Centipede!!!

Berncsp76

hmmm...now my turn to have problem... <_<

Recently my wife-to-be scared the s--t of of her life when she encounter a centipede crawling up her feet. She was bathing during that time and somehow feel something moving but initially thought was her anglets so just judder her legs a little, then sub-consciously she turn her head and wah...a centipede (about 8-10cm) wriggling on the floor (must have been shaked off the feet)...she screamed and screamed and my mom-in-law quickly came over to take a look and killed it with a stock and chop it into two...wah... :wacko:

She stays in the 3rd floor and this is not the first time encounter liaoz..she mentioned that it sometimes appear near the kitchen sink..i suspect that it crawls up from the rubbish chute since sometimes have food there... [:(]

Any bros here have any recommendations of avoiding such nasty encounter again?dun wan her to kena bitten...are there some kind of centipede powder or spray?dun think insecticide will work. [:(]

Btw sometimes void deck near to the grass patch we can see small small centipedes crawling too...have any bros notice it?? :blink:

How come so many centipede around your place? Even void deck? Where you live? Call the town council and get them to send the pest busters. That will solve your problem.

Spray your chute constantly. Gets rid of cockroaches & centipedes.

Reminds me of the time at Bukit Tinggi. My 4 year old daughter exclaimed "butterfly butterfly" when we got off the bus that brings guests to the Japanese Garden. Looking around, my wife & I saw none and didn't give it much thought..... then a felt something crawling onto my feet (wearing sandals with exposed feet). Gosh, I jumped and stamped about... it was a centipede that was about 30cm long and 2cm wide [sweatdrop] . It was orange and yellow in colour. [shocked] It scampered away very fast into the drain having been flung from my feet.... my girl actually saw it earlier but didn't know how to call it then and referred to it as butterfly [:/] . Until today, thinking of it crawling up my feet makes my hair stand.

Spray your chute constantly. Gets rid of cockroaches & centipedes.

Reminds me of the time at Bukit Tinggi. My 4 year old daughter exclaimed "butterfly butterfly" when we got off the bus that brings guests to the Japanese Garden. Looking around, my wife & I saw none and didn't give it much thought..... then a felt something crawling onto my feet (wearing sandals with exposed feet). Gosh, I jumped and stamped about... it was a centipede that was about 30cm long and 2cm wide. It was orange and yellow in colour. It scampered away very fast into the drain having been flung from my feet.... my girl actually saw it earlier but didn't know how to call it then and referred to it as butterfly. Until today, thinking of it crawling up my feet makes my hair stand.

wah...that was damn scary man... :wacko:

btw I have been bitten by 1 before about 10 yrs back...I think around 15cm long... [bigcry] Last time once a while I will stay at my grandmother old shophouse...then some tenants like to go to those kampungs in LCK and CCK area and pick local durians...then they will put in the gunny sack and bring home. I suspect it hides among the thorns of the durian and sack... [crazy]

When I was sleeping at night on the wooden bed then felt something crawling behind the area between my neck and shoulder blade...shifted myself to side position and...OUCH!!!...I quickly sit up and on the lights and saw the big centipede still near my pillow!!! quickly get a big parang near the kitchen and chase after it...and chop it into several pieces... [knife]

The bite was initially not so pain but it gradually becomes more and more excruciating...applied the 云南白药 and 青草油...buy my ah ma scared inflammation then accompany me see doc in the morning...lucky nothing happens thereafter... [sweatdrop] dun wana become centipede man leh... [:p]

How come so many centipede around your place? Even void deck? Where you live? Call the town council and get them to send the pest busters. That will solve your problem.

hmm good idea...should ask them to come and exterminiate the problem...mine under thunder king constituency...think shd shoot letter there first and cc to town council...haha...then they will come down within 1 hour.

Those small centipedes downstairs usually occurs when those bangla workers that plants some small trees and flowers and aggravate the soil...can see millipedes also... <_<

does a baby centipede looks like a smaller sized centipedes?

its common to find millipedes and something that look similar to miliipede but doesnt coil and have spots on the back...they said its is centipede babies..but dont look like as the legs are not spread open like centipede ?...

Edited by Babyt

Small centipede bites usually nothing one.. expect FARKING painful nia.. wont die from it thou... kena many times le..

ya lucky my small back rather meaty so quite lucky...haha [laugh]

but even more lucky is that time i wearing those FBT types of shorts...with no inner underwear wan coz the shophouse quite stuffy with no electric fan...if crawl inside and bite how???unthinkable... :wacko::ph34r:

its common to find millipedes and something that look similar to miliipede but doesnt coil and have spots on the back...they said its is centipede babies..but dont look like as the legs are not spread open like centipede ?...

ya i think so but not so sure...

usually after downpour you can see all these creatures crawling out from the grass pavements...also those snails...i very scared of stepped onto them coz its very sickening to hear the sound..."crunch!" [bigcry] ....so i always put them back into the grass patch when I see any... [:)]

ya lucky my small back rather meaty so quite lucky...haha [laugh]

but even more lucky is that time i wearing those FBT types of shorts...with no inner underwear wan coz the shophouse quite stuffy with no electric fan...if crawl inside and bite how???unthinkable... :wacko::ph34r:

Sure super high! Best BJ in ur life... and free penis enlargement.. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i think they hide in dark wooden areas, and so it is not easy to get ride of them. i suggest TS engage pest controllers. u wouldnt want them to be crawling near your family when asleep.

Used to had that problem too at my ex flat at JE it was very long ago but at that time behind my hse was having construction for the swimming pool and stadium so I believe it might be because they are digging up the ground and all those centipide gotten out. btw I was staying at 2nd floor at that time. My parents would spray insecticide under the main door as there is a gap and the chute. After a while it was all gone.

Edited by Noobcar

I stayed on the Sixth floor in the aged estate of Boon Lay before.

Encountered centipedes almost all the time.. And would be most common if your apartment is old.

Yes, I must agree that once you had the 'bathroom' experience... the feeling of taking showers will no longer be the same.

My investigations then found that the crawlers came from the drainage

You can go to those DIY stores and they have those filters that prevents these crawlers from making their way from the drainage in the bathrooms..

Next, look for cracks in the tiles -if you have any.

There was once the centipede escaped into the cracks between tiles, and I just blasted insecticide into the cracks..

Alas.. the same centipede came out from another crack.. Machiam a network of tunnels in the walls.

The only time I was bitten was when I was asleep.. as my bed is the Tatami-kind.. Good thing I was bitten in the inner thigh.. else it would've been 'Great Balls of Fire'!

Most other times, I simply catch a glimpse of these crawlers in my living room as I was watching teevee.

Thank God, no more of this experience in my current apartment.

Godspeed.

Edit: Most of these 'domestic' centipedes are smallish is size and less potent. Those colourful ones you find in the nature can really sting; or are very lethal..

Edited by Hermit

i was bitten twice in 3 days when i was back in malaysia visiting my parents.

we were staying in the kampong then.

Well according to the older generations - when you kill 1 centipede, have to start looking for the other one, cos they always hang out in a pair.

And the best "medicine" for relieving the pain caused by the bite is the saliva of a chicken. Not sure if it really works or is it in the mind but after applying some, didn't feel that painful athough the wound still turns out purplish.

Slow moving right? As in doesn't move fast like a centipede? That's another type of millipede, and its very common in urban areas. Harmless (unless you eat them [laugh] )

Baby centipedes look like tiny versions of their parents, but may be a different colour. Then again, there are many species of centipedes, some are mature at barely an inch while others are born at that size and grow to 30cm or more.