Optra updates

Victor68

Hi, after driving my optra for the last 5 years, (bought it in June 2005) it has not really given me any major problems.

I thought it might be worthwhile to update you guys on the performance so far and share some tips and advice.

Other than higher consumption (around 1 litre per Km with 40% city and 60% highway driving), the car holds well for me.

I like the road holding and power. Going at 140 km/hr is a breeze but usually I travel around 100 km/hr in express way. changed battery twice over the 5 years and once for the tyres. Experience these little rattling noise from the dashboard every now and then since day one. This is due to the plastic materials which I don't think can be resolved unless you wish to remove them altogether.

Last week, the engine heat up to above H and I have to tow the car to the workshop. According to the mechanic, the radiator is blocked and the thermostat faulty. After flushing and changing the faulty thermostat ($200), it looks fine to me. I was advised to change the timing belt and that will cost some $$$ To do it in Malaysia will cost ringgit $800.

This is a 5 years old car and I am quite happy with it. I am in 2 mind if I should continue and go ahead with the maintenance or change to another car. Most Jap cars are designed to last 5 years and after that, parts will start to fail and you are expected to carry out regular replacements.

I am not sure about Chev and their reliability. Any experts out there willing to share? I am thinking of changing to a conti car as they are built to last longer.

Less than 80K if I am not wrong. After my 3rd year, I don't monitor km or consumption anymore, hahaha

Ya lor, 1 litre per 10 Km lah. otherwise drinking water liow. By far, it is still my preferred car compared to my previous 2 Honda, Suzuki, Nissan, Proton and Hyundai. The feel is just a little bit different.

hi bro im new here. im driving optra magnum and so far optra has not given me any problem for the past two years. even i thought of changing cars but since my optra is still in gd shape might as well just drive it

Going into 6th years.

Mileage 150K KM.

No major problem before.

All is well except wear and tear.

Steering wheel rubber grip starting to peel.

Leather cracking.

Hi, after driving my optra for the last 5 years, (bought it in June 2005) it has not really given me any major problems.

I thought it might be worthwhile to update you guys on the performance so far and share some tips and advice.

Other than higher consumption (around 1 litre per Km with 40% city and 60% highway driving), the car holds well for me.

I like the road holding and power. Going at 140 km/hr is a breeze but usually I travel around 100 km/hr in express way. changed battery twice over the 5 years and once for the tyres. Experience these little rattling noise from the dashboard every now and then since day one. This is due to the plastic materials which I don't think can be resolved unless you wish to remove them altogether.

Last week, the engine heat up to above H and I have to tow the car to the workshop. According to the mechanic, the radiator is blocked and the thermostat faulty. After flushing and changing the faulty thermostat ($200), it looks fine to me. I was advised to change the timing belt and that will cost some $$$ To do it in Malaysia will cost ringgit $800.

This is a 5 years old car and I am quite happy with it. I am in 2 mind if I should continue and go ahead with the maintenance or change to another car. Most Jap cars are designed to last 5 years and after that, parts will start to fail and you are expected to carry out regular replacements.

I am not sure about Chev and their reliability. Any experts out there willing to share? I am thinking of changing to a conti car as they are built to last longer.

Continue driving it, then keep us updated next year, and at end of 10 years. [laugh]

hi all,

i just bought a second hand optra magnum 1.6A.

The tires is Firestone Oval wide which provide excellent in noise comfort and ride comfort ( Tirerack

Looking from review and forum, most of them saying this car is quiet and comfort.

However when i drive on the road, this car is quite noise from the tires, can hear outside noise clearly and it seem like no sound absorption at all.

What happen?

I download app to check the sound level, it provide 60db when engine start and idle, 75db while driving.

any people here got same problem?? :o

hi all,

i just bought a second hand optra magnum 1.6A.

The tires is Firestone Oval wide which provide excellent in noise comfort and ride comfort ( Tirerack

Looking from review and forum, most of them saying this car is quiet and comfort.

However when i drive on the road, this car is quite noise from the tires, can hear outside noise clearly and it seem like no sound absorption at all.

What happen?

I download app to check the sound level, it provide 60db when engine start and idle, 75db while driving.

any people here got same problem?? :o

change the tyre

wide oval is a no grip and noisy piece of s--t

Parts not easy to find, for example boss kit for aftermarket steering wheels. Standard stuffs like HU and other wear and tear servicing items no issues. I still own a 2005 March Aveo 5 and it's still running well, no problems except for door dings and dents that's about it. Not even a single bulb blew and I'm very impressed about it! Headlights changed once only I think after 3rd year. Other than that no problems. Some aftermarket stuffs need to be fabricated, for example sport seats which I recently put in. reliability is there, if you don't like to modify or change aftermarket stuffs, you are fine with the car as the basic parts are easily available from agent or stockists.

A happy owner of a 6 years old Aveo 5 :)

just change the tires and sport rim (heavy misalignment), maintenance.

Now i like my car, very quiet, smooth and power.

However, new issue pop up again, my battery go flat if i didnt drive for a day. . [smallcry]

The battery damn big compare to other car, but will change it. May i know what is the cost for change a new battery??

change the tyre

wide oval is a no grip and noisy piece of s--t

how come the website say got 8/10 mark for noise comfort??

the higher the mark the noisier??

changed, SGD130. . . but fix by mechanic.

so far i bought twice @ $100 and fix myself.

but word of advice to others; change it once you feel its getting weak ... dun be like me ... want to squeeze the batt until last drop and in the end, cause my sensors to kaput ... end up paying another $300 to fix the sensor !!

Ya lor, 1 litre per 10 Km lah. otherwise drinking water liow. By far, it is still my preferred car compared to my previous 2 Honda, Suzuki, Nissan, Proton and Hyundai. The feel is just a little bit different.

hehe. I was stunned when u said 1 liter per km!

Probably wont last u from Changi to Tuas if thats the case

so far i bought twice @ $100 and fix myself.

but word of advice to others; change it once you feel its getting weak ... dun be like me ... want to squeeze the batt until last drop and in the end, cause my sensors to kaput ... end up paying another $300 to fix the sensor !!

what sensors oh?? but the mechanic tell me that if you dont know how to change the battery, all the setting will run and you need to pay again for setting.