Be warned: never buy air con from G@1n C1ty

Jkcs

I bought aircon servicing voucher from GC. Then, call them in for servicing. The service person came and evaluate my aircon and conclude it is not in good working condition. They will not service as if they do and later I might claim they spoil my unit. On the next day, their sales team called recommend me to trade in my aircon. I said no thanks.

My aircon was only 2yo then. Now coming to 8 years still working every night.

I still have the $500-$600 worth of service voucher. What a con.

i have the same problem as you.

GC came to service my air-con. At night the air-con not cold.

The next day, called GC and they came down.

Inspect my air-con, say air-con old already (Only 6yrs). that's why not cold.

Ask me to change to a new set.

I called for another air-con company mechanic.

They came down and inspect and says my air-con no gas.

Now, after 2 years, my air-con is still running fine.

sales: once job is completed, it is completed. any rework, it is chargeable. our installer will not go wrong, he did what he was told. as an owner, u must be there to supervise the work, if not your contractor must be present..

me and sales keep on arguing... blah...blah...

sounds stupid that I need to be present all the time when the work is done by "specialist". Supervising the "specialist" is an insult to them. had I known, I rather "insult" them than to make myself miserable

Welcome to the world of flat renovation, bro [rolleyes]

All the sub-con will discuss with your reno con on how to do the work, and take instructions from your reno con. Even you as the owner, if you give instructions to do this and that to the workers - they will act blur only, because ultimately it is the reno con that is answerable to you.

When critical reno jobs are being done, ideally you and your reno con should be there to see that it is done to your specifications. It can be arranged - just that you need to take leave at the appointed day/time. Such jobs include routing of aircon ducting (important to ensure aesthetics and proper water flow), placement of bathroom/toilet accessories, etc.

Yes, they are specialists, but mis-comm and unexpected difficulties do crop up during the way. Sometimes, mistake is made by unskilled sub-con and you have to be there to see it happen, else they will claim defective part, etc.

Sad to say, this is all a part of the renovation scene in singapore, especially the type of works done on flats (for landed property, maybe because the cost is more, the quality expected is better??)

Ultimately, I think it's more important to you now, to ensure that the aircon ducting, though looks ugly, is actually routed in a way to ensure optimum operation - else your aircon performance will suffer right from the start, especially if the condensate water cannot drain out properly.

Edited by Sosaria

We did 2 A/Cs together at my home from Gain City. No issues at all.

The key thing is you HAVE to be around to supervise the work personally. This is a major job with a lot of money, time and effort at stake. If you can't take leave to supervise it, then it's just not worth doing it, IMHO.

Isn't it dangerous if you want the specialist to go out of your window and lay the pipe? Later he fall down and died you got more problem!

Beside worker's safety, I think another issue might involve the legality of installing trunking on the outside of the building. You may have to check this.

Any reno in my home , I supervised myself..regardless have "interior designer", "project manager","manufacturer" instructions or not.. dey can even tell me Professional Engineer say but d hell with that if no black n white..I don't allow the contractors to work without "walking thru" their work with me BEFORE they start DAILY..If dey cannot explain to me their work for d day..I don't let them start at all..

Fellow forummers:

If u are think of buying anything from this shop esp aircon and also especially now when they have their expo sale. my advice is "forget abt it, buy elsewhere to save the unnecessary headache".

My sad story (I am not a good writer and I make it short and sweet and also I am not trying to make people sympathize me) started the day when their installer came to my new flat to install the unit. See pic on their "superb" work done. My request on the work can be done as it is not limited by the building design.

Upon seeing this, I questioned the installer, he told me it was done according to my reno contractor's idea. I am not sure what was the instruction given to him so I won't go indepth on this esp when both parties will claim they are correct.

the installer being an specialist in the aircon industry, should know how ugly the end result would be yet he proceeded. Doesn't he know that we human want is beauty? so I asked him to rework, he replied not possible as the job is completed.

I angry and lost so I called the Salesperson. this is what he told me, not the actual transcript but the content is real.

me: the way the installer run the trunking is horrible, I want a rework

sales: there is a charge incurred for all rework.

me: har? but this is something unacceptable (mms-ed him the photo of the work)

sales: once job is completed, it is completed. any rework, it is chargeable. our installer will not go wrong, he did what he was told. as an owner, u must be there to supervise the work, if not your contractor must be present..

me and sales keep on arguing... blah...blah...

sounds stupid that I need to be present all the time when the work is done by "specialist". Supervising the "specialist" is an insult to them. had I known, I rather "insult" them than to make myself miserable

I bought from them is because they sell themselves as an aircon specialist and I trust that nothing will go wrong but I was wrong [knife]

Not the end yet.. [mad]

From thne picture, not really ugly leh.

Once you paint over it, it just look like a column. Btw, my condo unit also done in this manner by the developer.

Like many said here, supervision when work is being done is most important lor.

Mine was done by GC as well including my brother and 2 other friends. None has any problems so far 'cos we have people around during the work.

The servicing of the air-con is also reasonable and good. Once my air-con is not cold and asked for service, the guy came and clean while recommending not to pump gas first as it could be the filter dirty. After a week, it's not cold again and I called up. They came the next day to pump gas and the price is reasonable.

The service guy also help to remove our compressor's water basin installed long ago by non-GC. He got to climb out to remove it and all that's for free.

Only time is when my remote control sensor in one of the unit does not work properly and the guy changed it with his "own" spare telling me he'll charge me cheaper and will come down to change again if got problem. Thus he could not issue me a receipt. I guessed this must be a salvaged unit from a disposed air-con.

Anyway, I've booked a service appointment with GC this coming week. ^_^

Bought NEW aircon from them, they will discuss with you the layout before starting the job. Very happy with the performance so far.

Coming to repair of my old aircon; however, i was very disappointed. The repairman didn't know what is going on, finally he said compressor spolit.

So i got him to change new compressor and the unit was not cold again.

Air con not cold is either compressor spoil or no refrigerant (gas). If aircon no "wind" it's filter or cold dirty... but this can be visually inspected. No refrigerant, can use pressure gauge to check. So if aircon man tell u clear filter first then see, he is also trying to sell u an additional service. So do beware there are lots of air-conman ard...

thanks all for your replies :)

@Hoytusa84: of cos I am not so mean and evil lah, all new flats have aircon ledge for installer to work on. so how can one fall and die?

For those who have no problems with GC, I congrats u [:p]

back to my case, GC demanded 180 w/o gst to do the rework, why do I have to pay for my case? the installers would be consider specialist since they do this all the time. Would u teach them how to do their job? How would u feel if your boss constantly remind u how u should do your job duties?

OT abit, I talk abt mounting of LCD/plasma tv onto the wall.

Imagine u bought a LCD from GC, they sent their installer down. What do u tell them? I supposed it is only the location where u want to have it mounted. They start their job, drilling X nos of holes required on your wall and mount it up. After job completion, u realised the height is not right in sitting position or it is slanting. U feedback to them, they said their job is done and it is your fault for not reminding them during the process. Do u LLST or make a complaint? How abt when they add salt to your wound by saying "No rework is allowed unless u pay us rework fees..."

I am only ranting cos I am not happy... pls ignore me [laugh]

i think you are too hiam, just live with it

Agree, TS is too hiam, should be present to discuss the layout with the installer. I use GC from my air-con installation too, however I was present when they arrived so there was a discussion how to lay out. They also explained the difficulties in laying certain part of the house and will not proceed till we give the green light of the final layout. In this way I think they are professional enough. I think since you are not there, the layout planning was done with your reno contractor.

Bro, wait till u encountered something similiar issue like what happened to me, then u tell me how is your feeling..

伤不在你身, 你不知疼 [;)]