Malaysia : Recommend Desaru Resort?

Lorinser

We are planning for a 2 nite stay at Desaru in March.

Heard that some are pretty rundown and cleanliness are very bad.

Any recommendation for a nice and clean resort in Desaru with some seasports and go-kart and ATV?

Any suggestions will be very much appreciated.

All of them are in bad shape.

The best in the area is the Pulai Desaru. Desaru Golden Beach resembles more like camp grounds from the BB or GB HQ in SG with A/C.

The price is hefty for the crappy state of Pulai Desaru.

All of them are in bad shape.

The best in the area is the Pulai Desaru. Desaru Golden Beach resembles more like camp grounds from the BB or GB HQ in SG with A/C.

Stayed at Desaru Golden Beach during CNY. Got the 2 storey bungalow with 4 units. if nt wrong deluxe room. got balcony facing the sea itself. comes with queen size bed. not bad IMHO.

sorry to sidetrack a bit,,, was having problem creating a new topic,,,, any bro/sis here ever been to a hotspring resort in Taipei? will be travelling there month end,,hence like to check if there is any good hotel or resort to recommend,,,,,

Drove to Melaka, Port Dickson, KL, genting b4. Dont like it. i still prefer Desaru. Quiet and peacefull place with few cars and ppl. Kampong atmosphere. Good place to relax. Not far from Spore. 2+hrs can reach Pulai Desaru liao. [sunny]

Basically whole day eat / sleep / beach / pool in resort, then go ostrict farm, at nite go for seafood. Im a boring person rah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Drove to Melaka, Port Dickson, KL, genting b4. Dont like it. i still prefer Desaru. Quiet and peacefull place with few cars and ppl. Kampong atmosphere. Good place to relax. Not far from Spore. 2+hrs can reach Pulai Desaru liao. [sunny]

Basically whole day eat / sleep / beach / pool in resort, then go ostrict farm, at nite go for seafood. Im a boring person rah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

U should try Bukit Tinggi or Fraser Hills

Don't believe everything in the websites. It is like tourism porn. It looks good only on the web. :D

Try one weekend. Go Sat, come back Sun. Just to try things out. There is nothing around for miles so you can actually vegetate. If you are adventurous, you can explore Punggai or Batu Layar just like my VT pages. 2 days is money not well spent.

Is Pulai Beach Resort that crappy?

In what way?

The website looks good leh.

Dun tell me the actual thing is totally the opposite?

I just stayed there last Sep/Oct (can't remember) with my wife and little daughter. Overall the hotel was ok but the room was a bit run down, not fantastically clean though I won't call it dirty. I felt lucky that we only stayed there for one night coz I can't think of what else to do if we ever stayed for two.

Good: great beach, pretty quiet. The firefly experience is interesting for first-timers.

Bad: not many food options around. The buffet dinner was expensive so didn't try. During public holidays i think the hotel was at least 70~80% occupied by Singaporeans so the price can't be cheap anyway. The other more affordable restaurant was ok but is in serious lack of variety.

The worst part: the counter didn't let us check in until 3pm, although the usual check-out time is 12pm so we ended up hanging around in the hall and pool for quite a while before we could get our room :-(.

Bottom line: it was an ok place to relax, at least my daughter enjoyed the beach quite a bit. But it's not some place I'd be interested in visiting any time soon.

We are planning for a 2 nite stay at Desaru in March.

Heard that some are pretty rundown and cleanliness are very bad.

Any recommendation for a nice and clean resort in Desaru with some seasports and go-kart and ATV?

Any suggestions will be very much appreciated.

Pulai Desaru is one of the better ones. I would recommend that you ask for a room in the main block, and not the wings, which tend to be neglected.

If you spend the better part of the day by the beach and pool, the state of the room shouldn't bother you too much.

Wasted.

I'd rather go there if it is well done than that colony called Bintan Lagoon Resorts or Sentosa.

They are getting things right by building that highway from Senai airport to there. Dunno when it will open.

Not sure how much is hefty .. just saw in JB's paper that they are going at RM218/night (2nd day 50%) off ..

and RM 198 for weekday

(I hope i remember the price correctly)