Tooth extraction

Vextan

Anyone had done tooth extraction before ? On a scale of 1 to 10 for the pain, how high is it ? Does an experienced dentist help to lower the pain more than an unexperienced one ?

zero..but when the medicine is gone..will feel abit swollen..the most u will feel is when the teeth is plucked out..u will feel something is coming out but not painful

really so low ? ok, then i am relieved. going for extraction since a long while and already trembling at the thought of it. any suggestions to take the mind away during the process ? maybe will try to surf MCF on a mobile device while lying on the chair.

Edited by Vextan

really so low ? ok, then i am relieved. going for extraction since a long while and already trembling at the thought of it. any suggestions to take the mind away during the process ? maybe will try to surf MCF on a mobile device while lying on the chair.

The actual extraction is painless. After the anesthetic wears out there will only be a dull ache but it would rate as a 1 or 2. The most painful is the injection which is a 2 or 3

ya, i fully agree, the actual extraction is painless. i still remember my primary school days where the MOH nurses came to our school to check on our teeth, poor me got a bad tooth, and i was made to lay on the chair with the powerful spot lights in front of my face then the dreadful moment came,...the nurse poked the needle ( which was made entirely out of metal) into my gums for the anesthetic .....wah lan...that one pain like Fuc* !!! [furious], later the extraction was a breeze [thumbsup]

Edited by Hotamp

Provided the tooth comes out uneventfully..... but there are cases the root breaks and the dentist will then need to cut it out.

depends on which tooth lor. if molar and that molar root is long, then will take more effort to extract. but if enough anesthetic, then u will only feel the pressure of pulling. these days, needles are sharp and thin, so injection not so painful. since already paying, must as well get a pretty looking dentist.

ya, i fully agree, the actual extraction is painless. i still remember my primary school days where the MOH nurses came to our school to check on our teeth, poor me got a bad tooth, and i was made to lay on the chair with the powerful spot lights in front of my face then the dreadful moment came,...the nurse poked the needle ( which was made entirely out of metal) into my gums for the anesthetic .....wah lan...that one pain like Fuc* !!! [furious], later the extraction was a breeze [thumbsup]

I have a massive phobia of needles.... and I ahd all 4 wisdom teeth removed last year. My top ones which came out normal were triple rooted (so a lot of force was needed), and the bottom ones required my gums to be cut. However other than the injections and soreness, it was relatively painess.

The older metal syringes are still in use (unfortunately), but i've noticed that the needles are slimmer, and the topical anestetic is also stronger so the injections are less painful.

No pain.I extracted my molar 3 years ago and after 3~4 anesthetic the gum is practically numb.All the dentist do is to put a device in tighten it and then the tooth is out (probably like a cork screw on a wine bottle ). [laugh]

However if the tooth can be save , the dentist may suggest root canaling.I have also done it but the process is quite time consuming - you got to go back at least twice to have the nerve remove but after that the tooth is there until you [angel][laugh] .

Edited by Contax

but root canal is expensive s--t! cost 1k plus with crowning...

i have a molar that has to be treated looking at the cost i might just lose the tooth

i think my fear of tooth extraction is more psychological than the actual pain, since as most forumers put it, is low. but the fear is enough to make me want to run away liao. how to overcome the fear when lying ont he chair, and waiting for the anesthetic to take effect ? does listening to mp3 music with the mouth wide open helps, or what ?

btw, how long does each session lasts ? an hour ? or more ? kill me ...

Edited by Vextan

i think my fear of tooth extraction is more psychological than the actual pain, since as most forumers put it, is low. but the fear is enough to make me want to run away liao. how to overcome the fear when lying ont he chair, and waiting for the anesthetic to take effect ? does listening to mp3 music with the mouth wide open helps, or what ?

btw, how long does each session lasts ? an hour ? or more ? kill me ...

no lah not so long... injection takes 5mins or less. wait for it to take effect 10-15mins. den extraction prolly another 10-15mins. total +/- 30mins max if no complications

Are you talking about normal tooth extraction (just pull out) or those that require surgery (cut part of the gums, then pull, then sew back) like wisdom tooth extraction?

If it's the latter, having an experienced dentist do it for you does help in reducing the pain. I have a friend who extracted all 4 wisdom teeth at one go and the next day, he was already munching away at KFC! He told me he got it done by a specialist-level dentist at Mount E. [thumbsup]

My other friend who extracted just ONE wisdom tooth by SAF dentist was lying in bed in extreme pain the next day. [laugh]

As some have mentioned, the anesthetic jab is really painful. To me that jab is more painful than the pain associated to the extraction.

Are you talking about normal tooth extraction (just pull out) or those that require surgery (cut part of the gums, then pull, then sew back) like wisdom tooth extraction?

If it's the latter, having an experienced dentist do it for you does help in reducing the pain. I have a friend who extracted all 4 wisdom teeth at one go and the next day, he was already munching away at KFC! He told me he got it done by a specialist-level dentist at Mount E. [thumbsup]

My other friend who extracted just ONE wisdom tooth by SAF dentist was lying in bed in extreme pain the next day. [laugh]

As some have mentioned, the anesthetic jab is really painful. To me that jab is more painful than the pain associated to the extraction.

yea very well agree the jab is more painful than the actual extraction.

i remembered i got a snr consultant in SDC to extract my wisdom tooth. i didnt experience any pain swelling or fever at all.. so it very much boils down to the dentist