Why not many buy Skoda Superb?

MadDog70

Per above question.

IMHO, it doesn't have the look. Korean has recently proved that good look with nice price means sales volume.

Regards,

Brand, Price but product is very good.

Anyway Skoda job is not mass market

but to go after Volvo and Rover.

Rover is dead and Volvo not in the best of health.

VW to go after MB

Audi to go after BMW

Seat to go after Alfa.

VAG tactics!

Edited by Jamesc

VW to go after MB

Audi to go after BMW

Seat to go after Alfa.

VAG tactics!

IMHO, Skoda is still a mass market car afterall. If it tries to project itself as a premium brand here then it should not expect to sell well.

Regards,

VW to go after MB

Audi to go after BMW

Seat to go after Alfa.

VAG tactics!

dont work this way lah.

Audi to go after BMW and MB.

Bently vs Chrysaler and RollsRoyce.

VW is mass market car going at Fiat, Honda and Toyota. they already declare they are ppl car not Rich ppl car. why you still think its MB standard. BTW MB and BMW equal to each other leh.

Skoda will never be going againt Volvo. if anything, the best it can do is fight with Daihatsu. Afterall, its suppose to be the Daihatsu of VW. While VW is Toyota and Audi is Lexus.

Edited by Joseph22

I agree with all the bros here.

Marketing trying to project Skoda above its true class.

Same with VW. The most amazing thing is Porche way

smaller than VW almost succeeded in buying the whole

of VW!

Skoda has the worse reputation of any car brand in UK

and the butt of many jokes.

Q. How do you double the value of a Skoda.

A. Put a tankful petol inside.

Q. What do you call a Skoda with 2 exhaust?

A. A wheel barrow.

However I love the design of the Superb and a car I always

wanted to own but cannot afford!

In 5 years time, if any bro want to sell his Superb, please think of me! [thumbsup]

other than exp, another problem is road presence.

Someone who has 100k to spend will take branding and road presence into account.

Superb has neither. It is supposed to be like "passat" or "camry" class, but it does not have the perceived prestige of a VW nor the big road presence of the Teanas, camrys and accords.

VW, on the other hand, is marketed as 1 step above japs and 1 step below premium contis. so even if their jetta/passat is small, it can still save itself with the badge.

I agree with all the bros here.

Marketing trying to project Skoda above its true class.

Same with VW. The most amazing thing is Porche way

smaller than VW almost succeeded in buying the whole

of VW!

Skoda has the worse reputation of any car brand in UK

and the butt of many jokes.

Q. How do you double the value of a Skoda.

A. Put a tankful petol inside.

Q. What do you call a Skoda with 2 exhaust?

A. A wheel barrow.

However I love the design of the Superb and a car I always

wanted to own but cannot afford!

In 5 years time, if any bro want to sell his Superb, please think of me! [thumbsup]

Think you got certain thing wrong liao.

firstly, Porsche attempt to bought over VW but with Loan and fail badly.

2ndly Skoda is the top 5 brand in UK in term of reliablility for the past few years so how can it be having the worse reputation while having the most reliable reputation together.

BTW from what i understand from a friend working in VW. he told me that the reason why VW is taking back the rights from AD for their VW is because the AD place their product wrongly. They suppose to compete with Toyota and honda.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%A0koda_Au...roup_subsidiary

Edited by Joseph22

Think you got certain thing wrong liao.

firstly, Porsche attempt to bought over VW but with Loan and fail badly.

2ndly Skoda is the top 5 brand in UK in term of reliablility for the past few years so how can it be having the worse reputation while having the most reliable reputation together.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%A0koda_Au...roup_subsidiary

I once read from somewhere that the Skoda equates to Toyota of Eastern Europe in term of reliability. However reliability doesn't necessarily equates to top name in branding. It is reliable but its branding still need more work at least in this part of the world.

Regards,

I once read from somewhere that the Skoda equates to Toyota of Eastern Europe in term of reliability. However reliability doesn't necessarily equates to top name in branding. It is reliable but its branding still need more work at least in this part of the world.

Regards,

Reasonable explanation. i do agree that HM had place the brand wrongly. I was pretty shock that they place octavia to be btw the brand of VW and Audi which i think badly affected potential buyer. if they had been less ambitious and place it lower than VW in term of pricing when the COE is low, the sales will had pick up. now with rising COE. their window had close liao.

Putting the brand and price aside, the features and the car itself it can compete with BMW and Audi right?

Edited by MadDog70

Putting the brand and price aside, the features and the car itself it can compete with BMW and Audi right?

Not sure about Audi, but i know Superb can beat Passat hand down. not sure about actual driving though.

Those jokes were tageting Skoda back in the olden days when Lada is the most popular car in the eastern bloc countries.

I dare say that skoda build and quality is much better than some conti brands, somemore with DSG gearbox included.