Painting my brake caliper, please help.

Tiphoneas

Hi bros,

Want to paint my brake calipers black. As my rims is ADVAN RG2, the space in between the spokes allows me to paint it without taking out the wheel. That's a good thing, if not it's gonna be real hard to remove those nuts! [knife]

Thus, I would like to do a DIY job, but without any knowledge and experience. Hopefully from experience bro here please advise me on the following questions.

1) What kind and brand of paint and where can I get them?

2) Equipment needed to paint.

3) The procedures and ways of painting it.

4) Result of painting vs spraying.

Please do share and comment on what I should look out for during this DIY.

Cheers,

Jon.

Planning to spray my callipers too.

But remove first then spray as easier to handle and paintwork would be nicer.

I'm using high temp paint, matte black. Available in red and yellow if you know how to find.

Spray multiple thin coats in a place with direct sunlight and not too much wind(dust particles).

Remove rust and degrease before spraying. Impt. Or under heat and w&t the paint will flake.

Cling wrap the parts that you do not want the paint to get on and hold with masking tape, especially edges.

Dry for at least 48 hours before using to maintain paint intergrity.

Multiple coats preferably 1/2 and hour to 45 mins between coats.

If you are perfectionist, use fine grain sandpaper to smoothen out before each coating.

Do not use lacquer based paints.

Do not spray your pad holding areas.

Do not spray your brake hose and fittings.

Avoid spraying moveable parts, e.g. pins, fulcrums, etc...

Think that's it for now. Commencing spraying later this week after rust removal and de grease.

Will update.

I'm using high temp paint, matte black. Available in red and yellow if you know how to find.

Spray multiple thin coats in a place with direct sunlight and not too much wind(dust particles).

Remove rust and degrease before spraying. Impt. Or under heat and w&t the paint will flake.

Cling wrap the parts that you do not want the paint to get on and hold with masking tape, especially edges.

If you are perfectionist, use fine grain sandpaper to smoothen out before each coating.

Think that's it for now. Commencing spraying later this week after rust removal and de grease.

Will update.

Wow, you are fierce man....... From what I have read from oversea forums. They simply use those anti rust paint and paint over the whole caliper with a brush, no spraying. Coat is of course not even but surface of caliper isn't even in the first place (since its cast).

Unless, you are using branded stuff....... whooo.....

Hi Moredhel,

Very comprehensive and good info shared. :o

One thing to share too, only paste the sticker onto the painting area after 48hours of drying, because the outer may look like it already dried but it peel-off once you adjust your sticker, personal experience [:(]

In fact, I does sprayed a layer of transparent lacquer after few layers of color paint spray, to keep it more shiny, lasting and overall caliper surface more resistance to dirt.

May I know why lacquer base paint not advisable? Because it is not high temp?

Will update.

Wah!Good info,bro [thumbsup]

Will update.

Hi. Can share where to get the high temp paint? Looking for red. Can only find black and silver. Pm me if you don't wana post. Thanks in advance.

Hi Ken, no problem sharing.

I'm advised by some bros that red/yellow hi temp can be bought at johnson.

Whether it's true and the pricing I'm not really certain though.

Though I've seen a yellow hi-temp engine cover and another bro had a hi-temp red spray

he wanted to offer for use. Both quoted the same source. So I guess it should be pretty reliable.

Good luck for your project!

Hi Moredhel,

Very comprehensive and good info shared. :o

One thing to share too, only paste the sticker onto the painting area after 48hours of drying, because the outer may look like it already dried but it peel-off once you adjust your sticker, personal experience [:(]

In fact, I does sprayed a layer of transparent lacquer after few layers of color paint spray, to keep it more shiny, lasting and overall caliper surface more resistance to dirt.

May I know why lacquer base paint not advisable? Because it is not high temp?

Generally lacquer is solvent based which is flammable in certain instances. However, if yours is already harderned and cured

then it's no problem. It's just the possible pockets of air in it. Don't worry, the possibility of it happening is very very very low.

The calliper is actually exposed to ambient air so a couple of coats is not dangerous.

So I have to edit my previous post to can use lacquer. haha.

Anyway, now that you mention it, I should do a couple of clear coats too.

Anyone knows where to get PU lacquer?

Update to interested bros.

Calliper spraying complete.

Hi-temp Black. No clearcoat.

Photos:

Before Respray, Wire Brushed Up and Degreased:

post-53654-1286520346_thumb.jpg

Spray Paint:

post-53654-1286520379_thumb.jpg

After spray, angle view:

post-53654-1286520456_thumb.jpg

After spray, actual side view:

post-53654-1286520456_thumb.jpg

Cheerios!

post-53654-1286520416_thumb.jpg

understand the wanting to DIY but why do this when you can get someone to spray it for you at 40$? for 2 calipers?

You won't understand unless you love to do diy. Its a feeling of archiving something yourself rather than paying someone to do it.

understand the wanting to DIY but why do this when you can get someone to spray it for you at 40$? for 2 calipers?

in any case if i want someone to do it, where can i go for a good lasting job?

You won't understand unless you love to do diy. Its a feeling of archiving something yourself rather than paying someone to do it.

Correct bro.

It's the experience and the knowledge gained.

Sometimes it's expensive if not well thought out. But mostly it's manageable and the satisfaction after is priceless.

Spraying is a general skill, so not much to shout about. But then. Endless possibilities if you keep mind open.

Any calliper sprayer willing to do a rotor spray for you? [:p]

You guys do know that in the US and Aust, the guys repair and service their own rides right?

I know one PH guy who did his own customised TEIN suspension to suit his track car.

Damn chio.....

Update to interested bros.

Calliper spraying complete.

Hi-temp Black. No clearcoat.

Photos:

Before Respray, Wire Brushed Up and Degreased:

Spray Paint:

After spray, angle view:

After spray, actual side view:

Cheerios!

wah lau sia... [thumbsup] great job! (the calipers look very fimiliar... hahaha

Yes it is rather isn't it? Haven't installed it yet though.

Waiting for next svc one shot do.