Accidents across the causeway!

PaiKia-Lee

wat is the best speed limit over there?. first time driving up.. anything to look out for?

Things to look out for:

- wild boar

- tortoise

- cow

- goat

You can roughly figure out from your experience up to what speed you can spot them, predict their actions and reactions, avoid them without crashing, and make sure the car behind does not crash into you. If they cannot survive, the car is unlikely to survive either.

Edited by Hwt

first time go slow. stick with 110-120km/h. until u feel more comfortable den increase accordingly.

ehyy... watch out for ah... big lorries i suppose. n pls dun hog first lane.

hold the steering wheel real tight when the bus overtake you [laugh] [laugh]

wat is the best speed limit over there?. first time driving up.. anything to look out for?

just make sure your car is in good condition, eg, enough brakes pads left, tyre correct pressure, radiator enough water, etc...

try to stay within 110km/h for the first 20 to 30 mins, once confortable can go a bit faster, the important thing is to keep one awake.

IMHO, by drviing at 130km/h~140km/h, you will be kept busy by overtaking slower cars/trucks/buses on the left most lane and also need to keep a look out for faster cars (those that are more than 140km/h). In this way, your mind will be awake all the time. Bare in mind that some of the newer buses can hit speed of 130km/h.

Whenever you spotted a bus/car/trucks that signal right, just slow down for them to come out to overtake slower vehicles on the left, after that, they will automatically move back to the left lane.

just make sure your car is in good condition, eg, enough brakes pads left, tyre correct pressure, radiator enough water, etc...

try to stay within 110km/h for the first 20 to 30 mins, once confortable can go a bit faster, the important thing is to keep one awake.

IMHO, by drviing at 130km/h~140km/h, you will be kept busy by overtaking slower cars/trucks/buses on the left most lane and also need to keep a look out for faster cars (those that are more than 140km/h). In this way, your mind will be awake all the time. Bare in mind that some of the newer buses can hit speed of 130km/h.

Whenever you spotted a bus/car/trucks that signal right, just slow down for them to come out to overtake slower vehicles on the left, after that, they will automatically move back to the left lane.

dun ask him to go beyond 120km/h lah if he doesn't know where the speed traps are [:p] though speeding usually keep one awake :D

oh, one more thing, when you are on the right lane, whenever you pass by a bus or truck that is slower on the left lane, you will feel that your car will move a bit to the right, due to the wind draft produce on the front of the bus/truck, so just hold on and do some minor adjustment if necessary. Some stretch of NS H/W have cross wind (can spot the sign and the wind sock) so it will also have the same effect, you are going straight but the car wanted to pull left or right, just do minor adjustment if necessary.

dun ask him to go beyond 120km/h lah if he doesn't know where the speed traps are [:p] though speeding usually keep one awake :D

just prepare coffee $$ can liao :D

actually, he can get a GPS and load it with MFM, it will warn you where the "common" speed trap is [;)]

Speed limit varies between 90km/h and 110km/h. 85% are 110km/h IMO.

Note that you used the word "Best" for speed limit. I will be worried for you.

Its not a race, show-off time or record breaking session. Its just a drive.

1) Cater sufficient time for the journey, do not try to beat your time.

2) Anticipate the movement of other vehicles, especially buses and lorries.

3) Plan ahead for overtaking manuevers. Use your mirrors, check blind spot.

4) Stay sharp, don't get distracted. Ask your passengers to help by keeping a look out.

5) If not sure, DON'T.

Its about the journey, not the destination. Enjoy your drive.

Speed limit varies between 90km/h and 110km/h. 85% are 110km/h IMO.

Note that you used the word "Best" for speed limit. I will be worried for you.

Its not a race, show-off time or record breaking session. Its just a drive.

1) Cater sufficient time for the journey, do not try to beat your time.

2) Anticipate the movement of other vehicles, especially buses and lorries.

3) Plan ahead for overtaking manuevers. Use your mirrors, check blind spot.

4) Stay sharp, don't get distracted. Ask your passengers to help by keeping a look out.

5) If not sure, DON'T.

Its about the journey, not the destination. Enjoy your drive.

And please remember to wear your seatbelts.. Don't be a super hero and fly out of your car.. [bigcry]

I would think that pre road trip check is just as important.

coolant level, tyre pressures, thread, lights etc

if you are due to replace belt, brakes pads or any wear and tear parts soon, best to change them prior trip

Like I always tell people, u can drive in circuit doesn't mean u can drive on public road. you can drive on public road doesn't mean u can drive on NS. Likewise, even u can drive on NS, it doesn't mean you can drive on M'sia trunk road (those small road inside the states).

Different road, different place, require different skill, understanding of the local habit etc.

But there is a key survive skill whenever you are not sure or when u are not having the confident... go slow.

这 么 多 人 死 , 又 不 见 你 死 。 :D:D

have some kindness at heart. whatever quarrels in the forum should not result in death. i dun even know you and you dun even know me as a person.

anyway, wishing you an early morning death, if that's the reply you want.

come to think of it,

it's really not about the car, but it's all about the driver....

just look at the cars normally seen on the roads in Malaysia....

most are just normal family compact hatchbacks and family saloons (won't wanna refer to any particular brand)....

you hardly see any sports car or high end cars there, with good handling characteristics....

it's all in the head of the driver really....

Be safe, keep to 110 km/j and stay on the left lane. Occasionally speed up to overtake the trucks and lorries, coz don't feel comfortable being near these heavy vehicles either infront or behind.