Income/Class classification in Singapore.

Milgram

In the wake of the economic downturn, it has been reported that help would now be given not just to the low (income) class but also the middle class (specifically, the low-middle class). In the same report, the low (income) class was defined as a family with a total household income of $1500 and below, while the low-middle class was defined as those with a total household income of $1501-$2500.

Not too long ago, during the foreign-workers-domitory-in-Serangoon-Gardens saga, it was reported that those staying in the landed properties in Serangoon Gardens were middle class.

Any one here knows how are households classified in Singapore in terms of income/class? I'm confused... [lipsrsealed]

Then 4k-8k is wat? Anyhow coin up these type of terms/classifications [lipsrsealed]

Not sure if you can classfiy them as "middle-middle" class and maybe 8k-10k is considered as " high-middle" class.

Then 4k-8k is wat? Anyhow coin up these type of terms/classifications [lipsrsealed]

Yah lor....like that I low-middle leh according to their classification [sweatdrop]

Not sure if you can classfiy them as "middle-middle" class and maybe 8k-10k is considered as " high-middle" class.

Then what would be high income bro? >$10K? [sweatdrop]

In the wake of the economic downturn, it has been reported that help would now be given not just to the low (income) class but also the middle class (specifically, the low-middle class). In the same report, the low (income) class was defined as a family with a total household income of $1500 and below, while the low-middle class was defined as those with a total household income of $1501-$2500.

Not too long ago, during the foreign-workers-domitory-in-Serangoon-Gardens saga, it was reported that those staying in the landed properties in Serangoon Gardens were middle class.

Any one here knows how are households classified in Singapore in terms of income/class? I'm confused... [lipsrsealed]

$1500 and below - low class

$1500 and above - middle class

above the above - high class

above the above and above - elite class

Why do they even bother to 'classify' households in the first place... opens door for social classification AND is ambiguous.

Should just state that for what income range and such.... that way, everyone can be clear (or at least, clearer)

Edited by Scoots

Why do they even bother to 'classify' households in the first place... opens door for social classification AND is ambiguous.

Should just state that for what income range and such.... that way, everyone can be clear (or at least, clearer)

Lowest 5% earner - low class

Highest 5% earner - high class

the rest of the 90% - middle class

$1500 and below - low class

$1500 and above - middle class

above the above - high class

above the above and above - elite class

You missing some numbers leh brudder... [lipsrsealed]

HDB use 8k as the cap on the egliability to purchase a HDB flat. Maybe 8k can be use as a benchmark for the classes criteria.

What do you say?

Lowest 5% earner - low class

Highest 5% earner - high class

the rest of the 90% - middle class

Alamak, missing figures again dah [confused]

HDB use 8k as the cap on the egliability to purchase a HDB flat. Maybe 8k can be use as a benchmark for the classes criteria.

What do you say?

So $8K is...erm...middle-middle or high-middle or just middle? [:p]

That's what "they" want , the unclearer the better. Anyway why do you want to know?

You should know most of us will not be eligible for any form of relief right?

That's what "they" want , the unclearer the better. Anyway why do you want to know?

You should know most of us will not be eligible for any form of relief right?

Yeah...the middle class suffers the most....that's precisely why I want to know <_<