Disciplining children or child abuse?

Ahtong

long long ago - this is call disciplining your child. Nowadays - this is call child abuse

Sound like normal people see nude call watching porn but multi millionaire or billionaire see nude is call art!

very true bro.  Many of them, even after they do break out, revert to old ways.  Indeed, do they want to help themselves first!

It's a big predicament. Given that these people are likely to be uneducated, unskilled and in a way not so valuable, to begin with; i wonder whether the State will feel that they are still useful human resource and invest in rehabilitating them when they are inside. Even better still, give them the education/knowledge/skills and importantly, constant support during and after to give them hope of turning their lives around...

It will costs a lot of investments to do so, obviously, and will need a lot of people and effort to even have any chance of success. So not sure whether our govt will try so hard on this. For that matter, any govt in the world too.

In a way, those of them likely did not have much determination to get themselves onto the right direction in life from young. Even with very good support, as above, it may or may not be enough to convince them to give themselves another chance. There is only so much the society can do to help them. Ultimately it's up to them to help themselves...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/couple-who-tortured-2/2930842.html

Sentenced to eleven and ten years respectively. Horrific child abuse.

Pity the father. The mother really is.......

Really terrible humans these 2...

read they have other children too, not sure from earlier marriages or this. I suspect this is not the end of sad and pitiful family story...

It's a big predicament. Given that these people are likely to be uneducated, unskilled and in a way not so valuable, to begin with; i wonder whether the State will feel that they are still useful human resource and invest in rehabilitating them when they are inside. Even better still, give them the education/knowledge/skills and importantly, constant support during and after to give them hope of turning their lives around...

It will costs a lot of investments to do so, obviously, and will need a lot of people and effort to even have any chance of success. So not sure whether our govt will try so hard on this. For that matter, any govt in the world too.

In a way, those of them likely did not have much determination to get themselves onto the right direction in life from young. Even with very good support, as above, it may or may not be enough to convince them to give themselves another chance. There is only so much the society can do to help them. Ultimately it's up to them to help themselves...

Really terrible humans these 2...

read they have other children too, not sure from earlier marriages or this. I suspect this is not the end of sad and pitiful family story...

by the time she come out, she should be menopausal liao. Thankfully, won't be inflicting this on any other children  [hur]

by the time she come out, she should be menopausal liao. Thankfully, won't be inflicting this on any other children [hur]

Yes, but in the meantime what's going to happen to the children, is the potential problem. Hope I'm wrong, but I worry the children's lives might be not so good too lor...

Yes there are a lot of families in chaos, even in Singapore. I think there is already a lot of financial support and help for them, the problem is whether they want to help themselves break out of the poverty cycle. And sometimes giving a lot of help, especially monetary help, does more harm to them than good, because they then do not see the need to learn or work, when they just need to stretch out their palm or open their mouth and ask for help. This is human nature. 

When these families with unstable conditions have kids (and they usually have quite a number), problems get multiplied because these kids most probably pick up the mindset/habits/values from the adults in their lives and they will live the same way

I learnt about a case whereby 17 people, including 14 kids, squeeze in a 1-room rental flat headed by an elderly couple. The elderly couple's daughters gave birth to many kids (unwed/with different men), and throw the kids to the elders to take care while they continue enjoying their messy lives. The flat become a 24 hr childcare centre and the kids at school-going age hardly attend school, they hang around the neighbourhood all day long. Without proper guidance, no surprise that the bigger kids get into trouble with the law. This may be one extreme case but definitely not the only one. Though we would like to see higher birth rates, kids born and raise in these kinds of families will be unlikely to become contributors to society, and likely to end up institutionalized or requiring help from social agencies. Giving more support to unwed mothers is something the govt has to be very careful about, as it sends the message that having children out of wedlock is acceptable, and too much financial aids offered to unwed mothers may even encourage more to do so and capitalize on it. Who will suffer the most? The poor kids who grow up in dysfunctional families. 

Actually, behind all the cars, tyres, parking, etc. that we talk a lot about here, plus property, stocks, investments, etc. etc., there is still a lot of unfortunate and pitiful people and family out there - even in Singapore.

These people almost certainly did not have a good education or upbringing, and there's a high chance of coming from a dysfunctional family, so they see it as normal for them to go through the same vicious cycle. Not able to snap out of the poverty cycle, it is made worse that their lives revolves around different boyfriends/girlfriends from a very young age, and are likely not strong in terms of mutual/family commitments. The result would be having children at a young age, when they couldn't even give themselves a basic/decent life, much less when there are young kids to feed. Without any chance to progress in society, many will turn to crime, and could end up in jail. In the meantime, the partner - whose commitment is at best doubtful - will likely look for another man/woman with kid(s) in tow. Some are even worse in that they will not want the kid(s).

The outcome is the perpetual occurances of such sad stories, with tragic consequences in some of them, like in this case.

Not sure what the Govt or the society can do to help these people. Of course, the first question is whether they want to help themselves - or do they see this no big deal...

Yes there are a lot of families in chaos, even in Singapore. I think there is already a lot of financial support and help for them, the problem is whether they want to help themselves break out of the poverty cycle. And sometimes giving a lot of help, especially monetary help, does more harm to them than good, because they then do not see the need to learn or work, when they just need to stretch out their palm or open their mouth and ask for help. This is human nature. 

When these families with unstable conditions have kids (and they usually have quite a number), problems get multiplied because these kids most probably pick up the mindset/habits/values from the adults in their lives and they will live the same way

I learnt about a case whereby 17 people, including 14 kids, squeeze in a 1-room rental flat headed by an elderly couple. The elderly couple's daughters gave birth to many kids (unwed/with different men), and throw the kids to the elders to take care while they continue enjoying their messy lives. The flat become a 24 hr childcare centre and the kids at school-going age hardly attend school, they hang around the neighbourhood all day long. Without proper guidance, no surprise that the bigger kids get into trouble with the law. This may be one extreme case but definitely not the only one. Though we would like to see higher birth rates, kids born and raise in these kinds of families will be unlikely to become contributors to society, and likely to end up institutionalized or requiring help from social agencies. Giving more support to unwed mothers is something the govt has to be very careful about, as it sends the message that having children out of wedlock is acceptable, and too much financial aids offered to unwed mothers may even encourage more to do so and capitalize on it. Who will suffer the most? The poor kids who grow up in dysfunctional families. 

I agree with you. It's simply ingrained and entrenched in some segment of the population that it's normal to live life that way, and it's impossible to break out of the vicious cycle.

What a big irony we have. A lot of the educated people are having fewer or no kids, and quite a number of those uneducated (I don't despise this group) and/or 'live-messy-lifestyle' (I despise this group) type of people are having lots of kids - and there is a good chance that the society might get worse because of this dynamics.

Hope the Govt can come up with a brilliant plan to manage and help the situation.

It is always easy to be judgemental and I for one must admit I have also made similar wrong judgement.

It is right to accord privileges to the vulnerable such as the young, the elderly, the pregnant and even the sick and dying. In most situations the giving is warmly received.

Let me give a few personal examples (you may disagree but it is alright):

Before I had kids, I wanted to slap the kids (5-10years) who beat up their parents in public or pull their parents spectacles and throw them on the ground. I was even more furious when the parents just try to calm the kid. I later learn that there are many kids who look normal but are actually suffering from some neurological disease such as autism and their spectrum. These kids can really act like "siao lan" but not done on purpose or to create trouble. Can you imagine being a complete strange and had such untoward reaction to these kind of kids? What do you think their parents go through 24/7, 365 days, how many years with no cure in sight? Not everybody is made equal and if we are we will all be Warrant Buffet. But at some point, some people without community support and understand will succumb to actions unbelievable to others who had never face such situation. Of course there is no excuse to injury or take another one lives.

Recently, I was taking a walk along the promenade with my family. We were walking and noticing a fairly elderly man approaching us in the distance, I move to walk in a single file giving was to the elderly. The elderly man walked past us and purposely used his shoulder to push me even though there was enough space for him to walk. He was muttering something under his breath. I left it at that because one day some one will teach him a lesson. Some elderly has or had developed this sense of entitlement that they feel is their right and not because society chooses to be gracious.

Internationally and verified reports that UN and Nato soldiers have raped children as young as 2years in the Africa and Sub-Africa continent. The numbers are too frightening even to mention. These are still on going. These are the people who are suppose to protect the same people whom they have abused. Many of these kids look up to them as protector, mentor, uncle and sometimes as fathers.

I am still learning to be less judgemental, why some people lie (which is wrong) to protect their love ones (wife and children) so much so that they have to be punished by imprisonment?

The world is a sick place and we can at least try not to contribute make it worse but instead we can do our own little part to make it better even though nobody acknowledges your good work. Karma if you believe will find you in better times ahead.

Have a good weekend, bros.

https://sg.style.yahoo.com/parenting-or-abuse-shoppers-post-of-texas-dad-pulling-daughter-by-hair-goes-viral-171726428.html

Walmart-dad-pulling-daughters-hair.jpg

It was an ordinary day at Walmart for Erika Burch, who was picking up some groceries for her kids when she saw something out of the ordinary.  A man was leading his daughter through the store by her hair, which he had wrapped around the handle of the grocery cart he was pushing, causing his daughter to follow awkwardly alongside. 

“She [was] begging him to stop! She was saying ‘please stop, I promise I won’t do it again please stop!’” wrote Burch in a Facebook post that has since gone viral. Burch quickly snapped a few photos and told the man to let the girl go but he told her to mind her own business.

“I said no I’m not! Right now this little girl is my business and you need to let her hair go now!” wrote Burch. “He said ‘I grew up just fine!’ [so] I called the police!”

A cop who happened to be in the vicinity heard the commotion and came running but was unable to do anything until his sergeant arrived. When he did, they were told that the man could not be arrested unless there were visible signs of bodily injury to the child. This was despite Burch showing the sergeant photos of the man pulling the girl along.

“The sergeant in Cleveland TX said, ‘He has the right to discipline his children!‘” wrote Burch. “Dragging a little girl by the hair if [sic] her head is not proper discipline!”

“Now this baby had to go home with this monster thinking that nobody cared about her and it’s okay for this animal to pull her by the hair of her head!” wrote Burch before urging people to share the post and contact the Cleveland Police Department.

Burch’s post, which has garnered more than 7,500 likes and 130,000 shares, has sparked a lively debate, with people weighing in on whether the man was parenting or abusing the child.

“This is wrong! No child should be pulled by their hair through a store. I don’t care what the child did there are so many other ways to handle this problem,” wrote Audrey Griffith-D’Angelo.

“If someone would do this in public, what would happen behind closed doors?” asked Deborah Simpson.

All you people are why children now a days think they can do whatever they want. Parents should be able to discipline their child as longs as, like the police officer said, no bodily harm. Grow up and mind your own business,” wrote Tasha Lee Herrlott.

Burch’s enraged post also seems to have struck a chord amongst others, resulting in the Cleveland Police Department receiving “numerous calls.” In a statement published on Facebook, the department assures people that “this case is currently being investigated by our Detective Division."

Do you think the man was simply discipling his child or being abusive?

https://sg.style.yahoo.com/parenting-or-abuse-shoppers-post-of-texas-dad-pulling-daughter-by-hair-goes-viral-171726428.html

It was an ordinary day at Walmart for Erika Burch, who was picking up some groceries for her kids when she saw something out of the ordinary.  A man was leading his daughter through the store by her hair, which he had wrapped around the handle of the grocery cart he was pushing, causing his daughter to follow awkwardly alongside. 

“She [was] begging him to stop! She was saying ‘please stop, I promise I won’t do it again please stop!’” wrote Burch in a Facebook post that has since gone viral. Burch quickly snapped a few photos and told the man to let the girl go but he told her to mind her own business.

“I said no I’m not! Right now this little girl is my business and you need to let her hair go now!” wrote Burch. “He said ‘I grew up just fine!’ [so] I called the police!”

A cop who happened to be in the vicinity heard the commotion and came running but was unable to do anything until his sergeant arrived. When he did, they were told that the man could not be arrested unless there were visible signs of bodily injury to the child. This was despite Burch showing the sergeant photos of the man pulling the girl along.

“The sergeant in Cleveland TX said, ‘He has the right to discipline his children!‘” wrote Burch. “Dragging a little girl by the hair if [sic] her head is not proper discipline!”

“Now this baby had to go home with this monster thinking that nobody cared about her and it’s okay for this animal to pull her by the hair of her head!” wrote Burch before urging people to share the post and contact the Cleveland Police Department.

Burch’s post, which has garnered more than 7,500 likes and 130,000 shares, has sparked a lively debate, with people weighing in on whether the man was parenting or abusing the child.

“This is wrong! No child should be pulled by their hair through a store. I don’t care what the child did there are so many other ways to handle this problem,” wrote Audrey Griffith-D’Angelo.

“If someone would do this in public, what would happen behind closed doors?” asked Deborah Simpson.

All you people are why children now a days think they can do whatever they want. Parents should be able to discipline their child as longs as, like the police officer said, no bodily harm. Grow up and mind your own business,” wrote Tasha Lee Herrlott.

Burch’s enraged post also seems to have struck a chord amongst others, resulting in the Cleveland Police Department receiving “numerous calls.” In a statement published on Facebook, the department assures people that “this case is currently being investigated by our Detective Division."

Do you think the man was simply discipling his child or being abusive?

its disciplining however extreme...  

it should be based solely on whats seen.. and not wats assumed...  

if the same action is repeated on a girl with bruises all over.. thats another story...   

but... as far as im concerned.. this is more a case of ang mo being kaypoh rather than child abuse

I had stayed in uk and us; this man may looks  :pissed-off: , but the fact that he was doing grocery alone with his devilsh child and resort to manage her in such manner (may not be ideal) was considered splendid liao!  obviously the complainant, Burch (and supporter) was still leaving in their idealistic world and had never put into much tests these days!  and there are many these examples in our ra ra land here too! 

nowadays, our moe can be full of shits like this too!

instead of doing a better job as teachers, they will go around and complain when caning marks are found, then those 'jiat liao bee' counsellor is activated who screwed up the family with destructive paths; just wanna fulfiill their hours w/o caring the kid and family future stakes.... and when the same kid 'shamed' by all these unnecessary attentions turned bad eventually..... and the bloody teachers & principal will blame the parents again!  and when acted on these complaints, the same kid will become witty & scheming to activate school counsellor & teachers again; and the cycle repeats until the kid's academics screwed and become dropouts...... eventually

prior to all these shits, the kid had been celebrating his birthdays at home and received rewards from parents for tops in class.....  but not anymore when the abovementioned occured.  so, are these idiotic teachers, counsellors helping to better discipline or creating unnecessarily messes that they think is nobel !!!

the kid is currently my boy's tutor, he completed his As, to be enlisted and aiming for his uni.

obviously, he reconciled with his parents and learnt the lesson(2yrs reworks for Os).  he said to me:

"i dunno whether to blame the teachers or the counsellors; but one thing, my parents are absolutely right about what they did when I was young!"

to those who accuses parental abuses on their kids in public . . . . please be very sure:

there is a thin line between serving your righteous to fulfill your ego and helping the concerned kid and family.

Edited by A_korusawa

I had stayed in uk and us; this man may looks  :pissed-off: , but the fact that he was doing grocery alone with his devilsh child and resort to manage her in such manner (may not be ideal) was considered splendid liao!  obviously the complainant, Burch (and supporter) was still leaving in their idealistic world and had never put into much tests these days!  and there are many these examples in our ra ra land here too! 

instead of doing a better job as teachers, they will go around and complain when caning marks are found, then those 'jiat liao bee' counsellor is activated who screwed up the family with destructive paths; just wanna fulfiill their hours w/o caring the kid and family future stakes.... and when the same kid 'shamed' by all these unnecessary attentions turned bad eventually..... and the bloody teachers & principal will blame the parents again!  and when acted on these complaints, the same kid will become witty & scheming to activate school counsellor & teachers again; and the cycle repeats until the kid's academics screwed and become dropouts...... eventually

prior to all these shits, the kid had been celebrating his birthdays at home and received rewards from parents for tops in class.....  but not anymore when the abovementioned occured.  so, are these idiotic teachers, counsellors helping to better discipline or creating unnecessarily messes that they think is nobel !!!

the kid is currently my boy's tutor, he completed his As, to be enlisted and aiming for his uni.

obviously, he reconciled with his parents and learnt the lesson(2yrs reworks for Os).  he said to me:

"i dunno whether to blame the teachers or the counsellors; but one thing, my parents are absolutely right about what they did when I was young!"

to those who accuses parental abuses on their kids in public . . . . please be very sure:

there is a thin line between serving your righteous to fulfill your ego and helping the concerned kid and family.

what you have commented sound like you first see these kids as evil than good, they have ill intention to take advantage of other people attention and kindness (which apparent result from the lost of trust/love at home).

time is different now,  nowadays it is very rare to see children with cane mark. can't blame the school for getting involve for all you know half the teachers will pray such cases dun happen in their class which they dun really bother. It could also be classmate who told the teacher or other parents who notice the 'abuse' and report to school. After all it is up to the parents to clarify the issue with the school if they really care for the kids. I have seen parents report to counselor of their kid behavior which they deem as 'hopeless' but they dun see it as their failure for guiding and parenting them.

in this case, i see the father failed to do his part or never spend time/bond with his kids, who then have to resort in this kind of discipline method cos the kids will never listen or respect him, not surprise to see such parents when you watch the 'super nanny' tv series [laugh]  

I don't think pulling anyone's hair is warranted really. I think first it's humiliating akin to pulling someone by his ear.

Pain inflicted in a punishment should be done with explanation ideally and as a once-off.

I've caned my girl before but stopped doing so.

You can punish a child, but i believe unnecessary pain inflicted will be considered as abuse.

Parenting norms are changing with times so educators are merely being forced by MOE to behave in a politically-correct manner.  They themselves may not agree to the way things are being done but just like any other employees, you need to toe the corporate line or leave. So I think your anger is misplaced and should rightfully be directed at the current society norms and MOE's policies rather than the individual.  Like you and me, they're just doing their jobs.

Angmoh parenting style is to let kids run amok with minimal supervision.  They believe that's the way to let the kids express their full potential. In certain countries like OZ, kids can be taken away from their "abusive" parents if neighbours or anyone merely complain to the authority for things as little as smacking the backside. 

Asian parenting used to be more of disciplinary in nature but nowadays Singaporeans are also parenting with zero-cane zero-smack policy.  The fact is lots of kids these days see their maids more than their real parents so I guess actual parenting is probably minimum unless both mom and dad take effort to do it.  I've encountered some kids who presumably are brought up mostly by maids and their behaviour frankly ranges from unpleasant to unsettling.

By angmoh standard, I confirm qualify as an abused child as I used to get caned by my lao bu at least every alternate week with "kuay teow" marks on my thighs for my friends to laugh at.  I'll probably qualify as a current psychopath due to the trauma of my abusive childhood.

No, they haven't taken my kid away from me yet.

Edited by Jellandross

I don't think pulling anyone's hair is warranted really. I think first it's humiliating akin to pulling someone by his ear.

Pain inflicted in a punishment should be done with explanation ideally and as a once-off.

I've caned my girl before but stopped doing so.

You can punish a child, but i believe unnecessary pain inflicted will be considered as abuse.

are u insinuating that you were an abusive father and no longer at this moment?

hw wld you feel when you caned your daughter last time and your neighbour puts you on stomp and calls the police on you? 

again.. not defending the ang mo father in that case..  his method may be WRONG.. but the intention is not. 

Strongly against calling that as abuse...  when there are much worse... in short.. i think the guy dont deserve to be in the same thread as the earlier posts abt the jailed mother and bf.....

One group accuses councilors or MSF for being too Kapo, the next group accuses them for unable to/taking too long to stop abusive parents. I only know the job of the councilors or MSF damn difficult to do.

While they aim to strike a balance to identify petty punishment vs full-fledge abuse, there are still so many parameters to consider and therefore some genuine/non-genuine cases fall through the crack.

I believe in most cases, these councilors and Family bodies are trying their best and acting on the best interest of the Child. It may not be the best solution, but it could have been the only solution at that point of time. If counselors didn't intervene things could have played out differently. It could be better but what if it's worst? Who answers for it?

are u insinuating that you were an abusive father and no longer at this moment?

hw wld you feel when you caned your daughter last time and your neighbour puts you on stomp and calls the police on you? 

again.. not defending the ang mo father in that case..  his method may be WRONG.. but the intention is not. 

Strongly against calling that as abuse...  when there are much worse... in short.. i think the guy dont deserve to be in the same thread as the earlier posts abt the jailed mother and bf.....

I feel that by taking the pic and putting in online, the person effective put the last nail on the coffin for the relationship between the girl and the father. This thing will haunt them for decades and may never recover, esp when the kid grows up.

Well done internet.

Edited by Pocus