Malaysia: Kluang - 居銮

Sunnrainy

Well, if you don't mind centipedes and scorpians visiting you at your treehouse, it's OK.

I suggest to go during school holidays since there will be kids around to entertain your kids. Otherwise, think they will be bored to death.

Melaka: thanks to PRC tourists, it's expensive and food standards drop a lot. The chick rice restaurant boss told me he's doing a booming business and he can't cope with bus loads of PRC tourists. Restaurant staff are FT/FW like in SG. Hahaha...

Fun?  suitable for kids?

I found myself falling in love with "kampong style accommodation"  after spending a nite in UK Agro farm.  Very quiet and peaceful.

My next destination is Kluang town since I have not visited it yet.   I presume it will be something similar as Malacca but less commercialise,  less crowded and smaller than Malacca.

Malacca now very commercialise, their food costs rise so much that it is almost same price as Singapore.  A bowl of noodles in jonker street cost RM6.50 + GST, nonya chang cost RM6.00!

Well, if you don't mind centipedes and scorpians visiting you at your treehouse, it's OK.

I suggest to go during school holidays since there will be kids around to entertain your kids. Otherwise, think they will be bored to death.

Melaka: thanks to PRC tourists, it's expensive and food standards drop a lot. The chick rice restaurant boss told me he's doing a booming business and he can't cope with bus loads of PRC tourists. Restaurant staff are FT/FW like in SG. Hahaha...

Even the popular Teochew zhi char at Jonker, the one with only 8 tables in a coffeeshop, has upgraded to a proper restaurant near Mahkota

Fun? suitable for kids?

I found myself falling in love with "kampong style accommodation" after spending a nite in UK Agro farm. Very quiet and peaceful.

My next destination is Kluang town since I have not visited it yet. I presume it will be something similar as Malacca but less commercialise, less crowded and smaller than Malacca.

Malacca now very commercialise, their food costs rise so much that it is almost same price as Singapore. A bowl of noodles in jonker street cost RM6.50 + GST, nonya chang cost RM6.00!

Nothing much in Kluang actually.. Maybe shopping at Kluang mall (must try the beef noodle at lelevl one food court), gunung lambak .. Quite a dull town if u ask me...

Got shopping?

Even the popular Teochew zhi char at Jonker, the one with only 8 tables in a coffeeshop, has upgraded to a proper restaurant near Mahkota

Too much tourist liao.  Good for them.

ya lah.  That day I walked to Jonker Street, the whole load of PRC was taking photo at the bridge near the Jonker Street making it difficult for us to walk.

That is why, more and more hotels are opening in Malacca.  Also good for us maybe.  Cos few years ago, Equatorial was SGD150 when I stayed but now only SGD80.  I stayed at new hotel - The straits and suites hotel was only SGD50.24 2 weeks ago.  [thumbsup]

Got shopping?

Too much tourist liao. Good for them.

ya lah. That day I walked to Jonker Street, the whole load of PRC was taking photo at the bridge near the Jonker Street making it difficult for us to walk.

That is why, more and more hotels are opening in Malacca. Also good for us maybe. Cos few years ago, Equatorial was SGD150 when I stayed but now only SGD80. I stayed at new hotel - The straits and suites hotel was only SGD50.24 2 weeks ago. [thumbsup]

No lah partially thanks to 3:1 currency haha

I remembered i stayed in equatorial for $130 6 yrs ago. Now should be ard $80

I just went to kluang town by KTM train last week to recce before bringing my kids over.  After the trip, I decided not to bring my kids there as I don't think they will enjoy cos there's nothing much and also all hotels has no swimming pool.  I have already brought them to UK Farm Kluang early this year.

Overall, things and services are quite cheap there.  Tried the Kluang railway coffee, mee siam and nasi lemak at the railway station.  Hmmmm, coffee was abit sour, bread was good, meesiam was not bad but salty and I dun like the nasi lemak - coconut smell very strong.    

Things and services are so much cheaper than JB.  Aroma Spa massage only RM69 nett and gel mani pedi only RM88 nett.   Food is quite cheap too.  Ate Dim sum at chop foo chow, quite cheap and nice.  Free wifi too.

Train costs RM14 per way and duration is around 2 hours.

Security wise, I think it is quite safe but every shops in shop houses  either lock their glass doors or employ security guards.  For those locked glass doors, you have to press the bell and they will then open the door for you.  I asked them why and they told us that the security there is not so good.  There was just a snatch thief incident outside the shop by motorbike few days before our arrival.  They told us to hold our handbags tightly and be careful.

Overall I enjoy my trip there.

Edited by Dleodleo

For kids - but I don't how old are your kids, for older kids, you should take them to climb Gunung Lambak in the morning. It is family friendly, and only about 500m high. After that, go visit the ceramics factory where they have a workshop to make your own.

Kluang is not a Melaka or Bintan type tourist spot.

Thanks for the info.  :)

Last week, before Christmas, decided to stay a night in Kluang-

To roam the streets, eat and sleep.

The day before checked some hotels but didnt want to confirm any

Part of the fun was hotel visiting so to speak.

Well, since no bookings, all except one will charge walk in tariffs.

We landed in Merdeka Hotel Kluang,

30 Jalan Mengkibol,

Situated near a golf course. Quiet surroundings.

Room was away the road, only a couple of lamps from houses a distant away.

One of rare times the curtains can be drawn open.

If you are coffee lover, Kluang Coffee Factory 

free flow of coffe  and kopi O

76, Jalan Besar,  86000 Kluang, Johor, Malaysia

Bought  many packs, many different coffees home.

post-110591-0-29800500-1514299591_thumb.jpg

Last week, before Christmas, decided to stay a night in Kluang-

To roam the streets, eat and sleep.

The day before checked some hotels but didnt want to confirm any

Part of the fun was hotel visiting so to speak.

Well, since no bookings, all except one will charge walk in tariffs.

We landed in Merdeka Hotel Kluang,

30 Jalan Mengkibol,

Situated near a golf course. Quiet surroundings.

Room was away the road, only a couple of lamps from houses a distant away.

One of rare times the curtains can be drawn open.

If you are coffee lover, Kluang Coffee Factory

free flow of coffe and kopi O

76, Jalan Besar, 86000 Kluang, Johor, Malaysia

Bought many packs, many different coffees home.

free flow coffee