Extended Warranty issues, What is wear and tear items?

Powercolt

Had a very unpleasant experience today with the ADs.

Bought a 2nd hand car 3months ago. It is having 5years of AD warranty. So to play safe before buying the car, I went with the 2nd hand dealer to the AD for servicing and complain that the brakes were noisy. Had an agreement with the 2nd hand dealer that if anything wrong they have to pay before i accept the car. After the servicing, it was stated that everything is ok, the brakes are fine and the brakes is "like that one". I thought since its from a reputable AD, okie I took it.

3 months later, the brakes noise gets louder, went to the service center again. This time, the advisor was saying, oh... your rotor disc is very rough thats why there is this noise and its classified as wear and tear parts. They advise to resurface and polish it up and needs to be charged $300 bucks. Then I was annoyed, ask them how can rotor disc considered as wear and tear? If its brake pad, ok I accept it, but not Rotor Disc? The advisor immediately say ok charge $180 will do. So lan lan ask them to do it first.,

Immediately, I wrote an email in and immediately the manager called me within 2 hrs, still telling me its a wear and tear item due to sand or particles went in and cause it to be rough, all the Craps. Sibei hot liao, than ask he why it was not discovered 3 months ago when I have already complained about it? He than lan lan, tell me okie, why not another 50% discount. $80plus. Haiz, since the manager also working for the company, I gave in and said okie.

In the end, I ask the manager, when companies stated Extended warranty 5 years, engine etc, but exclude wear and tear items, how they define clearly what is wear and tear? He say oh definitely the engine will be under warranty. But I ask him if a person always ram and play his car for 4 years and before the warranty ends, the engine died, is it covered? He say "No, as its considered as wear and tear". Than I told him in this case its difficult to justify rite? In the end comes the favourite phase, warranty is' like that one'

But I have to give credit to the AD staff for their service and promptness. Its only that the warranty terms is not clearly defined especially for 5years term.

Brake rotor is wear & tear parts. It will warp or uneven over time. It is juz like ur brake pad. It is pointless to skim it as skim will reduce thickness of rotor. After a few mths, juz need to replace it again. By the way, what ka r u driving? My OEM size Brembo front rotor cost me about $200 a pair.

Bro, $200 for the whole rotor with the brembo brake pad? wow,tat is cheap man,care to pm me the lobang? thx :)

what is the name of the AD? since you have the 'balls' to write, then let people know the AD.

if what you say is true and can backed up with facts, then fear no one in the AD :angry:

basically all parts are wear & tear have to own self pay except your engine & gearbox...but also depend if u do any modification. So if u installed one autobox cooler warranty void, tune your engine with aftermaket ECU void. So wat is warranty?? Dun believe wat 5 year warranty lah.. only applicable to ah peh driver tat keep car stock... [:p]

In theory or in practical, all mechanical and electrical parts can wear, and can tear.

I'll be amazed if software also can wear and tear ....

So if there's such warranty (extended or otherwise) with exclusions of wear and tear... nothing is covered.

"They" still honor any warranties, all for the sake they can sell another car.

Bro... rotors are wear and tear parts, even your brain is a wear and tear part. From the way you describe, I don't think you know much about car parts. Did you know your brake pad is in frequent contact with the rotors? Do you know what is the composition in a brake pad? Did you know the average rotor change rate is 3 pads to one rotor? Warranty are just like insurance, they will promise you all the impossibles before you purchase and quite impossible to claim unless there is a serious matter.

mayb TS rotor works by air pressure from pad, wif no contact. Hence not under wear n tear [laugh] ....... [rolleyes]

Had a very unpleasant experience today with the ADs.

Bought a 2nd hand car 3months ago. It is having 5years of AD warranty. So to play safe before buying the car, I went with the 2nd hand dealer to the AD for servicing and complain that the brakes were noisy. Had an agreement with the 2nd hand dealer that if anything wrong they have to pay before i accept the car. After the servicing, it was stated that everything is ok, the brakes are fine and the brakes is "like that one". I thought since its from a reputable AD, okie I took it.

3 months later, the brakes noise gets louder, went to the service center again. This time, the advisor was saying, oh... your rotor disc is very rough thats why there is this noise and its classified as wear and tear parts. They advise to resurface and polish it up and needs to be charged $300 bucks. Then I was annoyed, ask them how can rotor disc considered as wear and tear? If its brake pad, ok I accept it, but not Rotor Disc? The advisor immediately say ok charge $180 will do. So lan lan ask them to do it first.,

Immediately, I wrote an email in and immediately the manager called me within 2 hrs, still telling me its a wear and tear item due to sand or particles went in and cause it to be rough, all the Craps. Sibei hot liao, than ask he why it was not discovered 3 months ago when I have already complained about it? He than lan lan, tell me okie, why not another 50% discount. $80plus. Haiz, since the manager also working for the company, I gave in and said okie.

In the end, I ask the manager, when companies stated Extended warranty 5 years, engine etc, but exclude wear and tear items, how they define clearly what is wear and tear? He say oh definitely the engine will be under warranty. But I ask him if a person always ram and play his car for 4 years and before the warranty ends, the engine died, is it covered? He say "No, as its considered as wear and tear". Than I told him in this case its difficult to justify rite? In the end comes the favourite phase, warranty is' like that one'

But I have to give credit to the AD staff for their service and promptness. Its only that the warranty terms is not clearly defined especially for 5years term.

=============

Which AD was this?

Make it known here for all to see & shame the AD.

They sound like those super-duper con man hustling for a buck. But then again for so many ADs & big WS, "Its like that one". [laugh]

I never trusted those extended warranty or even normal warranty where u r tied to them as u MUST send your car to them for their super expensive regular service package. Its just a con job on unsuspecting motorists. [pirate]

I threw my warranty in the dustbin when I bought my Optra. I still prefer to buy my own oils & parts & get my trusted mech to fix for me.

Still much cheaper & better job done in the long run than those big ws with incompetent mechs & BS "warranty". [knife]

basically all parts are wear & tear have to own self pay except your engine & gearbox...but also depend if u do any modification. So if u installed one autobox cooler warranty void, tune your engine with aftermaket ECU void. So wat is warranty?? Dun believe wat 5 year warranty lah.. only applicable to ah peh driver tat keep car stock... [:p]

=================

Even I ah-pek driver & car stock I throw away the so called warranty.

I dare not let those inexperienced mechs use my car as a "training tool". During warranty they might just do simple repair to keep the car on the road, but when the warranty expire, then u r dead cos the repair bills will b [shocked]

I cant ustand why so many pple can keep going back to those ws who butcher, slice & dice your car to pieces. [confused]

=================

Even I ah-pek driver & car stock I throw away the so called warranty.

I dare not let those inexperienced mechs use my car as a "training tool". During warranty they might just do simple repair to keep the car on the road, but when the warranty expire, then u r dead cos the repair bills will b [shocked]

I cant ustand why so many pple can keep going back to those ws who butcher, slice & dice your car to pieces. [confused]

Under warranty, they will only "relieve" the symtoms.

After warranty, they will tell you need to "cure" the symtoms.

Under warranty, they will only "relieve" the symtoms.

After warranty, they will tell you need to "cure" the symtoms.

==============

Like those doctor Quack.

But sometimes the cure can even kill the patient. [:/]

===========

Wah. That one is [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

they will say its normal to most of the car problems.

their management also dun really care about after-sales. that's why the workers got such attitude.

its sell and forget for CNC. one of the worst AD i have ever experienced.

I too choose to get my own mech to do the repair and upkeep because I know the mech I go to are more professional in their expertise. Those in AD couldn't even rectify a simple knocking sounds from the axle. Yet they still have the cheek to tell me that they change the whole control arm and at one glance I know they did not.

I find that no point pointing out at a specific AD la... From my experience of my previous cars, its almost the same one. Its like petrol companies, everyone's pattern is almost the same :D

Everyone is just trying to earn a living.

But one thing I learn is that the manager was saying that if the rotor disc is wrap or crack that its covered due to materials defects but not when its rough surface. [rifle] Also dunno what logic. To be frank, I dunno much about car parts.

But the other main pt I put thru to them is, if they were to identify the problem before I get the car from the 2nd hand dealer, I wouldnt have to incur the costs. So the root cause is that they took the issue lightly the first time and resulted on this.

Just to elaborate, their service level and promptness to feedback is really good also la. How many companies can call back on the phone and address the issue within 2hours?

Edited by Powercolt

for me, i dumped my AD Borneo Motors after my 1st 2 free servicings with them.. Went to River View Auto subsequently, and never looked back..

My humble Vios is coming to 4 yrs, still running strong..