Looking for cheap spectacles

Alfisti168

DAISO "Everything S$2" Store have glasses off-the-rack, beside their other range of items.

If I can remember, 3 diff levels of degree, various types of frames.

I'm looking for a cheap and good replacement to my spectacles. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Btw i saw this forum: http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/get_che...cles_14370.html, in it there was this post:

"oh yes . the one at bishan . its near the cheers there .

one pair is only ard 30"

Does anybody know how to go to this shop? And whether is it still around?

Many thanks =)

I have a friend who bought porsche design frames on taobao. He showed me and i must agree it looks very much like the real thing! The attention to detail and quality is fantastic.

It is just a chain store at Bukit Indah, Optical Arts. I'm sure the prices are competitive in other optical shops within the shopping centres. What to do, Singapore prices are highly inflated. Average salesgirl earns about RM1.2K monthly in JB.

Regards,

After seeing what could be bought from taobao and alibaba for what is a fraction of the price of the real thing, now i hesitate to spend few hundred bucks for those branded spectacle frames in those heartland shops (including those in Parkway Parade) because i cannot be sure of the origin.

What more JB?

After seeing what could be bought from taobao and alibaba for what is a fraction of the price of the real thing, now i hesitate to spend few hundred bucks for those branded spectacle frames in those heartland shops (including those in Parkway Parade) because i cannot be sure of the origin.

What more JB?

most optical shops in sg outsource and send the spectacle to truly asia to do the lenses..as told by an optician friend in truly asia

Finally, bought a Seiko spec at Sincere Optical @ Beauty World. Bye bye my Braun Buffel.

Not many shops carry Seiko and Nikon frames now. Some dissuade me from buying even if they have (few pairs). [shakehead] Kong Lan Jiao Wei..... simi many customers encountering warranty claim issues, very stringent warranty T&Cs......... bulls and cocks stories.

Edited by Kangadrool

Finally, bought a Seiko spec at Sincere Optical @ Beauty World. Bye bye my Braun Buffel.

Not many shops carry Seiko and Nikon frames now. Some dissuade me from buying even if they have (few pairs). [shakehead] Kong Lan Jiao Wei..... simi many customers encountering warranty claim issues, very stringent warranty T&Cs......... bulls and cocks stories.

How is the damage? Any pics to show us?

Considering it's titanium, damage quite ok lah. With glass lens in, about mid $200+

Pics dun wanna post lah 'cos Seiko frames like Seiko watch, mostly uncle type. [laugh] But I got the single nose bridge bar, small size lens and thin frames one, look younger lor.

Almost plunge into a Kazua Kawasaki frame at another shop, but cannot tahan the lectures the sales lady was trying to sell me plastic lens, simi gu UVAB....Z..... :D got PC miracles also, see computers, tablets, handphones like can strike lottery liddat. [laugh]

Going to KL One Utama soon. Anyone got lobang for Kazua Kawasaki or Mizuno specs there?

Edited by Kangadrool

cheap? consider IC!berlin knockoff from china~... @only 20~30 bucks, from Taobao

I'm using one myself. in fact, I've two knockoff frames.

Initially, I've bot one original ic!berlin frame, and when I saw the fake one from Taobao, I bot one of the exact same model name (arne) to try out, to my surprise, the quality is very close and my lenses fits perfectly.

Just order 2 more knockoff of the same frame. for the price you pay for a original ic!berlin? now I rather buy a bunch to swap

Queensway lor :)

i still go there since sec 1, the shop still there and now my kids also get from them..... very very long liao [laugh][laugh]

for spec i dun really go for branded, last time get giogio armani, etc also has to change after a year.... few years back gotten a Rayben titanium broke within 1 year [mad] [mad]

now only go for those $100+ or get it in malaysia (any where as long as we are there for holiday), one hour can collect and cost RM168 :D :D

i still go there since sec 1, the shop still there and now my kids also get from them..... very very long liao [laugh][laugh]

for spec i dun really go for branded, last time get giogio armani, etc also has to change after a year.... few years back gotten a Rayben titanium broke within 1 year [mad] [mad]

now only go for those $100+ or get it in malaysia (any where as long as we are there for holiday), one hour can collect and cost RM168 :D

bro, u want to make spec or make spec for your kids, can I tag along to get discounts? [grin]

Same lor. I dun go for branded frames - its overpriced

Avoid going for fashion brands unless it fits very well and within "reasonable price". Otherwise, it's the old and trusted brands from the optical industry.

Most fashion brands don't manufacture the frames themselves, but outsourced to generic factories where their brand names are embossed. That's all. Of course, there are few fashion brands like Puma manufactured under specialist frame maker like Charmant.

Edited by Kangadrool

Ok got to bump this up dont want to create another thread

Time for spectacle change.

Any good lobang here or jb?

Looking for no brand as long the design is nice and suit my face

Prefer half jacket type

Will want to have photochromic lenses

Now getting old, need spec for both distance and reading

If got a magnetic clip on shade for driving is a bonus

My degree is around 300