Mileage Claim

Hi All,

I would like know what is the norm for the mileage claim in the current market.

Kindly give me some feedback for reference.

Thank a million in advance!!! [thumbsup]

My company mileage claim is $0.55/km for over a decade!!! [shakehead]

which is a kinda low, right? [furious]

Mileage claim is to subsidise the petrol only, not the car price or road tax etc.

You have to claim mileage at this rate on regular basis? If yes, go bang table for a monthly car reimburesment.... I only claim mileage when going up north for business.....

not true when my coy did a analysis on mileage claim rates they factored in wear and tear servicing and depreciation of car per km (average jap sedan) before coming up with the rates.

i am getting S$450 per month all in.

meaning petrol, ERP, parking all in.

is it damm low?

depends how much you travel. Last time, i was paid fixed at $300/mth in my ex company. But i was damn happy cos i hardly travel...

My personal cost -

Car cost - $58k less scrap value - $50k

Insurance - $730

Road tax - $770

Parking - $1,080

40k maintenance package - $998 (inc parts)

Tyres - $400

Others - $1,000

Petrol - $330 pm

Annual cost - $13,938

Average personal usage 36,000km

Ave cost per km $0.40

Tell me what I miss out.

Your calculation is assuming that company will pay for your mileage whenever your car is use, covering both personnal and work. I'm not from sales line, so not sure if it is common practice for company to pay for mileage of sales employee's car for work and personnal life?

My company mileage is claimable for work use only. My case is less than 10 times per year.

Hypothetical example, to visit a client in CBD area, maybe to and from is 20km. After deducting car park charges in CBD area and ERP, its not much remaining. And if bad luck met with some minor accident, I don't think company would pay for the repair even it was official business...

Edited by Octopus

is it damm low?

Very much depend whether you need to drive around alot And also whether you

need to park inside CBD building carpark often. Those office building carpark

if park for many hours can easily reach $27+ as what I know of - but lucky I

can claim all those parking fees [sweatdrop]

Whether the car costs $100 or $100K, do u think the coy subsidize u?

We are talking about running cost here leh...

you co force you to buy car?

Mine is 90 cents per Km. Nowadays seldom claim as when come to expenses claim, the stingy mgmt would ask for many questions.

Sometime I wonder if I claim just from Office to Training is it ok? Eg Office (Jurong) to Orchard distance = 30Km.Still I claim for parking & ERP charges.

Anyone can share?

Mine is 90 cents per Km. Nowadays seldom claim as when come to expenses claim, the stingy mgmt would ask for many questions.

Sometime I wonder if I claim just from Office to Training is it ok? Eg Office (Jurong) to Orchard distance = 30Km.Still I claim for parking & ERP charges.

Anyone can share?

For me, I still claim as long as it is job-related. For example if my boss wants me to send the ang mohs back to hotel, I'll claim as well 'cos it's out of my way home. Else coy still have to pay for the taxi claim anyway.

Unless the hotel is near to my home, then I'll just close one eye loh. [sleeping]

Anyone can share?

official job just claim lah.... its part of your entitlement....

but dun think jurong to orchard got 30km haha

is it damm low?

It is not damn low, it is farking low leh!

I am getting double of you and ERP and parking can claim 100%. [drivingcar]

i am now in singtel and they pay $0.60 per km.

when i was in F&N, they paid $0.50 per km but that was before the high fuel prices, i hear they have sinced revised their mileage claim rates.

hope this helps.