Hungry Ghost Month ....

Typhoonz

This hungry ghost month is to burn offerings to your deceased relatives or those wondering spirits?

I was having a discussion with my wife on this last night. She say need to burn offerings to my mum and must write her name on the offerings. But i tot this hungry ghost thing is just to appease those wondering spirits.

Who is right?

man (from Freegan in Singapore) collected the fruit left by the roadside after praying and share them amongst the members. They will only do it after all the burning was done but not during.

Do you think there is anything wrong with that? i personally dun mind, rather than let it rod or cleared by the cleaner the next day, at least the food not wasted.

男子回收路边祭品 拾走200橙引热议
文/陈玉能, 魏宋淩 来自/新明日报
发布/2018年8月13日 3:27 PM

ji_bai_wu_pin_jian_lai_chi_.jpg?itok=7mm
回收论坛成员刘先生一晚上就捡了200个别人祭拜后留下的橙和苹果。(取自面簿)

18400000u_Large.jpg
农历七月期间,公众一般会在路边祭拜孤魂野鬼,并准备水果等食品。(档案照)

男子回收农历七月祭品食用,从路边捡走超过200个橙和苹果,做法引发热议。有人认为不捡也是浪费,有人则担心冒犯好兄弟。

对于公众在农历七月祭拜结束后所留下的可食用供品,回收论坛“Freegan in Singapore”近日有会员提出疑问说,是否可以捡走食用,掀起了一番讨论。会员之一的刘先生表示,自己一个晚上就拾到约200个祭拜结束后没人带走的橙和苹果,并将这些橙和其他会员分享。

《新明日报》记者联络上刘先生,他透露说从去年就开始这么做,事因认识一名菲律宾女佣说想要用来榨橙汁。

“我记得以前大家祭拜完后也都会拿这些食物回家吃,所以我认为这不会构成什么问题。”

对此,“SG Food Rescue”组织创办人郑春林(39岁)则说,这些祭品到了隔天会被清洁工拿去丢掉,与其浪费还不如捡回来自己食用。

“不过,我们绝对不能,也不会在别人还在祭拜时,或是蜡烛还没烧完时带走祭品。有些比较介意的,其实会等到这些祭品被丢到垃圾桶后才去捡回来。”

This hungry ghost month is to burn offerings to your deceased relatives or those wondering spirits?

I was having a discussion with my wife on this last night. She say need to burn offerings to my mum and must write her name on the offerings. But i tot this hungry ghost thing is just to appease those wondering spirits.

Who is right?

i think 1st day is for all the wondering spirit and 15th is for the deceased relative, we will usually do it on 1st, 15th and the last day.

Who is right?

This wan i oso know! Burn is for family member, for the wondering one is put offering near home or where you see 'them'. If wrong tell me hor......

i think 1st day is for all the wondering spirit and 15th is for the deceased relative, we will usually do it on 1st, 15th and the last day.

Noted. Thanks.

man (from Freegan in Singapore) collected the fruit left by the roadside after praying and share them amongst the members. They will only do it after all the burning was done but not during.

Do you think there is anything wrong with that? i personally dun mind, rather than let it rod or cleared by the cleaner the next day, at least the food not wasted.

I ever did that when i was mixing with bad company in my teen yrs. Bags and bags of oranges and had them for supper and breakfast. Thinking back i will certainly not do it if not for the crazy guys i was mixing with. Most ended up in jail (some for very violent offences) or drug centres.

This wan i oso know! Burn is for family member, for the wondering one is put offering near home or where you see 'them'. If wrong tell me hor......

Before i met my wife, my mum never burn any offerings. Then i marry my wife and she every year also burn offerings to those wondering spirits.

Then this year my mum just passed away so she said must burn one extra set for my mum. I tot this is to be done on Qing Ming only. Hungry ghost is for wondering spirits.

Before i met my wife, my mum never burn any offerings. Then i marry my wife and she every year also burn offerings to those wondering spirits.

Then this year my mum just passed away so she said must burn one extra set for my mum. I tot this is to be done on Qing Ming only. Hungry ghost is for wondering spirits.

This wan i dont know..i only assuming and knows its a Taoist practice. Last time during ns when my next bed died (end july 85) some of the platoon mates went down at 12 midnight during the 1st night of ghost festival to burn some incense and give offerings. They got some number and struck $40000 during the weekend. They wanted to blanja me but i refused since i didnt have a share in the initial pool.

guys, a colleague asked me... last night he went jogging around his neighbourhood and said his normal running route was empty. He said the few people about seemed startled to to see him and some even backed away. He was wearing a bright red running vest. Anything to do with 7th month, or just that he stinks [laugh] ? (He is angmo and may have BO issues .. )

This reminded me of a post I read on FB recently.

Not the exact words but something along that line.

I was 7-11 buying a drink after my run at 11+. Was damn hot and sweaty and my face was flushed. Then I realized I didn't have enough money.

So I called my son to bring the money down. While waiting, I saw a auntie burning offerings. I went to her and said: "auntie, so late Liao ah.. still burning offerings?"

She said "ya I'm sending money to my family. You leh? So late still not home?"

I said "ya I'm waiting for my family to send money to me"

She looked at me, turned pale and ran away immediately without saying anything.

Lol.. That's a good one! 

This reminded me of a post I read on FB recently.

Not the exact words but something along that line.

I was 7-11 buying a drink after my run at 11+. Was damn hot and sweaty and my face was flushed. Then I realized I didn't have enough money.

So I called my son to bring the money down. While waiting, I saw a auntie burning offerings. I went to her and said: "auntie, so late Liao ah.. still burning offerings?"

She said "ya I'm sending money to my family. You leh? So late still not home?"

I said "ya I'm waiting for my family to send money to me"

She looked at me, turned pale and ran away immediately without saying anything.

I ever did that when i was mixing with bad company in my teen yrs. Bags and bags of oranges and had them for supper and breakfast. Thinking back i will certainly not do it if not for the crazy guys i was mixing with. Most ended up in jail (some for very violent offences) or drug centres.

dont bluff lah

you angel type pretending to be bad boy

dont bluff lah

you angel type pretending to be bad boy

hahaha......young time bro...can do whatever. But luckily my late father very fierce.....he doesnt like me mixing around with the few groups. Even those he doesnt mind me hang out with had drug and drinking problem.....but of course he doesnt know. AMK ave 10 guys quite well-known. Till now some of them still kaysiao.....got 1 time they came over my flat and 2 of them were 'high'. That was the last time i brought them over. If my late father was not strict i would have ended like most of them.

can i ask 

do you treat your own son like the way your father treated you (put you in a straight-jacket)

I think nowadays cannot, new generation

can i ask

do you treat your own son like the way your father treated you (put you in a straight-jacket)

I think nowadays cannot, new generation

nope. Last time i was very close to my son. Play soccer, badminton, watch movies, playstation.....we had a good time as father and son. I even told him to mix around more with his friends. He dont mix with the neighbourhood kids.....he only have 4 friends from the neighbourhood and prefers to be at home.

My late father......different method.........i kana till the day i was enlisted into ns. Thats why i seldom go back during ns and being in a combat unit gave me a lot of excuses not to go home. Even my BIL was surprised that i know some of his 'hardcore' friends.....they call me 'blood'.

nope. Last time i was very close to my son. Play soccer, badminton, watch movies, playstation.....we had a good time as father and son. I even told him to mix around more with his friends. He dont mix with the neighbourhood kids.....he only have 4 friends from the neighbourhood and prefers to be at home.

My late father......different method.........i kana till the day i was enlisted into ns. Thats why i seldom go back during ns and being in a combat unit gave me a lot of excuses not to go home. Even my BIL was surprised that i know some of his 'hardcore' friends.....they call me 'blood'.

i get this feeling that your son is now closer to his mum than you (I think this is quite natural - at least my friends tell me)

are you going to leave everything (including your expired Viagra) for him when Radx revoke your passport 

i found out why .... you

spend too much time MCF