Wat makes an AH Beng a Beng & Ah Lian a Lian?

2bfree

Saw a topic by one of the Bro here abt Ah Beng & Ah Lian. Jus wondering, wats our perception of them in real life? Personally, I dun hav anyting against tis stereotyped. Bt it seems dat in general, its not dat good an idea to be link to these names. Wats so bad abt them? I find them in fact to be veri straight up, non-pretentious, nice & friendly ppl. Beta thn alot of so-call "atas" a**h*les I knw. Frankly speaking, I rather be label an Ah Beng thn a Banana Boy. [laugh][:/][laugh]

They are straightforward la.....don't beat around the bush....

Some of them can be very good friends....

And I know of a few of them who are highly educated..... [:p]

so if i am highly educated, unpretentious, and straightforward, can i be considered an Ah Beng? :wub:

1. you sit with 2 legs up on a stoool

2. Every word from your mouth ends with some hokkien expletives

3. your tongue is a bit short and education becum ellucation, and every word is shortened

4. your hair looks like it has been thru the tumble dryer

so if i am highly educated, unpretentious, and straightforward, can i be considered an Ah Beng? :wub:

but to answer, yes, that suits like one of the ministers I know......add ignorant to that [laugh][laugh]

It doesn't matter if you are Ah Beng, Ah Seng or Ah Boon as long as there is a RICH in front of the name.

Edited by Ahtong

Sorry for this you don have a choice... you only get to say ppl ahbeng or ahlian. So if ppl say you one of them than it just sticks to you la... and you cannot undo it until they stop labeling you as ahbeng or lian.

Its not about attitude... its more to your lifestyle... :D :D :D

Sorry for this you don have a choice... you only get to say ppl ahbeng or ahlian. So if ppl say you one of them than it just sticks to you la... and you cannot undo it until they stop labeling you as ahbeng or lian.

Its not about attitude... its more to your lifestyle... :D:D:D

..and the facade you present [laugh]

i think hor, to be qualified ah beng ah seng or ah lian, you must have beng, send or lian in your name...

just like oxx beng seng....tan ah beng, low ah seng...quek ah lian

I have singled out the most common characteristics:

Speaks mostly hokkien with some singlish

Delusional in fashion sense

Easily provoked

They are straightforward la.....don't beat around the bush....

Some of them can be very good friends....

And I know of a few of them who are highly educated..... [:p]

yes, i agree wif u fully on tis... i have an ah-beng fren oso in NTU now, graduating soon...

those selling hp one, u can tok to them more freely rather dan find those specky nerdy type...

tis is my own opinion and experiences, dun flame me... [:p]

actually name plays a big part too...

my name end with Beng... So last time parents keep calling me ah Beng... :wacko:

then when go school, when my classmates and friends know my full name(Chee Beng), they call me Chee Bxe...

knn... [furious]

Ah Beng has misplace pride. For unexplain reason, they say you don't give them face, still can't figure what are the things they consider as don't give them face.. They also have a thing for staring. One glance into their eyes they accuse you of staring, Siong simi LC, and proceed to pick a fight.

When they run out of reasons or lose an argument, they'll go , An Chua, an chua, an chua.. loosely translate to 'What? What? what?', and proceed to pick a fight.

1. you sit with 2 legs up on a stoool

2. Every word from your mouth ends with some hokkien expletives

3. your tongue is a bit short and education becum ellucation, and every word is shortened

4. your hair looks like it has been thru the tumble dryer

5. Must be fluent in all the curse words, and can say it non-stop for 5 minutes

6. sit on chair, one leg must be tucked on the seat and the other shaking away

7. fringe must be a bit long and look at people through the fringe and when people see you see only your nostrils

8. use of hair highlights is optional

9. the ultimate pride is must have some sort of tattoo

10. boys must have 1 ear ring pierced

11. boys not likely to pass the squating test at CMPB

12. greeting a good buddy by saying "KNN see ga di go kee liao"