Marathons in Singapore

Ah_roy81

now always got ppl die in marathon :(

I dont think this is right to say, like that you can say the same about SAF???  Accidents and Incidents do/can happen anywhere, even in your own shower too. 

I'm no doc ..... but if you are into serious running for health or fitness ... get basic or primary health check up at polyclinic (quite cheap like less than $30) for cholesterol / sugar ... etc ... just tell the doc your concern and try to just say got pain here and there on chest sometimes and he will ask you to go to National Heart Centre and do threadmill stress test which is quite comprehensive and also inject dyes and scan you . Will cost about $400

Running got no rules ... infacr my Ortho say don't warm up too much just casually walk or jog and just listen to your body - no heavy breathing ... you will comfortably auto warm up and at optimal level. That's the problem with the young runners vs old cocks.... after they do like 10-15km like Usain Bolt - all hit the wall with cramps and stomach pains and can hardly walk ... just like the story of the rabbit and tortoise

yea.. fully agree... and.. for those ''heroes'' who think you can do ½ mara.. worse still.. the full marathon without any regular training?? pls dont...

I wanna say something. Not evidence based but from observations and maybe the doctors here can debunk or endorse.

How should you run?

1) start slow to warm up

2) run fast as your fitress allow

3) slow and stop when you tire.

How do many marathoners run?

1) 2) and 3) with

4) a sudden burst of speed at the finish line. Maybe like what a forumer say, adrenaline rush or for pride and glory.

And 5). Because they used up all the energy running across the finish line after crossing they stop abruptly and the sudden change might also cause the cardiac arrest.

If you have been walking or slow jogging the last 10km the sudden burst of speed can trigger a cardiac arrest because your heart has already slowed and it is tired from the exertion from the earlier distance. Your body can take it that's y you can sprint but your heart cannot and then it goes into cardiac arrest.

Cos I observed that heat stroke can occur anywhere during the race but this cardiac arrests tend to occur near the finish lines and the victims are usually young and fit. Hence my theory that the sudden burst of speed might be the cause.

Cos fat people like me will just walk across the finish line hahahahaha

That's why it is important to follow a certain training program.  Training program includes interval that will strengthen our heart during sudden burst.

yea.. fully agree... and.. for those ''heroes'' who think you can do ½ mara.. worse still.. the full marathon without any regular training?? pls dont...

I haven't run close to a month now.  Juz did HM on Sunday with finishing time of 2:51

I wanna say something. Not evidence based but from observations and maybe the doctors here can debunk or endorse.

How should you run?

1) start slow to warm up

1) 2) and 3) with

4) a sudden burst of speed at the finish line. Maybe like what a forumer say, adrenaline rush or for pride and glory.

And 5). Because they used up all the energy running across the finish line after crossing they stop abruptly and the sudden change might also cause the cardiac arrest.

If you have been walking or slow jogging the last 10km the sudden burst of speed can trigger a cardiac arrest because your heart has already slowed and it is tired from the exertion from the earlier distance. Your body can take it that's y you can sprint but your heart cannot and then it goes into cardiac arrest.

Cos I observed that heat stroke can occur anywhere during the race but this cardiac arrests tend to occur near the finish lines and the victims are usually young and fit. Hence my theory that the sudden burst of speed might be the cause.

To train long distance (i.e. half marathon and above) is a combination of a) mileage training, b) interval training, c) core training,  d) pacing e) flexibility training and f) rest

I do mileage including hilly/slope and trail runs - but don't do much interval training already, because feel that the sudden sprints are pretty bad for ankles and knees.

Usually if can do a long distance of 30 km continuous running - should be fine to complete a marathon. No beautiful timing but can finish it comfortably with no sitting down mid-way [laugh]

Core is absolutely important - I saw couple of stanchart marathon runners rubbing tiger balm cream on their lower backs because their core muscles cannot take it.

If want to run shirtless like I do sometimes, then should also take the time to do a lot of core and upper body training like bench press, dumbbell curls, etc. [laugh]

I dont think this is right to say, like that you can say the same about SAF???  Accidents and Incidents do/can happen anywhere, even in your own shower too. 

It's all quite arguable.

No.1 : Are sudden deaths becoming more frequent nowadays?

No. 2 : Or due to proliferation of social media, more of such cases are reported nowadays?

I have a hunch it's No. 1, and more affecting younger age these days.

Maybe due to modern lifestyle, or the unknown stuff in our processed food - you see the younger generation getting taller and bigger these days ... wonder what's the long-term effect and is it due to the antibiotics/hormones in the food?

To train long distance (i.e. half marathon and above) is a combination of a) mileage training, b) interval training, c) core training, d) pacing e) flexibility training and f) rest

It's all of the above mentioned plus finally it's a mind over body thing , both of them have to work in perfect unison for steady cruise

I do mileage including hilly/slope and trail runs - but don't do much interval training already, because feel that the sudden sprints are pretty bad for ankles and knees.

Usually if can do a long distance of 30 km continuous running - should be fine to complete a marathon. No beautiful timing but can finish it comfortably with no sitting down mid-way [laugh]

Core is absolutely important - I saw couple of stanchart marathon runners rubbing tiger balm cream on their lower backs because their core muscles cannot take it.

If want to run shirtless like I do sometimes, then should also take the time to do a lot of core and upper body training like bench press, dumbbell curls, etc. [laugh]

I don't apply any muscle rub , in fact very minimal towards the 35km mark . It somehow hurts my sensitive eyes , in fact I go to the isotonic counter and ask for ice .... it really numbs my pain and I put a few pieces of ice cubes inside the flexible bandana and really cools my head too - gives me a cooler feeling

How should you run?

1) start slow to warm up

1) 2) and 3) with

My observation for Singapore race is this last km to finish death are usually the shorter distance. I have seen this in 5km, 10km and 21km race. 42km rarely, but there is one race, but tye runner collapse around the 11km mark.

From my experience, running 42km, the reason I don't get good timing is different from 21km and below. 42km us usually fatigue and muscles cramp, which makes it impossible to give the last power burst. I hobble to finish line.

While 21km and below, there is much fatigue or cramp, still can burst and hence the risk of the heart just stopped.

My observation for Singapore race is this last km to finish death are usually the shorter distance. I have seen this in 5km, 10km and 21km race. 42km rarely, but there is one race, but tye runner collapse around the 11km mark.

From my experience, running 42km, the reason I don't get good timing is different from 21km and below. 42km us usually fatigue and muscles cramp, which makes it impossible to give the last power burst. I hobble to finish line.

While 21km and below, there is much fatigue or cramp, still can burst and hence the risk of the heart just stopped.

Agreed 21km - I get more injuries and more tired somehow  as the speeds are higher and I get very bad heel pain the next day immediately in the morning as the pounding is heavier and so are the stretches;     Compared to that, the  42km is less injurious to my plantar fascitis as the strides are smaller and more controlled as we gotta long way to go still    

Maybe you are running positive split.

I always do negative split.  Usually i still have energy to do 200m sprint for photo finish.

Maybe you are running positive split.

I always do negative split.  Usually i still have energy to do 200m sprint for photo finish.

Ideally you should use your energy evenly throughout the race. Run at a optimal speed which your body will know u could sustain this speed throughout the distance u r running. And toward the finish line you know you have give all your energy burst and in the mean time not over exert it. Thats the way to get good timing. It is an art/skills to master and know your body capabilities.

Another death at the HK marathon. Same pattern observed. 10km, near finishing line. 

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/sport/athletics-woman-dies-after-hong-kong-marathon-collapse/3515558.html

HONG KONG: A 52-year-old woman runner who took part in the Hong Kong marathon died Monday (Feb 13), a day after collapsing on the finish line of the 10-kilometre race.

The amateur athlete had been in a critical condition after the event Sunday, which saw 74,000 competitors pound the streets.

Hospital authorities said Monday the woman had died after she became unconscious and was taken into intensive care, but gave no further details.

She had participated in the race with her husband, who accompanied her to hospital, local television reported.

Sunday's marathon took place under blue skies but pollution levels were deemed "unhealthy for sensitive groups" with the Air Quality Index at 126.

Of the runners who took part, 11 were taken to hospital on Sunday, including the woman who died.

Two of them were also in a serious condition, according to local media. Authorities Monday said six people were still in hospital and all were stable.

Ethiopia's Bizuneh Melaku Belachew smashed his personal best to win the main 42km race in a new course record of two hours, 10 minutes and 31 seconds.

Ethiopia also claimed first place in the women's race, with Gulume Tollesa Chala crossing the line in 2:33:39

Doubt so if one can collapse due to pollution - its this short runs (10km as mentioned) where people 'chiong' or sprint hitting often the anaerobic levels whereas the longer ones of 42km are more slow n steady ones and seasoned ones and have conditoned themselves ; anyway let's wait for the coroners report; RIP to her in this unfortunate mishap

As in all sports one has to do the necessary stress tests...etc... especially after 40 or depending on family history of cardiac or other issues

Just go polyclinic and do basic tests and if unsure ask doc to refer to NHC or other specialists

Anybody doing the Sundown Marathons this weekend??

KNN the organisation damn teruk one..... kenna wait almost over like 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours just to collect race pack

Today is second day of race pack collection & I was told it was bad yesterday

They print the tag on the spot some more and got glitches unlike StanChart which gives pre-printed.

Anybody doing the Sundown Marathons this weekend??

KNN the organisation damn teruk one..... kenna wait almost over like 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours just to collect race pack

Today is second day of race pack collection & I was told it was bad yesterday

They print the tag on the spot some more and got glitches unlike StanChart which gives pre-printed.

u can read their facebook page, kena left right upside down

Yeap ... read about it only after you mentioned ...wow!! Pretty bad leh !! Was not so bad last year .... hope they learn from their mistake this year as I like running this one more than StanChart cos I feel less stress at night compared to StanChart early morning at 5 am