I am diagnose with another incurable illness

Adrianli

peanut lah.... try to have a toothache.... 1 time see dentist and do a root canal + crown and the bill is 20x of yours liao... even go JB will also cost you ard S$500

NB, your toothache only do one time ho seh liao......people got long list of illness and life still got long way to go......plus he will have toothache in future too!!! [lipsrsealed]

LOL.... truealso...

What Im to say is just that medical is nvr cheap in SG... haiz... damn heart pain spending so much money for a single tooth. I swear to myself that i must take care of my tooth and make sure the same problem doesnt arise... otherwise, really can got into financial difficulties just for a few toothache session.

peanut lah.... try to have a toothache.... 1 time see dentist and do a root canal + crown and the bill is 20x of yours liao... even go JB will also cost you ard S$500

The test that the doctors put me thru cost a lot of money. For e.g :

1) For IBS(TTSH), one endoscopy examination = S$900+

2) For AS(SGH), one MRI scan = S$909+ after subsidy otherwise its S$1,800+

3) For every visit to doctors, must do either blood test or x-ray. Blood test range from S$30+ to S$100+ depends on what is tested. X-ray is in the range of S$70+.

4) From the very start, each consultation cost S$25. Now it cost S$32.

5) Medication, depends on the specialist, some good ones recommend cheap and good pills. While some recommend those S$20 a pill, one female specialist did that. The cost for total medicine was S$350+, I nearly fainted at the pharmacy. Lucky the pharmacist can tell from my body language and say to take a few only to try 1st.

For my rosacea, specialist keep telling me to go for laser treatment, but I keep delaying and depending on steriod cream. I dont want to find out how expensive it is as this is still ok for me. It is just a facial defect, I am a guy and I can accept it. My company insurance are not paying any cent for this illness as they deem it as cosmetic surgery.

I have been visiting these specialist starting from 22-23yrs old and I am now 35 yrs old. These illnesses are for life, means I will see the specialist till I die. My wife say I frequent the various hospital till I am so familiar like I work there or stay there for life. [laugh] Until now, no insurance company dare to take me in. Even general or accident insurance policy they also reject. <_<

Bro. don't think too much into it, you'll probably live longer then all of us. :D

BTW, wanna go Taiwan again? Kia kia, mai too liow! [laugh]

3) For every visit to doctors, must do either blood test or x-ray. Blood test range from S$30+ to S$100+ depends on what is tested. X-ray is in the range of S$70+.

5) Medication, depends on the specialist, some good ones recommend cheap and good pills. While some recommend those S$20 a pill, one female specialist did that. The cost for total medicine was S$350+, I nearly fainted at the pharmacy. Lucky the pharmacist can tell from my body language and say to take a few only to try 1st.

For my rosacea, specialist keep telling me to go for laser treatment, but I keep delaying and depending on steriod cream. I dont want to find out how expensive it is as this is still ok for me. It is just a facial defect, I am a guy and I can accept it. My company insurance are not paying any cent for this illness as they deem it as cosmetic surgery.

I have been visiting these specialist starting from 22-23yrs old and I am now 35 yrs old. These illnesses are for life, means I will see the specialist till I die. My wife say I frequent the various hospital till I am so familiar like I work there or stay there for life. [laugh] Until now, no insurance company dare to take me in. Even general or accident insurance policy they also reject. <_<

Hi Adrian. Make sense to see specialists in Malacca? There's also a hospital in Batu Pahat (Pantai Hospital, I think) where you can use Medisave but must get referral from their sister hospital in Singapore.

I have the following existing incurable illnesses:

1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urticaria

Seen specialist in National Skin Centre

2) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uveitis

Yearly visit to specialist in National Eye Centre

3) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ankylosing_spondylitis

Three mthly visit to specialist in SGH

4) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irritable_bowel_syndrome

Open date appt given by specialist in TTSH

And just last week was diagnose with :

5) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosacea

Saw specialist in SGH

How can I lower my medical bills??? Currently paying subsides rate of S$25 for consultation for seeing the different specialist. Each visit to SGH, spent S$100+. Every time ask me go for blood test, x-ray, bone density scanning and trying different expensive medicine.

Any insurance company out there willing to cover me??? Willing to pay a small premium mthly to cover all my existing medical expenses. Currently it is being paid by my company lah but when I resign/terminated/retrench/retire, I still need to see these specialist for treatment. And not sure wat next illness will come and find me.

Tried TCM? TCM anything also cure

Hi Adrian. Make sense to see specialists in Malacca? There's also a hospital in Batu Pahat (Pantai Hospital, I think) where you can use Medisave but must get referral from their sister hospital in Singapore.

Malacca???

No need go so far lah. My illnesses just need constant monitoring by the specialist. If any change in blood or x-ray, they will ask the specific specialist to look into.

Tried TCM? TCM anything also cure

Sorry, have not tried TCM and will not try. I cant tahan the smell of herbs or needles poking my nerves.

So bro...you private patient? ah

1) endoscopy $900+??? your endoscopy is no subsedise? in SGH is $300+ deduct from medisave.

2) MRI scan $900+? How come? SGH MRI is only $200+ to $300+ after subsidies and it's non-medisave claimable, pay on the spot. And I agree not nice experience... your MRI is different? How come cannot take the scans? I believe they allow you to take if you pay a fee...$70+ I think.

3) agree

4) agree

5) no comments

Anyway... take care man.... As a chronic illness caregiver I know feel your pain...

Edited by Pocus

So bro...you private patient? ah

1) endoscopy $900+??? your endoscopy is no subsedise? in SGH is $300+ deduct from medisave.

2) MRI scan $900+? How come? SGH MRI is only $200+ to $300+ after subsidies and it's non-medisave claimable, pay on the spot. And I agree not nice experience... your MRI is different? How come cannot take the scans? I believe they allow you to take if you pay a fee...$70+ I think.

3) agree

4) agree

5) no comments

Anyway... take care man.... As a chronic illness caregiver I know feel your pain...

1) Endoscopy was as private patient cos I did not know of our "health care system" yet. Was referred by company doctor.

2) MRI scan, see actual bill I just paid two weeks ago.

Before I was pushed into the tunnel of the MRI machine, the filipino nurse took a blanket and covered me from neck to toe. Halfway during the 45min scan, I begin to sweat cos of little ventilation and cannot move my body. I pressed the alarm and request to remove the blanket and place a towel or bedsheet under my wet body from the sweat. They could only take the blanket away and cannot move my body. I request for fan but they say dont have. So I got to continue the scan drenched in my sweat and still have to keep still. Have to lun another 15mins than 10mins and then another 5mins before the scan was over. After that, I got up, they can see the table was wet and so are my clothes. They quickly use the paper towels to wipe the table and ask me to go change.

post-2654-1343364631_thumb.jpg

1) Endoscopy was as private patient cos I did not know of our "health care system" yet. Was referred by company doctor.

2) MRI scan, see actual bill I just paid two weeks ago.

Before I was pushed into the tunnel of the MRI machine, the filipino nurse took a blanket and covered me from neck to toe. Halfway during the 45min scan, I begin to sweat cos of little ventilation and cannot move my body. I pressed the alarm and request to remove the blanket and place a towel or bedsheet under my wet body from the sweat. They could only take the blanket away and cannot move my body. I request for fan but they say dont have. So I got to continue the scan drenched in my sweat and still have to keep still. Have to lun another 15mins than 10mins and then another 5mins before the scan was over. After that, I got up, they can see the table was wet and so are my clothes. They quickly use the paper towels to wipe the table and ask me to go change.

I think I understand why liao.... you did 3 MRIs (spine, sacrum, contrast study). My case only 1 MRI hence $290+

Let me check the recipt when I get home.

So MRIs prices are dependant on what MRI you did....

Edited by Pocus

Saw my liver doc yesterday. He say the blood test result is still high so I still cannot consume alcohol. [:(] He printed the report for me to show me. Previously was 100+ then now dropped to 40only. He say good and keep up with the exercise. :D

Blood test S$58+

Doc consultation S$32

Medication S$79+

Only can claim S$32. [bigcry]

post-2654-1346915091_thumb.jpg

Saw my liver doc yesterday. He say the blood test result is still high so I still cannot consume alcohol. [:(] He printed the report for me to show me. Previously was 100+ then now dropped to 40only. He say good and keep up with the exercise. :D

Blood test S$58+

Doc consultation S$32

Medication S$79+

Can share what medication you are taking for your AS and IBS?

Now, no medication for these.

AS medication causes my fatty liver. So AS and Liver specialist stop my medication. Previously was on a little pink triangle tablet daily.

IBS just take normal diarrhea pills when there is attack.

Currently only Vit E for my liver and Steriod cream for Rosacea.

Blood test S$58+

Doc consultation S$32

Medication S$79+

Cheer up bro......there's so much else in life plus your beloved family members that you should focus on......let's not dwell on your sorrows too much till it affects your family...... [sunny]

Now, no medication for these.

AS medication causes my fatty liver. So AS and Liver specialist stop my medication. Previously was on a little pink triangle tablet daily.

IBS just take normal diarrhea pills when there is attack.

Currently only Vit E for my liver and Steriod cream for Rosacea.

I am taking sulphasalazine for my AS, this med is actually used for IBS, but according to my doc its used as a disease modification drug for my case to control AS.

So far my AS has been very well controlled, until recently where i am frequently experiencing soreness in my neck. But i think it is likely due to the amount of stress that i am facing.

I have a bit of fatty liver as well, sometimes the reading is ok, sometimes the reading will go up, depends on my diet for that 3-4 mths between visits to the doc.

I have skin problem too, my face has this redness that flares up on and off like a cycle, it is coupled with large amount of skin flaking off. King of like having dandruff on my face. [:(]

I guess people who suffers from autoimmune problems have some what similar issues. [:/]