Refrigerator conked out, please recommend.

Vroomtattat

If Sanyo lasted 12 years, my next fridge will be a Sanyo.

Anyone's F&P lasted more than 12 years?

Alamak not making anymore.

Built to last until never break down and

no repeat biz. Really bad strategy.

Edited by Jamesc

The difference is your next one is built 12 years later than that Sanyo.

My current one is MayTag. Very solid fridge.

Until today more than 10 yrs still looking good like new.

But it's slightly more expensive at that time about $1.5k

I bought an F&P fridge.... more than 7yrs ago..... i used it for about 4 years w/o any issue. Then I had to relocate. So I switch it off, wrapped it up and sent it for storage for 2 years.... then when I came back 2 yrs later, moved into a new place, got back the F&P fridge, plugged it in and the freezing unit conked off..... I could no longer get ice....

Tried to fix it but somehow it just refuses to work..... So I bought a panasonic to replace it.

My current one is MayTag. Very solid fridge.

Until today more than 10 yrs still looking good like new.

But it's slightly more expensive at that time about $1.5k

All these American/European brands of refrigerators seems very solid in their built.

MayTag . . . yea yea, heard of it. [nod]

I bought an F&P fridge.... more than 7yrs ago..... i used it for about 4 years w/o any issue. Then I had to relocate. So I switch it off, wrapped it up and sent it for storage for 2 years.... then when I came back 2 yrs later, moved into a new place, got back the F&P fridge, plugged it in and the freezing unit conked off..... I could no longer get ice....

Tried to fix it but somehow it just refuses to work..... So I bought a panasonic to replace it.

These machines seem to conk out if you pull their plugs. I guess it could be they are meant to be on 24/7?

That's a good point..... coz that's what someone said to me as well...... [laugh]

F&P is American brand? Okay, noted . . . can check out later tonight.

From NZ. Good brand but pricey.

Thought it sounded like american. If pricey can forget it, got budget constraint [sweatdrop] hee heh [:p]

1k is a gd budget.u will be spoilt for choice one lah.

try to get those with gd energy consumption ratings.

u save the earth,u save your bills,u save your pocket!esp when electricity tariffs have gone north!

1k is a gd budget.u will be spoilt for choice one lah.

try to get those with gd energy consumption ratings.

u save the earth,u save your bills,u save your pocket!esp when electricity tariffs have gone north!

Yahor . . point noted, hey thanks bro.

Got this from another forum, they were discussing about fridge and seems can get good prices for home appliances.

F&P authorized agent somemore (dunno how true?)

"Go get it from Goh Ah Bee. they are the autohorised dist. so get it cheaper.

They are the authorised dealers for F&P & Electrolux too. Price from them should be lower then elsewhere.

Goh Ah Bee

210 Hougang St 21 #01-247 Singapore 530210

Tel : 6288-8611

Fax : 6280-4603

Otherwise can check out the electrical shop across from Queensway at Alexander Village. Cant remember the name liao..

Can get Hitachi, Panasonic and Mitsubishi (Mitsubishi ones are expensive but has the highest energy savings rating)"

When you relocate fridge, you cannot plug in immediately. You need to wait for the uhmmm... "coolant" to settle first... Have to wait a few hours before you can plug in and switch on.

Otherwise, any fridge you relocate and plug in immediately will spoil...

http://moving.about.com/od/packingoversize...move_fridge.htm

Edited by Unltd

My 12 years old Sanyo fridge just "up lorry", any brand to go for/avoid and the reason?

My budget is S$1,000 and below, just a simple one will do.

Please advise. Thank you.

Mine is Mitsubishi since 1993! Still going strong and almost like new!

my last sanyo fridge also died the same way. i turned if off for 3 weeks, on again not cold. lasted 17 years.