Nespresso Coffee Maker and espresso machines

Blackyv

You guys can go to youtube to see how ppl reuse their nespresso pods and how to use nespresso machines.

BTW, those cheap espresso machines normally make very light and watery coffee. a real espresso machine must be able to produce high pressure to force the water into the grains and drip the essence into an espresso shot cup.

the pressure must be just right... at 9bar.

anything more and u'll extract the bitterness of coffee.... result of over extraction.

the prowess of a good coffee machine is the ability to maintain consistent 9bar pressure

Highland is crap, (personal opinion) and the course expensive and the two brothers,

arrogant as hell, the way they talk, it's as if coffee originated from THEM.

One day course in what? Coffee roasting, appreciation? Next thing is you end up

buying this and that from them.

agreed.

highland is overrated.

i went there once and disagreed with their explanations in my heart.

the course is silly.

where dis you $200+, that is expensive! I saw AA also have such program for member, thought usually less than $100.

its around 180++

anyone tried tis b4...................

we buy coffee beans and grind it fresh, brew it n use a plunger to separate beans n kopi [cool]

This machine is a blade grinder.

it is the surest way to destroy your coffee beans.

Why?

1) beans are chopped into powder of varying sizes --> no consistency and will result in pressurized water leaking through the cracks of the powder instead of being forced THROUGH the powder.

2) blade grinding heats up the coffee beans by its rapid revolution.. coffee beans are sensitive to drastic changes in temperature.... the spinning effect can chop the beans very rapidly, but it can also heat up your powder in 2.5secs to 80degrees celsius.

solution?

Use a conical burr grinder.

You know your coffee well brother. Shaking_Hand_Emoticon[1].gif nothing beats pressure extracted coffee,

not to mention, ground coffee only last max 4hrs, roasted beans opened from their vacuum packs

to be used within 7 days. (They loose their luster due to exposure to air.)

I roast my own beans and bring them in from Australia.

Coffee is my life, and my life is like a coffee bean. :D

Green, green kana skinned.

Baked in the sun to suffer.

Only the few good ones will be selected.

put thru fire and roasted till I change color.

go thru grounding, to make me finer,

and finally extracted my best out of me,

making me as valuable as gold.

hahahaha.....how? Passion and inspiration. 2 shot espresso to put me to sleep. :D

produce coffee of VERY different taste.

the french love it. its very convenient too

but in no way will it ever taste like pressure-extracted coffee from the pumps.

This machine is a blade grinder.

it is the surest way to destroy your coffee beans.

Why?

1) beans are chopped into powder of varying sizes --> no consistency and will result in pressurized water leaking through the cracks of the powder instead of being forced THROUGH the powder.

2) blade grinding heats up the coffee beans by its rapid revolution.. coffee beans are sensitive to drastic changes in temperature.... the spinning effect can chop the beans very rapidly, but it can also heat up your powder in 2.5secs to 80degrees celsius.

solution?

Use a conical burr grinder.

those shop tat sells kopi beans but will grind for us n later pack in packets, r those also blade grinder??

Got to goggle wat a conical burr grinder looks like [blush] .......

And I thot I was siao, got one more member to my kopi siao gang! Wahahahaha!

Eyh, Italy, go look for a La Pavoni. Someone here paid 3K for the machine,

not if you get it over there.

the pressure must be just right... at 9bar.

anything more and u'll extract the bitterness of coffee.... result of over extraction.

the prowess of a good coffee machine is the ability to maintain consistent 9bar pressure

The last barista competition, one of the brothers was there,

the way he spoke, was as if he was some big fark in the coffee world

with only a few years of experiece under his belt, damn yaya.

I still prefer Deny from Geek Terminal, a very nice and humble guy.

Arrogance will get you nowhere.

agreed.

highland is overrated.

i went there once and disagreed with their explanations in my heart.

the course is silly.

A good burr grinder will set you back 1-2k.

normal burr grinder, look for Krups, cost $80-$90 bucks depending.

but it comes nowhere close to quality grinders.

Also, such grinders with daily use, need to be cleaned out with grinder

cleaners. Same with espresso machines, and also french press.

those shop tat sells kopi beans but will grind for us n later pack in packets, r those also blade grinder??

Got to goggle wat a conical burr grinder looks like [blush] .......

BTW, not ALL french press are meant for coffee, some are meant for tea.

anyone tried tis b4...................

we buy coffee beans and grind it fresh, brew it n use a plunger to separate beans n kopi [cool]

And I thot I was siao, got one more member to my kopi siao gang! Wahahahaha!

Eyh, Italy, go look for a La Pavoni. Someone here paid 3K for the machine,

not if you get it over there.

WoW! You roast your own coffee beans? Think no one can be more siao than that lah! What about FAEMA machines. When I was working at Prive, the bistro had one specially built-to-order in Italy. It cost $25k [hur]

A good burr grinder will set you back 1-2k.

normal burr grinder, look for Krups, cost $80-$90 bucks depending.

but it comes nowhere close to quality grinders.

Also, such grinders with daily use, need to be cleaned out with grinder

cleaners. Same with espresso machines, and also french press.

bro, noe where to look for one of those Krups grinder? Frankly i don mind doin it manually :wub:

Not siao lah, I love my coffee FRESH. So I roast a one week supply.

Faema is a well know brand,. but they don't cost 25k lah, 3 group?

Built to order? Err...2/3/4 group need to build to order, think they snook you lah. [laugh]

I have a friend in Japan, using this same machine, and he brought it brand new

for US$8k 25K the machine should have hands to do all the work, and a selection for latte art!

CLICK

Second hand already this price. But then again, what can it do that a regular 2-3 group machine CANNOT?

All have built in boilers, milk steamer wands, single and double porfilter, dump box, etc... some even come priced with the grinder, (which is what it's supposed to be!) Why spend so much? A Saeco or Rancilio would do the same job as well.

WoW! You roast your own coffee beans? Think no one can be more siao than that lah! What about FAEMA machines. When I was working at Prive, the bistro had one specially built-to-order in Italy. It cost $25k [hur]

Manually? Use chinese wooden clogs to crush on the floor then add to cup with hot water ar? [laugh] [laugh]

Go to BEST DENKI, they sell these grinders there.

bro, noe where to look for one of those Krups grinder? Frankly i don mind doin it manually :wub:

Not siao lah, I love my coffee FRESH. So I roast a one week supply.

Faema is a well know brand,. but they don't cost 25k lah, 3 group?

Built to order? Err...2/3/4 group need to build to order, think they snook you lah. [laugh]

I have a friend in Japan, using this same machine, and he brought it brand new

for US$8k 25K the machine should have hands to do all the work, and a selection for latte art!

CLICK

Second hand already this price. But then again, what can it do that a regular 2-3 group machine CANNOT?

All have built in boilers, milk steamer wands, single and double porfilter, dump box, etc... some even come priced with the grinder, (which is what it's supposed to be!) Why spend so much? A Saeco or Rancilio would do the same job as well.

Hahah! Then it's probably my boss who 'tua pao' about the price lah! But assuming FAEMA were commissioned to hand-built one to our specifications, could it possibly cost that amount? And you're right, the coffee though very good, tastes about the same as one from a Rancilio...

But still, 2nd hand is like US$5K man! [dizzy]

French Press is caffeine power extractor.

You see, caffeine is a water soluble substance. So if you pour hot water over the ground coffee and let it soak, the caffeine comes out in huge amounts. This is why the kopitiam kopi got the kick. They might use the sock for they coffee is steeped in it for so long, whatever cannot come out also come out.

The taste is also different. All the good AND the bad all come out.

Pressure driven espresso coffee don't have a lot of caffeine. The main idea is for the fragrant oils to come out and emulsify with the water giving you that crema which is nice in aroma.

You know your coffee well brother. nothing beats pressure extracted coffee,

not to mention, ground coffee only last max 4hrs, roasted beans opened from their vacuum packs

to be used within 7 days. (They loose their luster due to exposure to air.)

I roast my own beans and bring them in from Australia.

Coffee is my life, and my life is like a coffee bean. :D

Green, green kana skinned.

Baked in the sun to suffer.

Only the few good ones will be selected.

put thru fire and roasted till I change color.

go thru grounding, to make me finer,

and finally extracted my best out of me,

making me as valuable as gold.

hahahaha.....how? Passion and inspiration. 2 shot espresso to put me to sleep. :D

bro... hi five.

i do appreciate good coffee.

i'll smell the aroma of the sugarless espresso in the little warm cup

then i'll sip gently, bringing the crema from the cup into my mouth

... and concurrently, let the fragrance of the coffee flows into my nose.

upon the right temperature, i drink in larger quantities, swivelling it inside my mouth.

the whole sensation will last for a while, before you swallow it and allow the taste to linger on ...

a krups burr grinder is a good start.

a very good start for a new enthusiast.

get it at Tangs or Best Denki.