Refrigerator conked out, please recommend.

Vroomtattat

Quite true... Just like kdk fans, damn good and lasting but in the end bought over by Panasonic if I'm not wrong...

Nowadays KDK not that lasting any more. My KDK ceiling fan spoil after 6 years.

So buy a fridge that never breaks down but company won'r sell many

and won't stay in business so no spare parts and useless warranty

or

buy a brand that always break down so they sell more and around

to honour the warranty.

Look on the bright side buy either and get the advantage.  [thumbsup]

my sharp fridge is 17yo. freezer still can freeze, chiller still can chill n if placed item to near chiller air outlet, also will freeze..

only thing is door bottle holder trim cracked; wanted to replace but local agent replied no more such part..

Can that gasket/sealer/ rubber around the fridge door be replaced with generic one (that u can buy from Q10/TB)? 

or

to honour the warranty.

Buy one that keeps breaking down also no use. After the spare runs out, after x number of years, they also stop producing obsolete parts.

Edited by Kb27

Err... My LG is at least 10 years liao, if not more, and still going strong.

Anyway, have to admit those MIJ brands are super lasting.

My previous Panasonic, or was it National, lasted more than 10+ years, and was still going strong.

Had to replace it as family size growing, and LG came into the picture.

I think depends. My LG TV up lorry after 6 years. While my in laws LG bought during same time still going strong.

Can that gasket/sealer/ rubber around the fridge door be replaced with generic one (that u can buy from Q10/TB)? 

ps bro, unable to advise u - my rubber door seal still good..

or

to honour the warranty.

i think w new economy, sure have lotsa opportunity to take such advantage, from gadgets, appliances to cars and properties..

I think depends. My LG TV up lorry after 6 years. While my in laws LG bought during same time still going strong.

My lg tv 10 years no die

From the looks of it, I think can last 30 years

Harlo, the thread is about fridge leh.

Stick to topic!

Anyway, my Samsung LCD TV 10 years still going on strong. Only change remote once.

[:p]

My lg tv 10 years no die

usually its the backlight that will fizzle out not the LCD itself

My lg tv 10 years no die

Yup agree, but technology advancement may forced us to have it changed, else cannot connect to other equipment.

That's what happens to my first gen Sharp LCD. After using it for slightly more than 10 years, I realised I cannot get any latest equipment to connect to it, as almost all are using HDMI... Then 1 fine day, it just refused to power up again...

So here comes LG, and all the other equipment.  [thumbsup]

My lg tv 10 years no die

My toshiba LCD TV 9 years old... still going strond and looking new.

I think its the way we use the tv

some ppl have the habit of putting it on standby.(lazy)  This will shorten the tv lifespan.  Always completely switch off the TV. And this should be done to all other appliances 

I don't understand

As in the image very dark?

Eventually backlight (the thing that lights up the LCD) will die and then it will just be all dark... like set your TV settings to minimum brightness... will end up like that

Or think of the old GameBoy that don't have light  :we-all-gonna-die:

My toshiba LCD TV 9 years old... still going strond and looking new.

I think its the way we use the tv

some ppl have the habit of putting it on standby.(lazy) This will shorten the tv lifespan. Always completely switch off the TV. And this should be done to all other appliances

Disagree on standby = lazy.

I put TV on standby to minimize temp fluctuation in PCB board. My Samsung TV has been going strong despite 6+ years old liso

My philosophy is to buy the most economical equipment and to change when it is spoilt.

Economical doesn't mean cheapest hor.