Fandi

Perrier

Alamak if academy accept them, got 3 want them rite?

They studies development all groom there also receive better than here

y no one tink of it n tot only if no contract next time?

Look at the chine nba draft, he from top uni n choose nba instead of working

coz got triumph card le ma..

If Fandi kid in Sg,where got such exposure?

Think far than just " no contract how?"

no BPL doesnt meams others dun wan also

Edited by Freestylers09

The tricky thing is they are still young, and very often, the Europeans kids have not fully developed and therefore the superior skills of Asians seem better than it really is. In adulthood, things may be different as the size factor comes in. Still, it's worth the risk and i hope Fandi goes ahead with it. He didn't get to do it with Ajax. It was one of his biggest regrets to this day. All i can say is if want to do football, do in Europe. Try and fail, better than not try at all. All the more so when you have the talent.

I think for Fandi, it is a thing about once bitten twice shy. He sarcificied his footballing career for Singapore and ended up neither here nor there now. He is thinking in the best interest of his kids, and correctly how should the kids have a football career when they have to serve 2 years of NS, when it is considered part of their football age.

No clubs will allow this... Ironically, I still think if NS is still a must in future for Singaporean males, then I guess they should still serve IF they are Singaporeans...

i'd say let them play in overseas club cause that helps them to develop themselves in football but recommend that they continue to represent Singapore.

For NS, they can just serve maybe 2-3 months of BMT during off-season break for clubs. The rest of NS can be treated as done when they represent Singapore in matches.

This is the best win-win solution. We don't want to lose talents to others so easily because we are inflexible.

Afterall, it's not often that other clubs are so impressed with our boys.

We have not seen someone in our local ranks who can replace Fandi, so why give our home-grown talents to other nations so easily?

And finally we can potentially have 2 world class home grown players in our team.

Better than getting 2 FTs to play for our team, isn't it?

Edited by Redboy

i'd say let them play in overseas club cause that helps them to develop themselves in football but recommend that they continue to represent Singapore.

For NS, they can just serve maybe 2-3 months of BMT during off-season break for clubs. The rest of NS can be treated as done when they represent Singapore in matches.

This is the best win-win solution. We don't want to lose talents to others so easily because we are inflexible.

Afterall, it's not often that other clubs are so impressed with our boys.

We have not seen someone in our local ranks who can replace Fandi, so why give our home-grown talents to other nations so easily?

And finally we can potentially have 2 world class home grown players in our team.

then they will be kept fit during summer break.

The tricky thing is they are still young, and very often, the Europeans kids have not fully developed and therefore the superior skills of Asians seem better than it really is. In adulthood, things may be different as the size factor comes in. Still, it's worth the risk and i hope Fandi goes ahead with it. He didn't get to do it with Ajax. It was one of his biggest regrets to this day. All i can say is if want to do football, do in Europe. Try and fail, better than not try at all. All the more so when you have the talent.

i think cesc fabregas, andre iniesta, xavi, messi, rooney, and lots of other star players are condisered midget comparing to average european adults ler.....

Nbzz lar, simi LJ dilemma they have.... its $$$$ vs national duty.... either they stay to "perform national duty" or go where the $$$ is......

They luv the country, stay... they luv $$$ more, go lor...... KNN....

When it comes to sports or the arts, naturally, to be a serious professional, no way can a person remain in singapore. There is just not enough competition and development for athletes or artists over here. There's just not enough respect or understanding. And there's no point to be 'one-eyed king' in the land of the blind, as they say.

Definitely, if his sons are as talented as it appears to be, then by all means they should seize the chances overseas. Judging by the comments written about Fandi in the newspapers recently concerning his coaching opportunity in the netherlands, it is clear that he has unusually distinguished talent, way above other footballers that this region produces. Until now there is no other like him in the local or regional leagues.

NS is a sticky issue. But we should take heart that there are also many other countries with NS and great footballers... e.g. Germany, South Korea, how do they juggle their obligations. Maybe the solution is there...

Nbzz lar, simi LJ dilemma they have.... its $$$$ vs national duty.... either they stay to "perform national duty" or go where the $$$ is......

They luv the country, stay... they luv $$$ more, go lor...... KNN....

You can luv your country all you want, but the fear is that, perhaps, it won't luv you back... and you'll find out one day, too late [rolleyes]

$$$ at least serves you well all the time...

SIZE MATTERS NOT! [laugh] ... as Yoda says in Star Wars.

Maradona is kinda short, but no one doubts his skill.

Anyway, for Asian kids who start out young, living in USA or Europe, eating their diet and experiencing their seasons and weather, also tend to grow up larger-sized. Did you notice? Even Asian students who spend a couple of years in foreign universities also end up growing a bit taller and heavier. Must be the food and weather and general living conditions (lots of walking), I guess.

That's the great Singapore Irony... [laugh] Handicap locals, then say no talented locals so have to rely on FT.

I will do it without hesitation.

When one gives up his citizenship to pursue his dream and when he really make it i.e. win the World Cup, will the country's locals label him as FT? :D:D

i think cesc fabregas, andre iniesta, xavi, messi, rooney, and lots of other star players are condisered midget comparing to average european adults ler.....

i know what you mean, but still these european boys have a lot of physical strength. Rooney is one example. anyway, i don't think that should hold back any asian kids who want to give it a shot. all i'm saying is don't expect heaven yet. Wait till they are adults before giving the final judgment. The good thing is they have Fandi to guide them along. For such young kids without guidance, it can be disastrous for them.

i wanted to start a thread on this with poll...

see who will give up citizenship for future of their sons...

me definitely... im already planning for this.

if daughters i don't mind staying in spore

but if boys.... sorry.... no thanks

anyway im planning to get pr first

me definitely... im already planning for this.

if daughters i don't mind staying in spore

but if boys.... sorry.... no thanks

anyway im planning to get pr first

well done.. you have great project management skills.... in all successful projects, there must be an exit strategy! [;)]

there's quite a number of asians doing v well ine Europe ma...

when come to sports,beside height,cannot compare in such way...

i watch Fowler Aussie team play in Sg,Tampines Rover pple not as weak in built..ur see Etoile play here?evenly ,unless skill wise..all angmos..

of coz cannot compare normal guys vs sports guy de la..

When it comes to sports or the arts, naturally, to be a serious professional, no way can a person remain in singapore. There is just not enough competition and development for athletes or artists over here. There's just not enough respect or understanding. And there's no point to be 'one-eyed king' in the land of the blind, as they say.

Definitely, if his sons are as talented as it appears to be, then by all means they should seize the chances overseas. Judging by the comments written about Fandi in the newspapers recently concerning his coaching opportunity in the netherlands, it is clear that he has unusually distinguished talent, way above other footballers that this region produces. Until now there is no other like him in the local or regional leagues.

NS is a sticky issue. But we should take heart that there are also many other countries with NS and great footballers... e.g. Germany, South Korea, how do they juggle their obligations. Maybe the solution is there...

Other countries work around it.

In Korea they have a specialised football team for army personnel (like our SAFFC lah), and footballers automatically go there (I think is called Gwangju or something). They play in their own K-League, so is their highest level.

I believe many countries give exemptions for talented citizens to go pursue their careers and not serve military service. Even Israel give exemptions, or cut short the service period.

Singapore I believe is the only country that has no provision for such exemptions. Die die also must serve.

You can luv your country all you want, but the fear is that, perhaps, it won't luv you back... and you'll find out one day, too late [rolleyes]

$$$ at least serves you well all the time...

no perhaps. its confirm.