Visiting local JB supermarket and wet market

Kelpie

Hi all,

Haha...now getting boring to buy groceries and sundries from Jusco and so on. Begin to scout around and shop at local supermarket and wet market in JB. To think that I seldom even set foot on Singapore wet market [rolleyes].

I can see Singaporean vehicles parking at local supermarket and wet market car park though not that many (may be their are PR). A sign that Singaporean already been shopping in these places.

Some local supermarket though not as big scale, do come with ample parking space, uniformed security guards and usually run by the Chinese.

So you guys already been doing that or remain as faithful customer of Jusco, Tesco, Gaint and Carrefour?

Regards,

You can try Kipmart the location is near Taman Perling the route to Sutera Mall. The place is similiar to the Pandan Night Market but much cleaner. The S-Mart near to the main Carrefour is too "wet" for wifey liking it is like the old Tekka market.

The only wet market I have come across is the building next to Carrefour. (because I have to pass by it when going from the rear route)

Apologize for digging up a very old thread...

Anyone goes to "local" supermarkets in JB instead of the usual AEON / GIANT or TESCO?
Because these big retailers sometimes may not sell at the cheapest price...

Thanks for any info.

Anyone goes to "local" supermarkets in JB instead of the usual AEON / GIANT or TESCO?

Thanks for any info.

not worth the little bit mroe savings leh. scared of fake stuff. i think the bigger supermarket safer

Thanks for any info.

Got many....Pandan got 1 big 1....Larkin oso have. I usually go to Kipmart at skudai. Buy grocery at Hwa Tai and then go to the wet market. Place very clean and the floor is tiled like wet market in sg.

Unless your house is near the border crossings or have an icebox, i wouldn't advise going to buy meat/fish there bah.

At the very least have an icebox.

By the time u come back and refreeze or refrigerate the items, already too long out of the cold chain liao.

Unless your house is near the border crossings or have an icebox, i wouldn't advise going to buy meat/fish there bah.

At the very least have an icebox.

By the time u come back and refreeze or refrigerate the items, already too long out of the cold chain liao.

i live in wdlands....and usually drive straight home after marketing. Have beeb doing this for 9 yrs liao....

Pandan market is along Jalan Tebrau right after the NSH entrance. You will see a green building (Hwa Tai) on the left and behind it is the makan place and shopping area. The linkway to the wholesale market is full of pasar malam stuff. The wet market is like the old sg market...very smelly and dirty. I find kipmart better.

That time i was in PD and i went to their carrefour.

Actually wanted to buy some fresh chicken to cook for my daughter's porridge and milk to drink in the hotel. But i look at their cold section ... really not cold at all one lor. More like slightly cooler than room temperature.

I suspect all the items there will expire much faster than their expiry dates.

I then got some frozen chicken to defrost myself in the hotel room.

Haha went to buy UHT milk packets from the regular shelves [:p]

Thats why i stopped going Tesco, jusco and giant in jb. Their wet stuff are not fresh and kept in their not so cold section... Edited by Eviilusion

Thanks for any info.

Mydi price not bad.

Mydin, you meant? Haha, coz did a quick Google and these search appeared.

Thanks for the info...

Mydin Wholesale Hypermarket Taman Rinting, Masai

7171_a2497.jpg
  • PTD 92368,

Jalan Rinting,

Taman Rinting,

81750 Masai,

Johor Darul Takzim

• Mon to Thu : 9.00am-11.00pm

Fri & Sun : 8.30am-11.00pm

Public Holiday: 8.30am - 11.00pm

Mydin Wholesale Hypermarket Pelangi Indah, Johor