Door sealing strip DIY

Stanchiam

planning to buy and DIY for my car to get rid of wind noise.
Cost about $1/m excluding delivery

anyone done it before and how much does it cost?

500_edf2aa53-db4d-41a5-acbd-db7d3f22aaca
500_2e29663e-9241-4d98-a333-35db532197b8
500_fea59653-2a6f-439c-b407-e0e55018afaa
500_9905f2c6-c3c1-4889-8922-48d9d3404649
500_1d745cf5-54e1-45c2-9544-b48f5971a6f9
500_82e59c7d-2fcb-4527-ad51-d42a565f870e

Edited by BabyBlade

planning to buy and DIY for my car to get rid of wind noise.

Cost about $1/m excluding delivery

anyone done it before and how much does it cost?

where u can u get that?? [;)]

works meh?

i thought all cars should come with such door sealing strip... why is there a need for this?

unless you lowered the windows, otherwise you would hear any wind noise...

where u can u get that?? [;)]

I get that in china and then deliver to singapore.

parts etc are dam cheap when compare to local, think they are mark up very high.

works meh?

i thought all cars should come with such door sealing strip... why is there a need for this?

unless you lowered the windows, otherwise you would hear any wind noise...

it works from those who done it said.

all car come with it but most car are not seal tight, u can notice lots of gap and when u travel above 80km, wind noise will come in through the gap.

only those expensive car is seal nicely.

Edited by Stanchiam

really? ok, later i try and listen.

probably i always blast my ICE thus overlook this area.

i did soundproof on wheels but nothing great too

it works from those who done it said.

all car come with it but most car are not seal tight, u can notice lots of gap and when u travel above 80km, wind noise will come in through the gap.

only those expensive car is seal nicely.

Agree.

The noise when an SBS bus stops besides me..... [mad]

lol...

not only does this get rid of wind noise, also prevent water coming in and the best is it give u those thum sound like closing those expensive car.

anyway, this is part of my DIY

also planning to DIY whole car soundproof

I done up mine....but price on the high side as I got the materials from Autobacs. It's from Japan.

Maybe you guys can take a look at their website. http://www.amon.co.jp/seihi/seihi_group.php?id=313

I used item no. 2649 and 2652. End result not bad...the rubber qualities are so far the best. Using real 3M tape.

I used many types in the past from hardware shops and etc....but it was real hell for me....those cheapo products failed me. Till I gave up and stop believing on cheap rubbers seals.

I rather spend more for quality rather then so much hassle of installing and removing...most importantly.. waste my money. [bigcry]

The noise when an SBS bus stops besides me.....

oh YES!

i did spot this, i still thought my windows were open.. so this is the part that kicks in.

TS,

i'm keen too. can give me the contact to buy?

No need, buy from aquarium the air pump tube, stuff it in the existing windows seal, noise will be gone. Need about 6ft per door and scissors to cut. [;)]

Tried that before on my old toyota many years back.....guess what...it will melt inside after a period of time. Unless using silicone tube.

I also done my wheel fenders before....the effect dun last forever....esp if we are using those spray type. After months of Jet Car wash..somehow or rather it will washed off.

i had mine done up and i wan to DIY the boot... end result not bad.. but still got abit of wind noise...

the quality has to be good.... so far mine... the rubber is fine, and its using 3M tape..

Aside to TS, it will be good if u have the sample.. i wan to view it before order ^_^

Edited by Itsec

SG oso got sell..straits rubber at kaki bukit..

can choose the thickness & width, it came with 1 side adhesive..

Can't remember the price, i know its cheap...

Feng Xiang rubber also have....

Tried that before on my old toyota many years back.....guess what...it will melt inside after a period of time. Unless using silicone tube.

Can I know what is the diameter to use....

Depends on the space the door seal can allow you to push the tube in. Not an easy job. Outer Diameter 3mm onwards.....