Becoming a father soon

Yattokame

Hi all....

Am really glad to announce I will be joining the ranks of fatherhood in a few months.....

wife is 14 wks pregnant.... with twins :)

Needs A LOT of advice from those in the know....

Just when I thought deciding on a car is difficult, buying strollers are worse!!!

Should we get a twin stroller? or 2 single strollers? We really can't decide.

We went to quite a number of wholesale places for the various brands, and this is what we had gathered...

Twin strollers

Advantages: one adult to handle. novelty.

disadvantages: bulky and cumbersome. unable to access some places like escalators, lifts, etc

We also bought a clip that can clip two single strollers together for that twin stroller effect (aftermarket mod, my wife calls it)

Advantages: still single strollers if just need to bring one child to the doc.

DIsadvantages: the strollers can only have small wheels (so quite bumpy); and the clipping and unclipping is quite troublesome (3 clips in all)

We want those facing-parents strollers (I think only Combi has them) so our choices are further limited. Some nice souls did recommend one but it's only available in US and it costs over a grand.

Any daddies can suggest? thanx.

next problem will be the car seat. [knife]

Congrats..... 1 time then factory can closed shop liao. [laugh][laugh] Joking....

Double congrats.... enjoy urself now all u can. once twin come out..... i dun think u have time [laugh]

Have u try visit Kaki Bukit? Got 2 selling lots of bb products. Might be useful for u

Edited by Kingcopa

Hi all....

Am really glad to announce I will be joining the ranks of fatherhood in a few months.....

wife is 14 wks pregnant.... with twins :)

Needs A LOT of advice from those in the know....

Just when I thought deciding on a car is difficult, buying strollers are worse!!!

Should we get a twin stroller? or 2 single strollers? We really can't decide.

We went to quite a number of wholesale places for the various brands, and this is what we had gathered...

Twin strollers

Advantages: one adult to handle. novelty.

disadvantages: bulky and cumbersome. unable to access some places like escalators, lifts, etc

We also bought a clip that can clip two single strollers together for that twin stroller effect (aftermarket mod, my wife calls it)

Advantages: still single strollers if just need to bring one child to the doc.

DIsadvantages: the strollers can only have small wheels (so quite bumpy); and the clipping and unclipping is quite troublesome (3 clips in all)

We want those facing-parents strollers (I think only Combi has them) so our choices are further limited. Some nice souls did recommend one but it's only available in US and it costs over a grand.

bro, congrates.

didn't have a twins so not sure if this will be a good advice or not.

There is one option. get 2 single stroller and buy those accessory that can join both stroller together one.

like that, can push together, and if need be separate them.

bro, congrates.

didn't have a twins so not sure if this will be a good advice or not.

There is one option. get 2 single stroller and buy those accessory that can join both stroller together one.

like that, can push together, and if need be separate them.

yah that's what we bought but turns out that the wheels of the single strollers have to be small or they won't fit. and the fitting and unfitting is a PIA.

thanx :)

Congrats..... 1 time then factory can closed shop liao. [laugh][laugh] Joking....

Double congrats.... enjoy urself now all u can. once twin come out..... i dun think u have time [laugh]

Have u try visit Kaki Bukit? Got 2 selling lots of bb products. Might be useful for u

yah the hypermart and kingdom.... tried and tried machiam test drive. go round and round the compound my wife kept making fun of me

"enough power?"

"how's the pick up?"

"how's the handling?"

hope I still have time to browse this friendly forum :)

though have to spend more but on a bright side, you get bulk discounts [laugh] [laugh]

LOL I sure hope so!

hey that means we can always get a table for 4 easily at restaurants [laugh]

Congratulation.

I feel you should not buy stroller until the babies are born. I did what most people do, bought strollers before the child arrives and it ended up collecting dust until when they become 2-3yrs old when they sometimes want to ride in it.

There are quite a few rear facing strollers other than Combi, but they require the seat to be detach and re-attached eg. Quinny Buzz, Quinny Zapp (need an additional infant car seat), Stokke Xplorer, etc... From my experience, of the 3, Zapp is the most value for money and the one that is used the most often...cos it is light and compact (good for overseas trip).

Kinda too early to buy stroller. 14 weeks. I think you will start to use strollers when they past the infant stage cos infants still preferred to be held rather be on a stroller. It gives them the sense of security, otherwise they will cry a lot. Good luck on finding extra help to carry your twins.

My wife now 8months pregnant and we have yet to buy a stroller/pram. Our friends(experienced parents) may get it for us, they told us to leave it last cos we won't be using it until the infant has grown a little older. Same for car seats.

Congratulation.

I feel you should not buy stroller until the babies are born. I did what most people do, bought strollers before the child arrives and it ended up collecting dust until when they become 2-3yrs old when they sometimes want to ride in it.

There are quite a few rear facing strollers other than Combi, but they require the seat to be detach and re-attached eg. Quinny Buzz, Quinny Zapp (need an additional infant car seat), Stokke Xplorer, etc... From my experience, of the 3, Zapp is the most value for money and the one that is used the most often...cos it is light and compact (good for overseas trip).

wow thanx! You can really read our mind!

one big concern is overseas usage as we travel frequent...

was also considering the Quinny since it comes with those "picnic basket" type of infant car seat but it costs like 1k per stroller [knife]

I think we do need a stroller as one of us have to have our hands free so placing them in a stroller is the only way out.

Congrats bro....

You must go book the confinement nanny now.....very very few nanny are experienced in caring for twins!!!! So go advance booking on them first!

Kinda too early to buy stroller. 14 weeks. I think you will start to use strollers when they past the infant stage cos infants still preferred to be held rather be on a stroller. It gives them the sense of security, otherwise they will cry a lot. Good luck on finding extra help to carry your twins.

My wife now 8months pregnant and we have yet to buy a stroller/pram. Our friends(experienced parents) may get it for us, they told us to leave it last cos we won't be using it until the infant has grown a little older.

yah that's the problem. if each of us carries on then our hands are full.

congrats to u too! :D

congrats!

i think the double one makes sense. you'd probably never go out without the other child, even when sick. but i wouldnt know lah, i never had twins. i do know that even though my 2 kids are spaced 1.5 years apart, i need to get 2 of everything. otherwise they'll fight.

i think rear facing is useful only when they're infants. after a couple of months, i'd rather they look at the world than at my ugly face.