Is smoking allow at the playground?

King

is not a silly question because i do not see any sign board that display the no smoking sign...

story, i bring my two babies to playground and three young adult was playing music from thei phone

and i want to mind my own business....one of the girl saw me and put off the smoke....

then the guy was still smoking, i almost wanted to approach him until i saw that there are no sign board.

if i go to him ans he say did you see any sign that say no smoking?

and also given my temper and my children around and not wanting to let me children see a possible explosive screen

i took the easy way out, take them to next play ground.....

so the one million dollar question is ,

smoking allow on/at the playground?

Smoking is not allowed at the playgrounds when the act was expanded in the last round. Remembered seeing the ad that one guy was told to put it off when he started smoking in it.

I think the garment have yet to put up the required signs, just like it takes NEA 3 yrs to prepare the grading label before the food poisoning case of Indian rojak. [thumbsdown]

i just call my police post and they told me if i ask the person politely to stop smoking and he continue, i should walk off or bring my children away......

they say they do not want me to be involved in a dispute around my children

there is no clear rule here it seem.

i am very very suprise at their answer....

next step?

write to newspaper and Town council

i want to mind my own business, no doubt

but hi, playground is build with who in-mind?

if they grow up and have children, i wonder how they feel when the same act happen to them

lucky just now i kept my cool...

good nite...

Sad to say that our police is not really into enforcing laws that govern smoking. Other agencies such as NEA seems to be more active in it.

I think it's b'cos the police do not want to submit themselves to extra paper works in such trival matters. [shakehead]

i think u haf to refer it to NEA. they haf enforcement officers. u cant expect police to attend these cases but i do agree wif u the reply from tat officer sucks. he should haf done the necessary referal or provide u wif the ave for further action.

maybe new bird lah.

Sad to say that our police is not really into enforcing laws that govern smoking. Other agencies such as NEA seems to be more active in it.

I think it's b'cos the police do not want to submit themselves to extra paper works in such trival matters. [shakehead]

sad to say, police pledge to up hold the law. but u must noe, not every law falls under their purview. its very obvious this falls under NEA. its like an hawker prepares his food in a way which goes against the "law" and u want the police to attend to it? then we haf NEA for wat?

Problem is that even if you've successfully 'moved' our 'Ah-Gong' to come over to summon the guy, he might have finished his smoke and left! [wave]

Our 'Ah-Gongs' are more active in places of high visibilities such as Orchard Rd and Marina Square. Very unlikely that they patrol our estates.

sad to say, police pledge to up hold the law. but u must noe, not every law falls under their purview. its very obvious this falls under NEA. its like an hawker prepares his food in a way which goes against the "law" and u want the police to attend to it? then we haf NEA for wat?

The police do have the right to enforce the law on smoking, so are other agencies who has interest in it. But normally the police do not go into enforcing it as these are considered trival matters.

All agencies do have paths crossed when it comes to law, it's only who has more interest in it.

U take HP cam and film, and pass comment loudly that young ppl are stupid / dunno law.

Sure piss the guy off, and likely he will go off. Prepare a big tree branch nearby just in case.

The police do have the right to enforce the law on smoking, so are other agencies who has interest in it. But normally the police do not go into enforcing it as these are considered trival matters.

All agencies do have paths crossed when it comes to law, it's only who has more interest in it.

they dun do so because it does not fall under their purview. its like u can make coffee for ur boss but will u do it? u will sure ask the kopi lady to do so. both of u also cross paths when it comes to this matter. is it safe to say who has more interest in it as well?

They don't do it doesn't mean they can't do it. There's a difference there.

i just call my police post and they told me if i ask the person politely to stop smoking and he continue, i should walk off or bring my children away......

they say they do not want me to be involved in a dispute around my children

there is no clear rule here it seem.

i am very very suprise at their answer....

next step?

write to newspaper and Town council

i want to mind my own business, no doubt

but hi, playground is build with who in-mind?

if they grow up and have children, i wonder how they feel when the same act happen to them

lucky just now i kept my cool...

good nite...

well... be glad your children will be brought up better than theirs ;)

ya, its like u dun make the kopi too but not u cant do it.

if a certain agency take in jobs which does not fall under their purview just because they can do it, then do u think they can maintain their core-function?

if the mindset is like this, then soon u will see police attending to cases like "dog owner's dog poo on the ground and did not pick up", "the hdb unit keeps cats", "old man feeding stray dogs/cats/pigeon" etc..