Does our education systems create those ah bengs?

Daniel3

Hi All,

just thinking,is it the fault of our education system that create so called ah bengs?

previously in the 80s and 90s,teacher has the right to cane and impose punishment to students.

I remember the days when there are public canings in front of the school assembly.

Now the schools imposed the so called " LOVE" teaching.

No more becoming scolding the students

No more public caning

No more standing outside the door

Thus students becoming more arrogant,disregarding of discipline and law.

So sad

I think so too. Nowadays, in schools, "caring" seems to be watch-word. But really the systems "cares" the youths to their own destruction.

I read an interesting theory sometime ago in a psychology magazine, that the reason for teen delinquency is mainly because our modern world is delaying maturity and responsibility.

Long ago, and still happening in some parts of the world today, people already start working, get married, and start fending for themselves and their families in their late teenage years. This is natural as most people only study till complete secondary education. Only a few will go on for higher studies - and this small group definitely won't turn delinquent. As for those in their late teens who start their "adult" life and responsibilities - they mature (mentally and their mindset) faster, and are gainfully occupied - too busy to do nonsense things. So, end result... less delinquency.

Nowadays, the system tends to keep youths at school longer than necessary. Even those with no inclination or interest in studying are given opportunity to study for a longer period. Fail exam? Never mind, got supp paper - easy to pass and stay on schooling. Disciplinary problems? Never mind, just go for counselling, and back to class you go.

So you end up with these youths - who are already physically mature (and ready for work, marriage, adult responsibilities, etc.) - trapped in a "child's" world as students!! Worse - even when these youths already not interested in studying. Forcibly kept as students, attending school and therefore not able to take up full-time work - these youths have a LOT of free time on their hands and not surprisingly, get into all sorts of trouble [rolleyes].

It's an interesting thought that has some truth.

Edited by Sosaria

no absolutely not, as mm lee says we are 'descendants of coolie immigrants', it is in our genes to be stray and be ah bengs and pai kias, which is why thanks to the far sighted ness of our garhmen, they are replacing us with Foreign talent. they may not be the scholar class of china but at least they do not have coolie genes.thanks to the brilliant educationset up by garhmen, it is able to suppress our nature temporary. Oldman is always right. [:p]

Edited by relacker

Hi All,

just thinking,is it the fault of our education system that create so called ah bengs?

previously in the 80s and 90s,teacher has the right to cane and impose punishment to students.

I remember the days when there are public canings in front of the school assembly.

No more public caning

So sad

this one still have.

but seriously, the problem doesnt come from the school. its come from the parents. school teacher want to scold. they go complain.

also dont try to thing that the situation now is better than last time lah.

during my schooling days, when the school is practising all the above. got more gangster compare to now.

Hi All,

No more public caning

So sad

are you referring to the parents?

Agree. But let's be clear. It's more the parents' fault then it is the schools'

true, these days you see many parents who would find fault with everyone else except with their children... rem the parent who blamed the school for the timetable where its obvious that the fault lies in the child for not reading it carefully. for me, i would strongly give my fullest support for the school to discipline my child when necessary. i would not spare the rod myself when it comes to disciplining my children... yes, this will include cane but with justifiable underlying reasons... can't be you really dun cane them, till they did some serious wrongs and ended up being caned or worst hung by the state [knife]

everything starts small and begins from home.

Edited by Weixiang_2008

Hi All,

No more public caning

So sad

Create business opportunities for businesses and employment. Perhaps among recession recovery stimulus? I believe only above average students can benefit from such exposure (the majority will be Singlish-speakers)

Hi All,

No more public caning

So sad

by the way, did i mention to you back then teachers are really given the authority? i can still remember when my chemistry teacher came forward to me and my friend who were talking at the back of the classroom, without a word she simply threw both of our textbooks outside of the window! i was speechless. i remember throwing of dusters at some of us as well, however even though its been many years i still hold respect for that teacher. all of us diam diam, dun dare to go home and tell our parents.. if i did, i would kenna more from my parents loh... haha..

some forumers might think its a scenario from a neighborhood school but it actually happened in a school with green shorts, white shirt along with metal buttons in bishan. [laugh]

Edited by Weixiang_2008

I think so too. Nowadays, in schools, "caring" seems to be watch-word. But really the systems "cares" the youths to their own destruction.

i dont think is "caring". more like "i pay school fee, i am the customer" kind of mentality.

but then let's be honest... how many forumers adopt such mentality... dun need to be shy.. when it comes to dining, i already see so many such customers already.

by the way, did i mention to you back then teachers are really given the authority? i can still remember when my chemistry teacher came forward to me and my friend who were talking at the back of the classroom, without a word she simply threw both of our textbooks outside of the window! i was speechless. i remember throwing of dusters at some of us as well, however even though its been many years i still hold respect for that teacher. all of us diam diam, dun dare to go home and tell our parents.. if i did, i would kenna more from my parents loh... haha..

some forumers might think its a scenario from a neighborhood school but it actually happened in a school with green shorts, white shirt along with metal buttons in bishan. [laugh]

If that teacher were to repeat the same action again now, and a pupil complains to the parents, the teacher will get into trouble... Sigh...

Hi All,

No more public caning

So sad

一款米養百種人.

Hi All,

No more public caning

So sad

That's why i have said SG is still far from First World in certain aspects.

me think this is more of a social, rather than edu thing.

schools impart knowledge but should not be held responsible for discipline and moral teachings.

this should rest on the shoulders of parents and those they mixed with.

4 ponders to ponders:

1) Ironically, this is a result of over protective parenting from Singaporean parents.

Do you know that there are parents now that threaten to sue the schools and teachers if the students are caned.

2) Whether a child is ah beng or not, the prime responsibility lies in parents.

3) Last time, when there was caning, there was also, maybe even more gang fights.

4) in western countries, they dont practice caning too.