Drive Trip to Hua Hin - Gauging Interest

Dwoon

Gauging interest in folks interested in doing a drive trip to Hua Hin.

It'll proabably be a week long trip (8 day utilising weekends at each end. Why not 9 days.....1 day for rest lah).

Why 8 days..... 1.5 days drive up, 1.5 days drive back. You'll essentially be spending 5 nights there. The 2 missing nights are either in Penang or Hatyai for the stop-over. (no I'm not young enough to do a direct drive for those who prefer so)

All costs on your own. All arrangements for lodgings on your own too (can recommend you booking sites like asiawebdirect, etc if you need info). Costs of lodgings aside...... estimated expenditure for the trip is like SGD1800 for a couple. (includes petrol, tolls, insurances, food and sight-seeing). This is only an estimate... you can do your sums should you prefer 5 star dining for every meal, buy loads of stuff, etc. Cost for tolls , petrol & insurance is ~ SGD900 for me. (my car is thirsty)

Anyone interested?

Wah lau eh..... ask this type of question...... [:/]

For me, its sight see, relax, bum around with my family.....

It's free & easy for anyone that goes. As mentioned, participants do their own arrangement and their own things (all costs bourne by themselves as I don't collect any monies)...... unless anyone wants to link up for some activities there can do so based on individual arrangements.

But by & large, this is a flexible "do as you wish" drive trip. Main idea is to dirve there and back together. This is definitely not a "paid" program where I will cater and make all lodging to activitiy arrangements.

Anyone can join up mid way or leave early, or even meet up at the stop-overs (of course when the schedules are firmed)

bro wat do you plan to do in hua hin ????

Gauging interest in folks interested in doing a drive trip to Hua Hin.

It'll proabably be a week long trip (8 day utilising weekends at each end. Why not 9 days.....1 day for rest lah).

Why 8 days..... 1.5 days drive up, 1.5 days drive back. You'll essentially be spending 5 nights there. The 2 missing nights are either in Penang or Hatyai for the stop-over. (no I'm not young enough to do a direct drive for those who prefer so)

All costs on your own. All arrangements for lodgings on your own too (can recommend you booking sites like asiawebdirect, etc if you need info). Costs of lodgings aside...... estimated expenditure for the trip is like SGD1800 for a couple. (includes petrol, tolls, insurances, food and sight-seeing). This is only an estimate... you can do your sums should you prefer 5 star dining for every meal, buy loads of stuff, etc. Cost for tolls , petrol & insurance is ~ SGD900 for me. (my car is thirsty)

Anyone interested?

Pardon my ignorance, why is the place? What minimum/maximum convoy size do you anticipate?

Are you sure it's gonna take only 1.5 days to drive there?

I spent some years of my childhood in Thailand. Some of my close relatives live there. Therefore, I visit Bangkok several times a year. From my experience, the highway in southern Thailand isn't as wide and smooth as Malaysia's NSH. Forget about speeding over there. Too many big lorries. Plus, Hua Hin is like only 2 hrs away from Bangkok.

It took me 2 full days (8 - 10 hours of driving per day) to drive from Singapore to Bangkok last year.

To be realistic, I think you will need at least 2 days to drive in a convoy from Singapore to Hua Hin.

Any date in mind? my driving kakis (3 to 5 cars) are keen.

We have driven to samui and phuket

If firm we can meet and discuss

I've not firmed up any dates at the moment as my work schedules are very tight nowadays.

As my kid is into primary school next year, it limits my trips to the school holidays.

Perhaps the 1 week march school holidays? Any earlier would be in December, during the last weeks of the year. But I'm not sure if I can take that much leave.

Wow... 3 to 5 cars..... and with cross border driving experience as well..... should be a breeze to go up together. I have not done Phuket as the airfares are just too cheap. I did Samui 2 CNYs ago. Think my thread is buried somewhere in the forum. Did it on my own as nobody wanted to join. [rolleyes]

Let's keep this thread open..... but since you already have 3 to 5 cars interested..... errrr.... perhaps you should be the one asking whether anyone wants to join your khakis. [:p] Perhaps you have some dates in mind??? Then I see whether I can join...... majority wins mah. :D

Any date in mind? my driving kakis (3 to 5 cars) are keen.

We have driven to samui and phuket

If firm we can meet and discuss

You mgiht be right. Perhaps 2 days is more accurate.

But my last trip to Samui, I did my stop-over in Penang. I reached Penang at ~1pm which left alot of time for rest. But if the stopover is done in Hatyai..... I think can reach by 7- 8 pm bah. Then the next half day can reach Hua Hin.

On my Samui trip, I left Penang at 4:30am and reached the port of Donsak at 2pm. The wait for the ferry & ferry crossing took like 3 hours.

I figure that if the stopover is at Hatyai, then leaving at say 6am...... can reach Hua Hin around 3pm. The route calculated thru' mapsource is 750km from Hatyai. Maybe 9 hours of driving if fast. Just in time when hotels allow check in. Going from Hatyai also avoids the BKH border jams that might happen.

Actually, the roads in Southern Thailand though narrow, is still good enough to speed. I went as fast at 200km/h at certain stretches.... but in general, I would say average speed was like 140 - 150km/h. There were some big lorries.... but they didn't pose any problems as most of the highway were at least 2 lanes, and the lorries stick to the left allowing others to overtake.

Now major concern is whether our local car insurance covers upto Hua Hin. The mandatory 3rd party Thai 9 days coverage is only as it says..... 3rd party.

Another concern is whether I can find at least 95RON Benzene along the way. 95Gasohol doesn't go too well with my car. I wouldn't want to lug along 20 ltrs of toluene again after my Samui experience. (smell until high and not good for the family)

Are you sure it's gonna take only 1.5 days to drive there?

I spent some years of my childhood in Thailand. Some of my close relatives live there. Therefore, I visit Bangkok several times a year. From my experience, the highway in southern Thailand isn't as wide and smooth as Malaysia's NSH. Forget about speeding over there. Too many big lorries. Plus, Hua Hin is like only 2 hrs away from Bangkok.

It took me 2 full days (8 - 10 hours of driving per day) to drive from Singapore to Bangkok last year.

To be realistic, I think you will need at least 2 days to drive in a convoy from Singapore to Hua Hin.

Edited by Dwoon

love hua him, quiet and very local, nothing much to do, relax rest relax again, Cha Am also cool place, go sea side, order seafood, sit beach chair, enjoy!

School hoilday is good as 2 of my kakis have got school going kids too and the rest are like you, constrain by leave available.

ok, let work on what you have mention, Dec or March.

nevermind about who lead, lets do it together for the fun of driving exploration and pool our expertise together and try made this happen.

will be having kopi session with my kakis tomorro and will talk about this and will keep you posted.

It's not a matter of small or large car.... the more important question is whether you have a properly maintained car. One has to ensure that the car is worthy of the long drive. eg. brake pads have plenty of life, same as tyres, all oils are topped up, fresh oils if possible, fresh filters & plugs if possible, no leaks or pending repairs.

Even most small cars nowadays can comfortably do 130 to 150km/h. (well maybe abit stressed for the below 1 ltr cars but I think still do-able if you've seen those malaysian ones zipping along the NSHWY)

The 1st leg from Singapore to Hatyai or Penang will follow maybe 110km/h upwards..... the faster one goes, the sonner to reach destination. Else the only time to catch up is during the rest stops..... those faster going ones can take longer breaks.

But if you're used to long drives or know your way to get to the 1st leg destination, then all can meet there (or maybe not necessary). Besides, not eveyone will be staying at the same stop-over place (different needs & budget?)........ so still need to rendevous before heading off on the 2nd leg.

Same thing for 2nd leg. But best to stick together as it'll be in Thailand. If average 100km/h in Thailand, then it'll take about 9 hours (inclusive of rest times) to get from Hatyai to Hua Hin.

Some basic questions for you.

- Are you used to long distance driving?

- Do you have backup driver?

- Can your family take the flat butt torture?

- For your small car, how many are going? (would it be squeezed and uncomfortable for passengers?)

- What's your fastest comfortable speed?

I thought i liked the challenge..I'd better do it while I still can drive big distances.

Big car or small car may not matter as much as whether the participating drivers are of equivalent abilities who are able to maintain appropriate cruising speeds, able to overtake where necessary, able to take long distances. Else it may become a series of frustrating waits, flared tempers, time overruns and unneccesary exposure to danger.

What thirsty car do you intend to take on this trip?

Cheers!

I only have one car [:(] (Not that I have a choice here)....... a beat up but trusty Forester 2.0XT which has seen me through the most of malaysia and upto Samui.

As its more of a join/leave as you wish arrangement....... I don't think there'll be much frustration on waiting and such. (Not like a paid commercial drive holiday run by say AA, footworks, etc where itinery is fixed and the organisers have an obligation to ensure everyone is there before driving off.... hey, they get paid to do so). Nobody collects any $$$, nobody earns a thing and certainly nobody is obligated to ensure punctuality of people here.

We can lay down ground rules like 10/15 mins grace...... after which we'll take it that those not present will make the next rest stop or meetup at the end of the leg. I would expect the same treatment for myself should I be late at any rendevous point. (Unless there's some major issue like car breakdown, etc... then either all wait for workshop vehicle to come recover, or some can go on their way first) But I don't expect anyone's holiday to be disrupted/ruined by such...... minimum courtesy is extended, like waiting for tow truck from reputable w/s to arrive, then we'll carry on with the trip.

That's why I emphasize to ensure the car is in proper running condition before setting off. For those inconsiderate participants who think that the world owes them but they themselves are not familiar enough to go their own (yes, I've seen ugly people like these who'll make alot of noise, place ultimatums, etc) ........ then they can be prepared to do your own thing and be left behind. No sympathies & apologies is expected nor given.

What I intend to do is :-

- Plan out the route

- Plan out the schedule or expected timing

- Determine rest stops

- Share my stop-over location (some might choose to stay elsewhere or even prefer to stop-over in a separate town/country)

- Rendevous for 2nd leg.

- Determine rest stops of 2nd leg

Return trip..... in reverse order..

When at Hua Hin, groups would automatically form for the like minded in various activities. For me.... its no pubs/clubs as I've a 7yo kid with me.

With the schedules and expected times, each is free to join in or leave at any point.

For eg. Someone who only wants to go as far as Penang, Hatyai, Phuket, Samui, etc can tag along and depart when they reach their desired destination to detour. For that matter, perhaps someone is already on holiday in Penang or perhaps even elsewhere like Cameron, they can meet up at the 1st leg stop-over rendevous to head up, maybe even a particular rest stop to link up...... likewise coming back..... no fixed rules. If we see you, we see you...... then we say hello, and we carry on.... until its bye... catch you elsewhere or some other time.

Having said all these...... its more suited for the seasoned long distance & experienced driver. Not so suitable for those who are not independent (unless they stick very closely to someone's butt [:p], stay at the same lodgings and choose to do the same things as that participant [rolleyes] )

If the conditions are met..... then size of convoy (if you can even call it that) is not a concern and largely variable in size at any one time..... also nobody is required to babysit. There'll be no "scouts" or "sweepers" or whatever you call them...... flexible and with no hang-ups. :D

Ok.... have I put everbody off by now? [:p]:D

Oh... if you have GPS, it'll make wonders and the rest stops or waypoints can be stored and everyone can be aligned to the locations.

You mgiht be right. Perhaps 2 days is more accurate.

But my last trip to Samui, I did my stop-over in Penang. I reached Penang at ~1pm which left alot of time for rest. But if the stopover is done in Hatyai..... I think can reach by 7- 8 pm bah. Then the next half day can reach Hua Hin.

On my Samui trip, I left Penang at 4:30am and reached the port of Donsak at 2pm. The wait for the ferry & ferry crossing took like 3 hours.

I figure that if the stopover is at Hatyai, then leaving at say 6am...... can reach Hua Hin around 3pm. The route calculated thru' mapsource is 750km from Hatyai. Maybe 9 hours of driving if fast. Just in time when hotels allow check in. Going from Hatyai also avoids the BKH border jams that might happen.

Actually, the roads in Southern Thailand though narrow, is still good enough to speed. I went as fast at 200km/h at certain stretches.... but in general, I would say average speed was like 140 - 150km/h. There were some big lorries.... but they didn't pose any problems as most of the highway were at least 2 lanes, and the lorries stick to the left allowing others to overtake.

Now major concern is whether our local car insurance covers upto Hua Hin. The mandatory 3rd party Thai 9 days coverage is only as it says..... 3rd party.

Another concern is whether I can find at least 95RON Benzene along the way. 95Gasohol doesn't go too well with my car. I wouldn't want to lug along 20 ltrs of toluene again after my Samui experience. (smell until high and not good for the family)

I don't know if this answers your concern but when I drive to Hua Hin earlier this year, PTT offers 2 types of 95. One is 95Gasohol which is the cheaper one, the other I'm not sure. Maybe it could be the Benzene you are talking about.

Edited by Dh6211