Malaysia: What to do when your windscreen is smashed in JB?

Kelpie

Hi all,

I have a good laugh yesterday (Saturday) at Tesco TC! [laugh]. My rear passenger seat glass was smashed [smash] in the late afternoon at the open car park near one of the entrance to Tesco. So are two other cars near me.

My alarm was activated but by the time I reached my car, the glass was smashe. Nothing was stolen, GPS, Portable DVD player and things that are removable still incontact except a bag containing water bottles.

Called up a friend in JB, immediately bring me to this shop:

DR. CERMIN SDN. BHD.

Lot 1084, Batu 9 1/2, Jalan Skudai, 81300, Johor.

Tel: 07-5546257

H/p: 016-7661990

They're a specialist in all type of car windscreen and also ISO certified. Reached there at around 7:45pm and the job was done swee swee in an hour. The foreman was an ex-SIA Airplane Mechanic. Paid around RM300. So, in case you need to get your windscreen replaced quickly in JB during a weekend, give them a call. By the way, must say 1st that I have nothing to do with the shop.

The foreman told me there is an obvious increase in such theft case lately, Thanks to the economic downturn. He also told me one of the shopping centre was reported to have 15 cars' windscreens smashed at one go recently.

From this experience, I only have myself to be blamed for exposing my portable items. Must be getting complacent [:p]. Anyway, no more open car park for me in JB shopping centre liao. Will still go Tesco but look for a better parking lot.

Good luck to all [thumbsup] . Happy JB shopping [wave] .

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Hi bro Kelpie,

Regarding the shop where u got your rear window fixed after being smashed, where exactly is the shop that you mentioned?

DR. CERMIN SDN. BHD.

Jalan Skudai is a long road and is it near any prominent place. Good to know and keep it in mind just in case (touch wood). [thumbsup]:D

Thank you and regards.

a brand new windscreen + installation=RM300...tats dirt cheap!!!!!now, how to claim insurance [sly] . sori abt ur unfortunate incident thou [:(]

Hi bro Kelpie,

Regarding the shop where u got your rear window fixed after being smashed, where exactly is the shop that you mentioned?

DR. CERMIN SDN. BHD.

Jalan Skudai is a long road and is it near any prominent place. Good to know and keep it in mind just in case (touch wood). [thumbsup]:D

Thank you and regards.

I met my JB friend at Good Hope Hotel (I used GPS to find it) and the shop is about 10 mins away. They have a website at www.geocities.com/drcermin/doktorcermin found in the receipt, see whether have map in there or not. Alternatively, you can call them, they are friendly people (Chinese).

Regards,

a brand new windscreen + installation=RM300...tats dirt cheap!!!!!now, how to claim insurance [sly] . sori abt ur unfortunate incident thou [:(]

Malaysia Boleh [thumbsup]. I was pleasantly surprised at their efficiency and professionalism. Wow, the whole place full of all kinds of windscreens for almost all made. No lar, I have no thought about claiming insurance, just wanted to get it replaced ASAP, since it is over a weekend.

No worry lah, small case, will not deter me from going to JB [;)].

Regards,

Malaysia Boleh [thumbsup]. I was pleasantly surprised at their efficiency and professionalism. Wow, the whole place full of all kinds of windscreens for almost all made. No lar, I have no thought about claiming insurance, just wanted to get it replaced ASAP, since it is over a weekend.

No worry lah, small case, will not deter me from going to JB [;)].

Regards,

mayb can show ur receipt n photos of ur car b4 n aft ws installation to e insurer....who noes [rolleyes] , mayb FOC [thumbsup]

I met my JB friend at Good Hope Hotel (I used GPS to find it) and the shop is about 10 mins away. They have a website at www.geocities.com/drcermin/doktorcermin found in the receipt, see whether have map in there or not. Alternatively, you can call them, they are friendly people (Chinese).

Regards,

Bro, your link couldn't show anything but anyway, I found it - http://www.geocities.com/drcermin/doktorcermin And also, for the benefit of others, I have attached a map here. It is at Jalan Sri Perkasa Utama (next to Petronas petrol station). Is this the correct place? Thanks.

post-5608-1238910209_thumb.jpg

Edited by Redstorm

window smashed but nothing stolen..prob the thief didn't have time to take everything before someone come along and he gotta cabut..

you're one lucky fella..

Did you say you got alerted by your own car's alarm while shopping? I know some high end alarms will trigger and send/call your mobile. Yours is one of those? Or super long range transponder?

Bro, does it occurs to you that those guys offering the windscreen replacement services could be the very same guys that smashed your windows to begin with? Think deliberate accidents caused by car workshops scam here in SG. Can't help but keeps me thinking. Anyway, Just a thought. Safety first. [drivingcar]

Yesterday on the way home at 2nd link, also saw one SG plate white toyota who is not so lucky. His driver side window kenna smashed too, but he probably had solar film hold the glass. But he couldn't see thru it, was wondering how dangerous to drive when he can't see the right rear mirror. He may be the other two car that kenna smashed..

omg i was there yesterday too... i parked at jusco TC.. luckily nothing happened..

What a coincidence! My block MSCP, a BMW driver side windscreen was just smashed too. 2 policemen were talking to the poor owner when I was parking near them.

Wah, the market is really bad, everyone going around smashing glasses [shakehead].

Regards,

omg i was there yesterday too... i parked at jusco TC.. luckily nothing happened..

Jusco should be ok as told by my JB friend. The security company that they engaged is well-known in the industry.

Regards,

Bro, does it occurs to you that those guys offering the windscreen replacement services could be the very same guys that smashed your windows to begin with? Think deliberate accidents caused by car workshops scam here in SG. Can't help but keeps me thinking. Anyway, Just a thought. Safety first. [drivingcar]

I doubt so.

Regards,