to rest.. [sweatdrop]

Very unlikely the White Tigers will be put to sleep, at most the Zoo set up cages.

They are an endangered species and too rare (not to mention expensive).

Furthermore this was probably an accident, you can't really blame the tigers for acting like tigers. It's not as if they escaped their enclosures.. Only then will [rifle] become a viable option.

But RIP to the poor fellow who got killed.I agree with you. Sometimes, zoo visitors (not referring to the deceased) may have forgotten that these are wild....no matter how 'pretty' they look, how friendly the enclosure looks, etc...

The tigers were not at fault. That guy jumped in and the tigers acted on instinct. It's simple mother nature at work. That guy knew the risks when he went into the enclosure.

It's like someone bo tai bo chi slap you on the face. Don't tell me you recompose yourself, think through why that guy slapped you and then ask in a nice gentle manner "Mr, may I know why you had slapped me?" Of course not lah. You will probably hit that farker right in the face for slapping you. Dio bo?

The tigers acted in the same way. Come into my territory. And I will protect it. All hunters have their territory to protect.

Edited by Kxbc