Are there P.I. for Korean Cars?

Lufu

1st Gear

Hoping to go the Parallel Importer route to get better specs model than the one bought in by Authorised Dealer

Don't seem to find any Parallel Importer selling Korean Cars?

Edited by Lufu

Obviously not as Korea is left hand drive.

So are the Germans. Then how come we get PI for Conti cars? :huh: Not that obvious IMO.

But anyway, I dun think there are any PI for Korean cars. It seems like PI do not deal in lower priced cars such as from China, Malaysia and Korea. Probably becoz the price will not be significantly lower the AD to make any major difference. Or can be due to difficulty in procuring grey sources. I am just speculating, anyone with a better answer? [scholar]

So are the Germans. Then how come we get PI for Conti cars? :huh: Not that obvious IMO.

But anyway, I dun think there are any PI for Korean cars. It seems like PI do not deal in lower priced cars such as from China, Malaysia and Korea. Probably becoz the price will not be significantly lower the AD to make any major difference. Or can be due to difficulty in procuring grey sources. I am just speculating, anyone with a better answer? [scholar]

But then, if we talk about Malaysian cars, the price should be significantly lower than the AD's selling price here. And some models are not available from the AD, that should justify the reason for PIs.

I think Malaysian cars are not hugely popular nowadays. Frankly, how much difference is the OMV of a Gen2 and City?

Come to think of it. Honda can manufacture a City in Thailand at a much cheaper cost than Proton do a Gen2. Economy of scale, plant efficiency etc etc. Just think of the number of cars Honda churns out annually compared to Proton. Parts, platform and engineering cost are definitely lower than Proton.

Malaysian's car industry, from the birth of Proton to current, is a lesson in "How NOT to develop an Auto Manufacturing Industry and Protectionism" :D

I have read it on the papers before. It's due the rules and regulation in the country where the car is to be registered, then deregistered before exporting to Singapore.

Korea's regulation doesn't fit the PI's operation.

I think Malaysian cars are not hugely popular nowadays. Frankly, how much difference is the OMV of a Gen2 and City?

Come to think of it. Honda can manufacture a City in Thailand at a much cheaper cost than Proton do a Gen2. Economy of scale, plant efficiency etc etc. Just think of the number of cars Honda churns out annually compared to Proton. Parts, platform and engineering cost are definitely lower than Proton.

Malaysian's car industry, from the birth of Proton to current, is a lesson in "How NOT to develop an Auto Manufacturing Industry and Protectionism" :D

I do quite like the Myvi Sports and Satria Neo CPS, too bad both the ADs don't bring them in.. [laugh]

I saw Myvi being brought in here leh by PI.....but the price is exorbitant [knife]

Edited by Dj_spike

I saw Myvi being brought in here leh by PI.....but the price is exorbitant [knife]

Myvi Sport looks much nicer leh, with the nice nice BK.. local one is the vanilla model.. ugly.. haha

Then go mod in bolehland lor... [laugh]

PI business are mainly to cater for special models that authorised dealers do not bring in.

And why german or conti cars have more PI...the simple reason is because AD profits are super duper high, such that PI can still make money by undercutting a few thousands compared to AD.

Say you want the Korean cars with more features, and PI willing to bring it in for you. Would you pay $5k more for those features compared to the one from local AD?

Koreans and Japanese cars margin are slightly lower then conti, so for a PI to bring it in and still make money, the price might even be higher!

That's because PIs import German, French, or any other EU cars that are left hand drive from other countries, and not from the country of origin itself. Normally PI cars are registered in another country and deregistered before it's exported out. So unless PIs can find a dealer to export a RHD Korean car, they won't be able to import a RHD Korean car from Korea itself.

One good example is the Hummer (before it closed down). PIs do import RHD Hummer previously but not from the US, it's from South Africa.

hmmm i don't know if i am just the only one mentioning this amidst all the oohs and ahhhs about the i45 but i notice the i45 has too much strong lines in its body style giving an angular look that goes overboard to me like a multi faceted precious stone.

I always feel a good looking car needs to have the right amount of curves and straights.

While a car will do well not having overly curvy bonnets and boots like the Vios, i think it is not nice for a car to look too angular lest it loses the fluid look.

5th Gear

I guess those are actually coming from UK. I did inquiry one from Uk but they only deal with dealer like Jacks Motor [:(]