Father splurges on nice wheels for 23-year-old daughter

Versatile

By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

SHE loves shopping and she adores European brands.

From Chanel to Dior, Ms Cheryl Tay likes to splurge her hard-earned $2,500 monthly income on haute couture.

When the 23-year-old banking and finance undergraduate has a date with her friends, she zooms around in a two-door Mercedes-Benz CLK 280 - a gift from her father early this year - which costs about $220,000.

Though thankful of the gift, Ms Tay said she does not receive any allowance from her parents, preferring instead to maintain her lifestyle through her own means.

She works part time in the food and beverage industry.

>> ASIAONE / MOTORING / NEWS / STORY

Tue, Dec 14, 2010

The New Paper

By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

From Chanel to Dior, Ms Cheryl Tay likes to splurge her hard-earned $2,500 monthly income on haute couture.

When the 23-year-old banking and finance undergraduate has a date with her friends, she zooms around in a two-door Mercedes-Benz CLK 280 - a gift from her father early this year - which costs about $220,000.

Though thankful of the gift, Ms Tay said she does not receive any allowance from her parents, preferring instead to maintain her lifestyle through her own means.

She works part time in the food and beverage industry.

A $220,000 gift from her father

Click on thumbnails below to view more photos. Story continues after photos.

(Photos: TNP)

Sure, cars here may be the priciest anywhere in the world, and usage including parking and fuel isn't cheap, but people are splurging on nice wheels.

Lawyer Soh Chu Bin, 36, bought a BMW M3 for about $370,000 two weeks ago.

Mr Soh says of his 4-litre car: "I have always wanted one (the M3). It's a performance car built for serious drivers. It clocks 4.6 secs doing 0 to 100kmh."

That means he makes it to the next set of lights in record time.

Pricey? In the luxury car trade, clients are paying anything from $200,000 for a car. European marques are proving popular.

At the end of August this year, Volkswagen (VW) was ranked fourth, overtaking brands like Honda, Kia and Hyundai.

Audi, in 13th spot last year, is now at the eighth spot with sales of 1,447 units - an increase of 30 per cent over the same period last year.

The top three positions, traditionally held by mass-market brands like Toyota, Honda and Hyundai, are no longer secure.

Creeping close to pole position are luxury marques Mercedes-Benz and BMW, now second and third respectively in overall ranking.

As of August, they posted sales of 3,075 and 3,024 units respectively - a big leap from Mercedes' fifth and BMW's seventh places last year.

Question:

Why is such news posted on A1? The reason behind this news article is to promote princess in the making or for people to envy?

S$2500 per month want to "raise" a CLK?

My goodness! Somemore says dont get money from parents.

Then who sponsor her the extra? at night go moonlighting?

====================

Meaning to say she no need give parents allowance lor. But who knows daddy give and pay for her supplementary credit card bills leh?

====================

Maybe typo got another 0 behind? [laugh]

Anyway its so contradicting, someone that want to be so independent wont be splurging her income like that. If I were her, I would just say I'm happily spending my dad's money.

Her salary no need savings...totally canh spent it as she wish.

Father only provide car and fuel and household food/necessity.

She can proudly claim she is independent.

Well done!

How I wished she is my wife.

Who are to criticise what/how others want to raise their kids or do with their money. It's all relative to how well-off we are & how we want to raise our kids. Often we are only seeing one part of their lives & may not know how they live their lives outside of those 'glamourous' life. Of course there will always be those who are on the extreme ends.

Take myself for example. I don't think my kids (until they are at least 4yr old) should watch TV cos i prefer them to read & spend more time talking to my wife & I...so do not have a TV at home. I also don't buy battery operated toys to them cos I prefer them to play with the help of their imagination. Some may think I'm stingy from the look of it.

On the other hand, I spent quite a bit of money on strollers & child seats. So those who saw those stuff, they'll think I spolit my kids & spend unneccessary on those stuff.

With a face like that, she definitely needs a car to grab attention from the boys... =oP

hmmm, her dad is doing all his best for his daughter :D

Good dad and even better daughter... at least she try to make do with the 2.5K monthly for her personal expense. [;)]

With a face like that, she definitely needs a car to grab attention from the boys... =oP

Not necessary lah. Wear plunging neck line, wear white skirt or tight pants wif G-string can oready.

Her salary no need savings...totally canh spent it as she wish.

Father only provide car and fuel and household food/necessity.

She can proudly claim she is independent.

Well done!

How I wished she is my wife.

then u confirm die leow [dizzy]