Life Span of CVT Gearbox

Yahgo22

Erm, my dad's Toyota CVT gearbox is starting to make that robotic noise. It still shifts smoothly though, but it's that strange noise [it's not loud, but the gearbox definitely sounds different from before], that's worrying me.

Is that a cause for worry??

What's the mileage? go do a check with the workshops stated here.

Dun play play with auto trans...will have more problems surface it not rectified immediately, which means more $$$....

It seems like CVT transmission box though gives good fuel economy and pure smoothness, isn't well known for overtaking response and long term reliability.

My 2nd hand lancer 1.6 give me a mileage at around 500km before the 'E' light on fuel guage turn on.

Hm ,is that good fuel economy. The fuel tank is quite small, around 40 litre only

My 2nd hand lancer 1.6 give me a mileage at around 500km before the 'E' light on fuel guage turn on.

Hm ,is that good fuel economy. The fuel tank is quite small, around 40 litre only

It's around the same for many cars, my china car 35 L tank can get me 480 km that's around 13 per liter.

When car was new I can hit 16 also, my current millage is 40k

cvt gear sucks man

no gear lah... just a chain that runs [:p]

buying cvt driven car must know the owner.... well-maintain gb can last very long...

NEed some advise here.

I suspect my GB is going to give way.

When i D , Release brake and the RPM drops to below 800 causing vibration then goes back up again.

Idling RPM not stable, will suddenly drop and pick up again it self, very annoying when at traffic light.

Anyone can share waht are teh symtoms of GB problems.?

your throttle body might be dirty.. what's the mileage??

when at traffic light at D, the RPM also drop??

what car you driving??

There might be a slight chance of engine mounting issue.

Enquirer got to provide more information such as mileage, age of car etc.

NEed some advise here.

When i D , Release brake and the RPM drops to below 800 causing vibration then goes back up again.

Idling RPM not stable, will suddenly drop and pick up again it self, very annoying when at traffic light.

Dirty throttle body maybe.. I had same issue. Even encountered engine shutdown when on slope going up ram into car ark, waiting for gantry to open.. Once throttle body cleaned, problem solved

What is the different between overhaul vs 'fully recon' gearbox?

technically its the same.

In the 1-1 exchange, the take back your worn out autotrans and overhaul it and put it on the shelf.

If another same model comes along, the will sell away the fully recon unit and takes back the worn unit again.

Its makes business sense as its much faster and less time consuming. Turn around for workshop is also quicker as they also do not want the car to be stationed in the workshop for too long.

These are the workshops in jb that does nothing but overhauling autotrans. The real specialist.

Here's a basic break down which I think you got it pretty dead center.

1) Overhual Gear-Box (Most expensive but most reliable)

- It is basically to open up your current gear-box and replacing all faulty components (and in most cases rubber seals)

-As it is your current gearbox, there are limited failures which you are already aware of and the devil you know is always better than the devil you don't.

2) Re-Con Gear-Box (More expensive than 2nd hand gearbox but is also more reliable)

- As mentioned, chances are it is a gearbox which was either previously faulty or from a scrap car. Re-con gearboxes are typically already taken apart and replaced with new, used or a combination of both spares making it less reliable than an overhual gearbox.

-Another issue is that no one knows how long the gearbox has been sitting on the shelf and with rubber seals and such, there is a MTBF before they start to fail.

3) 2nd hand gear box (cheapest option but also riskiest option)

- Basically a gear box which is taken out from a scrap car, as such, it really boils down to the luck of draw.

- It does not mean all 2nd hand gear boxes are lousy. There is always the chance that you get a gear box from an accident recent vehicle which was scrap due to extensive body works or a vehicle that has too extensive engine failure making it BER (Beyond Economical Repair) to get fix.

Lastly, for sure (most of the time anywaz) good and reliable is to get a new one... if there is stock that is...

My cvt on tuscani was still swee swee leh, clock 179k Liao...after reading up n info fm Fred's at australia n states, cvt gearbox on 5speed n above plus must be Chain, Belt cannot make it to last above 200bhp and 150 mileage when whack hard, I do a very deep research on cvt 6 speed gear box on trimming chain is e Best, better than twin clutch or manual in term of speed and save fuel....HARD TO Believe Rite...we r just so Singaporean , deep inside in a very deep well looking above our own sky, in cvt gear box tech. World...

FYI, I hate cvt when I was driving a ek 4 manual, many many yrs back...Now I totally into it.

Why was CVT gearbox ban on F1 ? When e WilliamS trial a F1 race car officially on 1994 after many yrs of research on cvt gearbox, They Clock Just One Sec. Faster Per Lap And Able Save 12% Fuel Per Lap.....Haizzz bad luck for them when they test too Loud , meaning other brand race team spy record it and after a few days, they submit a clause to F1 upper management saying all F1 car must have at least

Four speed to eight speed fixed gear ratio.......CVT is indirecting rules out from 1994 onwards....

Alots of international cars reviewers say CVT gearbox Is Too Fast N Save Fuel, Not Good for Export fuel Country, plus Not much business for workshop , cvt running on CHAIN is e best gearbox...

Do your own research , dun listen to me or workshop ppl, or even reviews or anyone's ....local car review e worst, paid to write un.true stuff always.....whatever K sedan cannot compare close to a pure Japan sedan in term of engine, gear.box n chassis , Korean car only win on looks or what our eyes can see , interior or exterior only, just pure looks without substance nowadays, I'm driving a tuscani, FYI.

just got a toyota premio 2nd hand with a mileage of 49k

when i move off it seems ok but when its like changing to 2nd gear, RPM drop to 1K+ and the car feel like going to "si che" unless i step more gas to make the RPM go back higher,

what could be the problem ?

NEed some advise here.

Yr RPM not stable is it due to yr aircon cutting in and out. Cause mine is like that also once aircon kicks in RPM will drop slight vibration can be felt if i move. But once kick out RPM rises vibration will go away. This happens at night once i turn on headlight with aircon load the whole RPM will drop lower causing vibration. Practically ignoring it now already no clues.

Edited by Raytham

all bro with CVT trans.......dun forget to include also changing yr ATF filter........said every 100k........it sure will help.......there is an ATF filter......i drive a toyota sienta.......actually simple.....need only to open up the ATF oil sump and change the metal ATF filter...............also change the gasket and make sure the fellow does slowly.............then top with fresh ATF............but then the ATF filter is metal.........so overshot slightly is ok.........mine reaching 128k.....but nevertheless will get the parts and get it changed ASAP