Australia offers 'best job in world' on paradise island

Gadgeter

Source:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20090113/tap-...at-5a1703c.html

SYDNEY (AFP) - - An Australian state is offering internationally what it calls "the best job in the world" -- earning a top salary for lazing around a beautiful tropical island for six months.

The job pays 150,000 Australian dollars (105,000 US dollars) and includes free airfares from the winner's home country to Hamilton Island on the Great Barrier Reef, Queensland's state government announced on Tuesday.

In return, the "island caretaker" will be expected to stroll the white sands, snorkel the reef, take care of "a few minor tasks" -- and report to a global audience via weekly blogs, photo diaries and video updates.

The successful applicant, who will stay rent-free in a three-bedroom beach home complete with plunge pool and golf buggy, must be a good swimmer, excellent communicator and be able to speak and write English.

"They'll also have to talk to media from time to time about what they're doing so they can't be too shy and they'll have to love the sea, the sun, the outdoors," said acting state Premier Paul Lucas.

"The fact that they will be paid to explore the islands of the Great Barrier Reef, swim, snorkel and generally live the Queensland lifestyle makes this undoubtedly the best job in the world."

Lucas said the campaign was part of a drive to protect the state's 18 billion Australian dollar a year tourism industry during the tough economic climate caused by the global financial meltdown.

"Traditional tourism advertising just doesn't cut it sometimes and we are thinking outside the box by launching this campaign."

Queensland Tourism Minister Desley Boyle said some people might question whether it was risky to let an unknown person become an unofficial tourism spokesperson for the state.

"I think the biggest risk will be that the successful candidate won't want to go home at the end of the six months," she said.

"This is a legitimate job which is open to anyone and everyone."

Applications are open until February 22. Eleven shortlisted candidates will be flown to Hamilton Island in early May for the final selection process and the six month contract will commence on July 1.

Job-seekers can apply on .

P.S: Anyone wants to try to apply?

post-1039-1231834471_thumb.jpg

like that also can? but most likely there is a list of to-dos for the winner and life won't be as rosy as described in the report. [shakehead]

imagine the director/producer telling you to lie on the sand with the posture, hold for 20 seconds while the cameraman gets cracking [hur]

like that also can? but most likely there is a list of to-dos for the winner and life won't be as rosy as described in the report. [shakehead]

imagine the director/producer telling you to lie on the sand with the posture, hold for 20 seconds while the cameraman gets cracking [hur]

Hahahaha, but you will get paid 105,000 US bucks hor....Not many jobs here pay that much without getting yourself turning into a maniac....

just like amazing race and survival .... everything looks nice on TV but not on real life

Hahahaha, but you will get paid 105,000 US bucks hor....Not many jobs here pay that much without getting yourself turning into a maniac....

that's exactly what I mean. you signed a contract which binds you legally, then they ask u to do things against your will but to your interest? think you will go crazy after that? some more alone on the island and that means no hey shio he shio for months on end [shakehead]

Just fly there with an exhaust pipe will do....

TS..read inbetween the lines....the successful applicant could be 'fish food'. :D

..so how to spend the money earned? [laugh]

i'd take that risk, except that maybe most people are more qualified than me

they will only go for hunk/babe who can communicate well and be their poster boy/gal/couple lah.. maybe some popular blogger who fits the bill will get it. at least that's who i'd pick if i were them.

As saying goes: "No free lunch in this world" Pros and Cons, u gotta upkeep the island all by urself, siong leh... Risk and danger definitely will be involve or else y they open the job to public if good deal might as well they leave it to their own ppl.. Gotta think Thrice!!!! [laugh]

Source:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20090113/tap-...at-5a1703c.html

SYDNEY (AFP) - - An Australian state is offering internationally what it calls "the best job in the world" -- earning a top salary for lazing around a beautiful tropical island for six months.

The job pays 150,000 Australian dollars (105,000 US dollars) and includes free airfares from the winner's home country to Hamilton Island on the Great Barrier Reef, Queensland's state government announced on Tuesday.

In return, the "island caretaker" will be expected to stroll the white sands, snorkel the reef, take care of "a few minor tasks" -- and report to a global audience via weekly blogs, photo diaries and video updates.

The successful applicant, who will stay rent-free in a three-bedroom beach home complete with plunge pool and golf buggy, must be a good swimmer, excellent communicator and be able to speak and write English.

"They'll also have to talk to media from time to time about what they're doing so they can't be too shy and they'll have to love the sea, the sun, the outdoors," said acting state Premier Paul Lucas.

"The fact that they will be paid to explore the islands of the Great Barrier Reef, swim, snorkel and generally live the Queensland lifestyle makes this undoubtedly the best job in the world."

Lucas said the campaign was part of a drive to protect the state's 18 billion Australian dollar a year tourism industry during the tough economic climate caused by the global financial meltdown.

"Traditional tourism advertising just doesn't cut it sometimes and we are thinking outside the box by launching this campaign."

Queensland Tourism Minister Desley Boyle said some people might question whether it was risky to let an unknown person become an unofficial tourism spokesperson for the state.

"I think the biggest risk will be that the successful candidate won't want to go home at the end of the six months," she said.

"This is a legitimate job which is open to anyone and everyone."

Applications are open until February 22. Eleven shortlisted candidates will be flown to Hamilton Island in early May for the final selection process and the six month contract will commence on July 1.

Job-seekers can apply on .

P.S: Anyone wants to try to apply?

If got provide Australian [gorgeous] babe and the main task is to populate the island, I will....sorry I MUST apply.

Sorry bros... Please allow me to apply with you!!! [:p]

They would thinks its money well spent.

Look at the awareness it created for the island.

No venture, no gain. Kudos to them for trying to do something singaporeans would never dare to try.

What will the Australians thinks? Hey isn't that from the taxes that they paid?