Converting 10% of PRs to citizens "not a target"

Vulcann

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1079916/1/.html

Converting 10% of PRs to citizens "not a target": SM Goh's press secretary

By Joanne Chan | Posted: 08 September 2010 1912 hrs

post-5981-1283960822_thumb.jpg

SINGAPORE: The press secretary to Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has said that the figure mentioned by Mr Goh about Permanent Residents who will be asked to take up citizenship, was only for "illustrative purposes".

Mr Ho Tong Yen was replying to queries following Mr Goh's comments at a dialogue session at Marine Parade on Monday.

Mr Goh was reported as saying that the government might approach ten percent of PRs in Singapore to take up citizenship and if they did not do so, their PR status would not be renewed.

Mr Ho said that the Senior Minister was making a general observation to illustrate the point that the government would be managing the inflow of PRs and that some would be encouraged to become citizens.

The figure of ten percent which Mr Goh gave was "not a target", and it is also not the case that all PRs who turn down the offer of Singapore citizenship would not have their PR status renewed, said Mr Ho.

The government will continue to review and refine its policies to ensure that those who have PR status are an asset to Singapore's society and that those who are given citizenship are, in addition, assessed to be committed in their allegiance to Singapore, added Mr Ho.

- CNA/ir

The target is to convert 100% of these trash, and the 10% is used as a guideline in case it fails miserably. Exit strategy.

When these trashs are converted, less reasons for us to complain that foreigners are snatching our rice bowls. And also to widen their support base in the next erection.

The word to differentiate ourselves is to label us as native singaporeans of local origin.

The target is to convert 100% of these trash, and the 10% is used as a guideline in case it fails miserably. Exit strategy.

When these trashs are converted, less reasons for us to complain that foreigners are snatching our rice bowls. And also to widen their support base in the next erection.

The word to differentiate ourselves is to label us as native singaporeans of local origin.

Please ...do have some respect for fellow humans. . Don't call others trash la...

Let's see if dey live up to their word. If dey mean it, dey wud implement it b4 election. If not, it's just a smoke screen.

Actually dis job of monitoring d foreigners was handed to ah lau's adopted son leh, dunno why he open his big mouth on this matter.

What makes you think you are better than those labelled by you? If you are not then your value to the society is lower than trash.

Ok,lets hear from the horse mouth...

I'm a pr and if I'm asked to convert, I will since my wife and son are singaporean, so, I'm not going anywhere...

Field report from my office:

Quite a few ah tiong curse and swear when they heard this news.. They swear that they won't convert and would just leave..

Some shows interest to convert as well, not all are quiter...

Heard one of my colleague said his friend renewing pr(malaysian), offered the citizenship and if don't want, no renewal of pr. If have hdb flat , sell back to hdb(mind you, when sell back to hdb, mean no cov)...

Anyway, give them sometime to settle down on what they actually want... Force or "invite"....hehehe

I'm a pr and if I'm asked to convert, I will since my wife and son are singaporean, so, I'm not going anywhere...

Quite a few ah tiong curse and swear when they heard this news.. They swear that they won't convert and would just leave..

Heard one of my colleague said his friend renewing pr(malaysian), offered the citizenship and if don't want, no renewal of pr. If have hdb flat , sell back to hdb(mind you, when sell back to hdb, mean no cov)...

Anyway, give them sometime to settle down on what they actually want... Force or "invite"....hehehe

PR not considered quiter lah. Gahmen called locals quiters for migrating. But dey had to stop when dey realized their own kids were quiters.

I am pretty sure they won't revoke those PRs who doesn't want to convert to Sporeans . Goh didn't think deep before he said that. No wonder his press secretary has to retract his statement.

The reason is simple. Obviously it is only the top talents and contributors that are asked to convert. And if their PR are not renewed if they doesn't convert, then Spore is basically draining away the top foreign talents. Because without the PR status, these guys would leave. This contradict with the reason why they accept PR in the first place.

So tell your ah tiong friends, don't worry la. Anyway if they are not the top talents, they won't be asked to convert anyway.

Some thoughts from this horse's mouth

1. It is quitter (not quiter)

2. What is "renew PR"? I didn't know PR status had to be renewed. Your re-entry permit yes, but that is different. So is it that your PR will be revoked or that you Re-Entry Permit won't be renewed? Different things you knows :o

3. How does the government decide which PR are offered citizenship? What are the determining factors, are there guidelines and so forth? If so, will they ever be released into the public arena?

4. After the invite, what goes into the decision on whether or not to revoke / not renew the permanent residency? This is also an important determinant.

5. If someone really does have their PR status revoked, as already mentioned, what is the timeline for disposal of assets and wind up of personal affairs?

6. Finally, I am also a PR, for me to take up citizenship it will be a positive decision, it won't ever be done under the threat of losing my PR status. My wife and both children are Singapore citizens.

why u so scared of losing ur ricebowl to 'trash'? becoz u are lower than that?

2. What is "renew PR"? I didn't know PR status had to be renewed. Your re-entry permit yes, but that is different. So is it that your PR will be revoked or that you Re-Entry Permit won't be renewed? Different things you knows :o

3. How does the government decide which PR are offered citizenship? What are the determining factors, are there guidelines and so forth? If so, will they ever be released into the public arena?

4. After the invite, what goes into the decision on whether or not to revoke / not renew the permanent residency? This is also an important determinant.

5. If someone really does have their PR status revoked, as already mentioned, what is the timeline for disposal of assets and wind up of personal affairs?

6. Finally, I am also a PR, for me to take up citizenship it will be a positive decision, it won't ever be done under the threat of losing my PR status. My wife and both children are Singapore citizens.

looks like you have not been here long enough... yes PR has to be renewed....

Not to worry lah. Here d leaders all talk no action.

Basically, i think it's time for SG to evaluate the quality of the FT we have attracted. For the past yrs, we have been taking in lots of PRs, thus have built the quantity but not really the quality. Worse of all, a percentage of those Ah Tiongs or Ah Nehs are not appreciative at all. They place themselves above the locals, thinking that they are the elites. Well, if they are really precious stones to their own countries, they need not leave the country to look for greener pasture. One of the Ah Tiong told me himself, most of those who came to SG is bcos they can't compete in their own country. No doubt, there are really lots of genius in the Ah Tiong land.

abt 10 years back, heard from my Malaysian fren (SPR) that they will offer u 3 times. If not taken, PR will not be renewed.

But, long time never hear this until now. Guess, they were trying to retain "talents".

Very serioulsy, when hor? I have had mine (PR) for 10 years already, have renewed my rentry permit twice, but not my PR...

"A valid Re-Entry Permit (REP) is necessary whenever a Singapore permanent resident (SPR) wishes to travel out of Singapore. It will enable you, as an SPR, to retain your PR status while you are away. A SPR who leaves Singapore or remains abroad without a valid REP will lose his SPR status."

PR doesn't have to be renewed if the person don't leave SG... So technically, they are not renewing PR-ship.

"A valid Re-Entry Permit (REP) is necessary whenever a Singapore permanent resident (SPR) wishes to travel out of Singapore. It will enable you, as an SPR, to retain your PR status while you are away. A SPR who leaves Singapore or remains abroad without a valid REP will lose his SPR status."

PR doesn't have to be renewed if the person don't leave SG... So technically, they are not renewing PR-ship.

Thanks, this has always been my understanding..

So although its a fine distinction, its important to note. I just did a quick search through the ICA website to reconfirm, there is no mention there of renewing PR, but the Re Entry Permit there is, and this must be done every five years...