Dark chocolate?

1l0v3you

hello!

my cousin bday coming i wanna bake him a nice bittersweet chocolate cake. ^^

any of you heard of dark german chocolate?

i love baking but i've never used dark german chocolate.

my friend who tried before said that the taste is not like any dark chocolate.

it has that distinct extremely dark bittersweet taste and it is like really pure cocoa.

he says no other baking chocolate can compare with the german chocolate.

i asked around nobody seems to know where to find in singapore.

do you all know where?

or any suggestions which chocolate you think is equally good?

btw, is it ok if i make a marble cheesecake using the german chocolate?

or will it taste weird due to it's bitterish taste?

i cant really imagine cause i dont know how bitter the chocolate really is. lol.

help please? [:p]

did you try the baking goods shop with the red man logo? can't remember the name.. hehehehe..

also how about the gourmet supermarkets? like tanglin, Holland V, dempsey.. those kinda places?

good luck.. if you got extra, i don't mind coming to try some.. hehehe

i googled and i found german choclate cake/german upside down chocolate cake.

saw the recipe, noticed that most of them uses a common ingredient.

grated coconut :o

i think my cousin will love bittersweet chocolate and he loves coconuts.

fated to make this cake for him. lol.

still searching where to get the legendary german chocolate bar.

or is it just an over rated piece of chocolate? haha.

Beside Raffles Hotel got 1 shop selling these baking raw ingredients one..Sunlik, Seah St there..

1 bought 1 bar chocolate for my cookies,1kg around $16 but v v nice...

can find some good baking intredients there too, like Flavourings etc ,all good stuffs

did you try the baking goods shop with the red man logo? can't remember the name.. hehehehe..

also how about the gourmet supermarkets? like tanglin, Holland V, dempsey.. those kinda places?

good luck.. if you got extra, i don't mind coming to try some.. hehehe

muahaha

if it is a success i dont mind sharing [:p]

last night i went dempsey but they had all sorts of dark chocolate but no german chocolate.

then i went to jansens(?) also didnt find any german chocolate hmm.

the red man logo is it phoon huat?

do you think phoon huat will have?

i have to get shortening also so i might just pop by to check :D

but if dont have, you know any alternatives?

i have only till friday :o

Beside Raffles Hotel got 1 shop selling these baking raw ingredients one..Sunlik, Seah St there..

1 bought 1 bar chocolate for my cookies,1kg around $16 but v v nice...

can find some good baking intredients there too, like Flavourings etc ,all good stuffs

wah 1kg haha. sounds like a huge batch of cookies.

you bought dark chocolate also ar?

sunlik is something like phhon huat right? supplies other bakeries the baking stuff?

really hope they have some really nice dark chcolate!

thank you^^

anyone know how to choose the richest and best dark chocolate?

like in terms of color etc etc.

i know some of the color so dark but end up still tastes like milk chocolate haha..

my cousin likes bittersweet type.

alternative 1 - bake a normal chocolate cake and get him a good dark chocolate, one bite of cake with one bite on the chocolate :D

alternative 2 - buy the expensive Godiva chocolate and shave it into powder :D

ok enough joke, what ingredient do you need? a dark chocolate powder to make a sponge cake or just the dark chocolate glaze covering the cake?

their ingredients more higher end kind..got dark chocolate etc etc,got nice flavouring paste too

i use to do chocolate tarts and cookies

see i dont know how see ,just use taste bud lor [laugh]

alternative 1 - bake a normal chocolate cake and get him a good dark chocolate, one bite of cake with one bite on the chocolate :D

ok enough joke, what ingredient do you need? a dark chocolate powder to make a sponge cake or just the dark chocolate glaze covering the cake?

this actually sounds like a great idea to me [laugh]

i wanna bake him a spongey cake but is those moist moist kind of cake.

i was thinking of drenching it with kaluah/baileys and spreading it with some ganache and cover the top with some coated strawberries.

would the bailey make the cake too bitter?

do you think there's too much flavours going on in one cake?

i saw afew recipes they used grated coconut with the german chocolate.

sounds good to me :huh:

their ingredients more higher end kind..got dark chocolate etc etc,got nice flavouring paste too

i use to do chocolate tarts and cookies

see i dont know how see ,just use taste bud lor [laugh]

orh..

i think it will help alot. thank you!

somemore quite near my office hehe.

will go and see see!

maybe later i have new inspiration then i will be looking for more things hahaha.

i will be making cheese souffle also..

hope it turns out to be a huge success yay!

sponge cakes are hard to make...u nid wisk it till the correct 'stickness'

u using normal flour or those ready mix one?

if ready one v simple liaoz la..i learning old traditional way one [laugh]

take note some ingredient u put,can affect the cake taste,the hardness or softness and can "fa" anot

even sugar plays a part in the 'compactness' of the cake..

alternative 3- go toilet and bake.....Natural color, natural fragrance....All natural and organic... :D

sponge cakes are hard to make...u nid wisk it till the correct 'stickness'

u using normal flour or those ready mix one?

if ready one v simple liaoz la..i learning old traditional way one [laugh]

take note some ingredient u put,can affect the cake taste,the hardness or softness and can "fa" anot

even sugar plays a part in the 'compactness' of the cake..

muahaha.

i always start from scratch lidat then fun [:p]

those premix one i try before.

got the instant type of taste can tell one LOL.

i make spongecake before then it turn out to be too dry for my family's liking.

so i was thinking if too dry can cheat to make it slightly moist with kahluah/baileys LOLL.

if i dont use kaluah and baileys,

i will be making ganache to fill between the layers of the cake.

and i gonna make coated strawberries pink, white and brown.

sure the cake very pretty haha.

i was also thinking that i can make a milk chocolate mousse to fill the layers of dark chocolate cake.

abit confused liao.

i only know i want to make dark chocolate cake but dint know what to put inside hahahahaa.

Dark chocolate are normally bitter....

ya lor but dont know is the dark german chocolate really as good as what my friend says..

cause he keeps raving about it. making me curious. :huh:

Just go buy a chocolate cake from Awfully Chocolate or something like that.

After that, you strip the cover etc. and put your own "branded" il0v3u-xxx or watever logo you prefer on the cover.

When he spots the Awfully Chocolate receipt, you can simply explain to him:

"See, this is like the HKS turbo-charger. Actually it was made from Garrett, but now got HKS signature, so it commands a premium. Yes, this cake may be from Awfully Chocolate originally, but I bought it (strongly emphasizing the "I"), so you jolly well eat it!!! (at this point, your cousin may have the jaw dropped expression on his face, so dat's when you shove a large slice into his throat)" [laugh][laugh][laugh]