Review of Marbella M550 Delux

Limck007

i had som much advice for GPS from here.. So now its time to contribute back to the forum hehe

Got my Marbella M550 deluxe for 2 weeks liao.

Here is my review.. If i am wrong , just let me know

BUT during the IT Fair, the demand was overwhelming>> i need to wait for at least 1 month before i received the GPS. (standard problem faced for ordering at IT fair) :crycry:

I got it via mail, Speed post. Delivery timing as set at my convenience :yehyeh:

The packaging is chio and classy leh

Price i got is $380 from Makagps

SPECS >>

1)GPS navigator with malsing & mapking Singapore and Malaysia maps

2)movie player (3gp, wav, avi)

3)Pictures viewer (jpg, bmp, gif and other std format)

4)Music player (wav, mp3)

5)bluetooth

6)FM transmitter for navigation and video playing

7)TTS function available

IMG_0563.jpg

Interior

Inside the box, there are quite a few items. IN fact, much more than others

IMG_0564.jpg

IMG_0570.jpg

1) AV cable (from gps to TV RGB)

2) Car adaptor - charging in car/ FM transmitter's antenna

3) AC adaptor - charging at home

4) USB - charging via pc/for copying file

5) 2GB micro sd + SD card adaptor with malsing & mapking Singapore and Malaysia maps loaded

6) Card reader

7) screen protector

8) Car mounting

9) stylus

Exterior

The car mount for the gps is easy to set up .. but sometimes, it will drop off from the glass one (common fault for all car mounting) -> but rarely happens haha

IMG_0572.jpg

The GPS has a 4.3" screen size. Quite a decent size..

The exterior got a layer of black rubber coating > not slippery, good for me as i got sweaty palms + even i put on dashboard, it will not slip off so easily

IMG_0565.jpg

The connectors that M550 have are as followm

Bottom> the USB connector

IMG_0566.jpg

Sides>> SD card, earpiece connector , AV-IN

IMG_0567.jpg

Top>> On/OFF switch - for toggling to sleeping mode (must press and hold for 2 sec)

IMG_0568.jpg

Behind >> Stylus (i rarely use, as i use my fingers hehe --> The icons/keyboard are quite big. Even my fat fingers can also type easily). Speaker is at the back too

IMG_0569.jpg

Mounted view

IMG_0573-1.jpg

Edited by Limck007

USAGE

The start up for M550 is quite fast. From Cold start, it will take a maximum of 10s to boot up then another 2s to enter the Navigator software (i set the navigation to auto load on start up)

IMG_0571.jpg

The volume, backlight, bluetooth, colour settings, touch sensitivity, screen orientation can be configured at the "setting"

Overall the standalone Volume for video and navigatation is quite loud, even when i set at 80% vol. CONFIRM can hear one. Quite good even when the speaker is at the back.

(the only bug i encounter is that the FM transmitter function is disabled right now. There is a bug and MAKAGPS said it will be solved by April. => i cant use my FM transmitter yet, so CANT wirte anything yet)

For navigation, there are malsing and mapking Spore and Malaysia maps loaded. The updates for both type of maps for both countries are FREE for life and overseas maps can be loaded FOC BUT for a period of time only.

For the 1st usage of the navigation software, the GPS took quite a while to get a fix (roughly 4 min then managed to locate my position).

BUT i will account this as the initial triangulation/initialization of the software. 2nd time onwards, the fix is very fast, within a max of 10s, i got a fix liao. EVEN when i am doing a Cold start.

I used Mapking Singapore map most of the time as it is more detailed.

The map+ software>> CAn search by postal codes, partial names, street number, street name , building names.Therefore, confirm can locate anything at any location one haha. I also tell you where are ERP (but no ERP charges), speed cameras and wat speed limit too. Night/day mode are available too

Routing can be done via FASTEST, Avoid expressway, recommended, etc etc. The driving instructions can be showed and voiced in many languages. They will tell u where to tell in advance. So far, from City hall to Tampines, the instructions are accurate.

There is a TTS (text to speech) option too. ==> instead of tell u "turn left in 500m" or "exit in 500m", it will tell u in more details " turn left to AMK Ave 1 in 500m" or "exit EXIT 4A Tampines in 500m"

i kind of like this function as it really let me know where to turn haha

To me, the ReRouting is quite fast. In 5 to 10 seconds, a new route will be plotted and you are back on track again. When i miss a turn, i will just continue to drive on/ exit at the next exit. Then new instructions will come liao. No need to panic haha

Customer Services

The hotline for faults and bugs are quite good >> because the person who answered my call are the REAL expert (Johnny). No need to list to those robotic voice options or beautiful but brainless customer service officer. Johnny really can give u details explanation/advice/helps over the phone. And he will even tell u where to go for updates, etc etc. :yehyeh:

Overall Verdict

For $380 , i feel that i am getting quite a lot of functions liao. At this price, i can only get an average navigator from other brand only. Some dont even have the TTS function, free update, good customer service/technical help loh

For marbella M550, i get a HIGH END product at average price leh..

Some people dont trust products made in China/taiwan. I AM one of those people too hahaha.. To much bad experience liao.

BUT for M550 and MAkagps, i am a satisfied user of Taiwan product leh

Maybe >The only draw back is that i cant get to use the FM transmitter YET.... (Johnny ... hope the fix comiing soon.)

* once i got FM transmitter working again, maybe i will update everyone agian =D

Good review and I had also just got this set. So far so good.

the only problem is the FM transmitter..

is urs working ??

Think the volume is good enuff for english. Somehow the English TTS seems more soft.

oh is it......

but i know TTS is quite fast.... sometime i missed the instruction one haha

my ang mo lousy

Hi, Did any bro fix their M550 with rear parking camera? I wanted to find out will the device turn to AV mode automatically when we hit the reverse gear? Thanks.

Hey kinda interested in this model too. How does the reverse camera look like and how do you mount it to the back of your car? Any info anyone?

Edited by Aliensix

update on my Marbella M550 deluxe

Recently, my gps charging point got a few problems. BUT the Makagps Service Team's professionalism and services was FANTASTIC

My experience

1) Cant charge my gps.

So i brought down to the Alexandra office for them to serivce. Within a 20min, they serviced the gps by giving me a 1 to 1 exchange!!! No long questions asked... Only some essential usage questions... Very professional :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

2) Cigarette Charging unit got problem

When i return to my car, i plug in the car charging device, my whole cigarette charging unit fused... KNS... what happened...... I tried my hp car charging device, also cant. SO in conclusion, the gps car charing unit got problem.

So i went up again, so told them the problem. Straightaway, they went down to try it on one of their colleagues' car>>> His cigarette point also fused (so sorry for the colleague :crycry:)

Upon seeing this , they straightaway acknowledge the fact that the Gps charging unit got problem, EVEN after 1 year of using/abusing by me haha.

They offer me a new charing unit FOC!!!!

My $0.02 opinions>>

Some service companies i went, they will ask so many questions so that they can push the blame onto the customer and avoid doing RMA or 1-1 exchange. For accessories like car charging unit, some service companies also claim that their Warrenty only cover the unit , NOT accessories.

BUT what i encountered at Makagps is totally Opposite!!! They are willing to accept the customers's feedback and rectify accordingly in a justifiable manners.

this is really wonderful customer service!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

* If u want a good GPS with good post sale service, i think this is the ONE liao...

Yeah I got this model too at last IT Show....

The problems i face:

1) Robotic lady voice at times distorted

2) Keep saying speed cameras ahead where in fact those are traffic cameras

3) The so called LTA map doesn't have Lentor Ave instead shows Yishun Ave 2

4) Sometime I missed a turn on HW, it ask me to make a U-turn which is actually go against traffic

Maybe I should go to their office to have a/m resolved & update..

Can I do a online update???

Other a/m i am happy with it...

Dear valued Marbella customer,

Thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to hear valued feedback from you soon.

Regarding your recent post, here are our replies as follows;

The problems i face:

1) Robotic lady voice at times distorted

Please visit our Service Centre for a FREE Upgrade to a 3D Landmark software at no additional chargers exclusively for our Marbella customer. Such software upgrade will have alot of improved features such as;

- 3D Landmark map display

- Junction View with Lane assist

- Under tunnel navigation (simulation)

- Much cleaer voice including Text to Speech and add-in more languages such as Hokkien

- Correction of routing path gathered from feedback

- Latest data provided by Singapore Land Authority

We believe such upgrade will solve most of your problem you have faced from the previous software. Please kindly visit our Service Centre at the following detail to retrieve the upgrade.

Maka GPS Technologies Pte. Ltd.

2 Alexandra Road #02-03

Delta House

Singapore

Monday - Friday 0900 - 1800 (Lunch Break 1200 - 1330)

A preview of our latest software

3D_LandMarkSoftware.JPG

JV.jpg

LAST Question: Can I do a online update???

As this is a totally different software, unfortunately we are not able to provide an online service. Once you complete the upgrade and you will be able to download the updates from online next time. We need to change the SD card as this is a totally different software.

Please do not feel hesitate to contact our 24HRs Hotline at (65) 6100 1239 for further queries. Alternatively you can email us at [email protected] or visit our service centre for further queries.

Yours Sincerely,

The Support Team

Maka GPS Technologies Singapore Pte. Ltd.

2 Alexandra Road #02-03

Delta House S159919