What a big slap to the face of our million dollar man!

Application9999

Let to roam free for months

PUTRAJAYA (Malaysia) - MALAYSIA allowed a Singaporean Islamic terror suspect to remain free for months so that he might lead authorities to other militants, an official said on Monday.

Mas Selamat Kastari was captured in Malaysia's southern state of Johor on April 1, more than a year after he escaped from a high-security prison in neighbouring Singapore in February 2008 by wriggling out a bathroom window.

Officials were aware that Mas Selamat had fled to Malaysia from 'the moment he came to our country', Malaysian Home Ministry Secretary General Mahmood Adam said in an interview with The Associated Press. - suan WKS ah...

'We have a very good (police intelligence agency) here,' Mr Mahmood said. He did not say when exactly Mas Selamat came to Johor or whether Malaysia told Singapore about his whereabouts.

Mas Selamat, the alleged Singapore commander of the Al-Qaeda-linked Jemaah Islamiyah group, evaded a massive manhunt in the city-state and slipped into Malaysia by swimming across a narrow strip of sea that separates the two countries.

Police monitored Mas Selamat's movements instead of arresting him immediately because 'the most important (thing) sometimes is not the particular target, the most important (thing) sometimes is the networking', Mr Mahmood said.

Mas Selamat alone is not as valuable as who is behind him, Mr Mahmood said.

Mas Selamat lived in a Malaysian village of about 100 people, rarely going out or mixing with other residents, before being captured by Malaysian commandos.

Mr Mahmood declined to say whether authorities are on the verge of making further arrests, but stressed that Malaysia remained 'very safe and secure'.

Malaysia's government last week announced it would hold Mas Selamat for two years under a security law that allows for detention without trial. Prime Minister Najib Razak said officials want to obtain more information from Mas Selamat, calling him a 'threat to national security'. -- AP

Wong can't sing really thick skin enough to still remain in the force..shame..

Edited by Application9999

wong kan sing will soon counter this by saying he knew mat selamat was in malaysia all along and asked malaysia police to track him so that we may find the rest of his gang. And then congratulate himself haha~

Now is 2 yrs detention...If our million dollar man still no reply to Najib 'suggestion' of a new bridge and investment in the Iskandar thingy....maybe they will hold press conference for Mas or better...publish book for him...

Story book title: The Great Escape....

Looks like the cops from Boleh land are lagi boleh. Keep watch on him and his movements. Thinking that he is free to roam he established his network and there by exposing other members of the JI.

Boleh

sometimes we should take such news with a pinch of salt too. You really believe in such capabilities of our neighbour?

At least they dare to brag and actually catch MSK....

At least they can produce Proton and Perodua..

At least Singapore was used to be part of MY. But left and was good for first 30yrs, but then now hor have ministers as thick-skinned as rhino skins

sometimes we should take such news with a pinch of salt too. You really believe in such capabilities of our neighbour?

whether we believe it or not...the facts is....he escaped even with our full force in highest alert and worst...he landed in the hand of our neighbour which we always feel is no better than us...so?

Really malu for WKS. The MY authority already knew MAS whereabout, while Singapore were still conducting their massive man hunt and tightening CIQ security. And to think that WKS can be so sure MKS was still in singapore really makes him like a fool now.

WKS pls do the honorable thing. i.e his own incompentence and let a better man handle our national security and home affair.

it doesnt need any self praise of one's ability, bah bah bah. The result tells the whole story. But then, you really show what singaporean are capable of.

They are smart! They apply the same theory you know . . . if he's not outside M'sia, he should be inside. [scholar]

wong kan sing will soon counter this by saying he knew mat selamat was in malaysia all along and asked malaysia police to track him so that we may find the rest of his gang. And then congratulate himself haha~

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] guess he will definitely use this excuse.

I pity our boys searching the jungles and been on hi alert looking for MSK for so long.

Lets give credit to our guys who no choice LL follow instructions from WKS.

If WKS dare say early early know MSK is not in SG anymore, I think alot of our boys will be very angry being sent on a wild goose chase.

I wonder if they & their family would vote for some1 who send them on a wild goose chase...

FACT No 1: MSK escaped from our very own noses

FACT No 2: Malaysian polis arrested MSK

People forget Msian civilians are more desperate for money than SG folks so for a village of 100 people to tip off their boleh police is not difficult for some pocket money.

Yes SG didnt catch MSK so we are no better in fact we suck too. However dun give boleh land folks too much credit too.

Edited by Vinceyeo

People forget Msian civilians are more desperate for money than SG folks so for a village of 100 people to tip off their boleh police is not difficult for some pocket money.

Yes SG didnt catch MSK so we are no better in fact we suck too. However dun give boleh land folks too much credit too.

we never give bolehland credit lah..we are just saddened by the fact that we are paying million to someone that cannot work and yet talk so much c*ck...