Taiwan: Advise for Free and Easy trip to Taiwan

Adrianli

Thanks and appreciated.

I'm also asking around with my friends and colleagues to see if they have been there.

Are you also bringing your family or just yourself?

Only going to Taipei?

I actually wanted to go Yilan and even as far as Hualien by train.

But after the Japan quake not sure if that's a good idea with small kids.

From Taipei to Jiansi/Yilan, the Kamalan Bus is the most convenient and comfy cos its highway all the way. From Yilan to Hualian, just take the train.

The whole eastern side of Taiwan have been experiencing aftershocks for the last 2 weeks but its all pretty "minor", between 3 to 4 magnitude only. The people here aren't even concern about it. There is definitely risk but guess you'll have to decide yourselve.

Having said that, if you do decide to go, can easily rent a car in Hualian or get those car with drivers to bring you around. Better still, if both you and wife can ride scooter, rent 2 and go around with it. You can ride a 50cc bike with a class 3.

From Taipei to Jiansi/Yilan, the Kamalan Bus is the most convenient and comfy cos its highway all the way. From Yilan to Hualian, just take the train.

The whole eastern side of Taiwan have been experiencing aftershocks for the last 2 weeks but its all pretty "minor", between 3 to 4 magnitude only. The people here aren't even concern about it. There is definitely risk but guess you'll have to decide yourselve.

Having said that, if you do decide to go, can easily rent a car in Hualian or get those car with drivers to bring you around. Better still, if both you and wife can ride scooter, rent 2 and go around with it. You can ride a 50cc bike with a class 3.

Thanks for the valuable info bro.

We have 2 kids under 5 so it's quite difficult for this trip.

But definitely something to consider when they are older. :D

They have always had this "tidah apa, couldn't be bothered" attitude, unlike the Japanese,

and that was why the death rate was so high during their "921" earthquake.

They have always had this "tidah apa, couldn't be bothered" attitude, unlike the Japanese,

and that was why the death rate was so high during their "921" earthquake.

If you are going to Taipei, try this hotel, one of the best I ever stayed in

Tango Nanshi

dsc2463.jpg

this chain of Tango hotel is great, i have stay there a couple of times, this above hotel is located very near to their MRT Zhong San station and opp/adj to Xing Huang San Yue malls, if u head to opp Xing Huang San Yue to 8th Floor, u can have very good Taiwan restaurant food at Xin Ye. Otherwise u can walk to this famous restaurant call Fei Qian Wu (loosely translated to Fat Front House). they serve very good Unagi rice and other stuff, walking distance from hotel not more than 10 mins.

for tango hotel they also have a branch nearer to taipei 101 and they serve dinner too, the best part is breakfast selection varies daily, i think dinner too but cant rem. they have freeflow coffee 24/7 and some light snacks in the fridge next to the coffect machine as well. 4* out of 5 for this hotel IMHO.

Edited by Dice

Just back from Taiwan trip last nite. Must really thank MO for the great help. Even brought me and my wife to the bus counter even thou he was going another way. Here is my actually itinerary :

Day 1 : SG -> Taiwan Taoyuan Airport -> Taipei Main Train Station -> Underground Mall -> Ximending -> Shilin Nite Market

Day 2 : Hobby shop -> Wufenpu -> Raohe Nite Market

Day 3 : Bali -> Danshui Old street -> Hobby shops -> Shilin Nite Market

Day 4 : Jiufen -> Guan Hua Digital Mall -> Tung Hwa Nite Market

Day 5 : Ximending -> Taiwan Taoyuan Airport -> SG

Never ate any proper meal, basically eating all the hawker food. [laugh]

ok bro.. pls update when u have returned.. thks.

Ok, just back, can advise u how to go Jiufen. :D

1. Take Metro to ZhongXiao Fuxing station.

2. Walk to Exit #1.

3. Upon Exit, the bus stop is immediately on ur left.

4. Take Keelung Bus no. 1062.

5. The fare is NT$102, paid either with exact cash or use of Easycard(Metro card)

6. Take the seats on the left side of the bus for great scenic views.

7. The whole trip will take abt 1hr.

8. When u reach, the driver will shout out that u have reached Jiufen.

9. Coming back, take the same bus from the opposite direction.

10. The bus route ends at JinShang Museum, so if u just want to visit Jiufen, drop off at Jiufen.

I was there at a bad time, it was a Sat + Qing Ming + Public Holiday. The place was super crowded and extremely commercialised. Every other home yard became a car/motorcycle carpark. Home owners charging drivers parking fees for parking at their compound. The view from Jiufen looking down the harbour was great but the Old Street was like any nite market. I attached the tourist map for ur guide.

post-2654-1301926900_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1301926950_thumb.jpg

haha welcome back bro...

actually wanted to go jiu Fen when I was at taiwan but kinda lazy so missed it...but from your pics seems like same as the 淡水老街 (Fisherman's Wharf) in taipei...hah.

My OC already wana go for the next trip again this year, back to Tai Chung for the 薰衣草森林 and 花海.. maybe will be another 2 weeks trip. [laugh]

Just back from Taiwan trip last nite. Must really thank MO for the great help. Even brought me and my wife to the bus counter even thou he was going another way. Here is my actually itinerary :

Day 1 : SG -> Taiwan Taoyuan Airport -> Taipei Main Train Station -> Underground Mall -> Ximending -> Shilin Nite Market

Day 2 : Hobby shop -> Wufenpu -> Raohe Nite Market

Day 3 : Bali -> Danshui Old street -> Hobby shops -> Shilin Nite Market

Day 4 : Jiufen -> Guan Hua Digital Mall -> Tung Hwa Nite Market

Day 5 : Ximending -> Taiwan Taoyuan Airport -> SG

Never ate any proper meal, basically eating all the hawker food. [laugh]

Bro. paisay, didn't helpyou much, only talk kok and point you directions niah.

We meet for kopi one weekend when I'm back. Yea, you forgot about the Qing Ming 4 day public holiday. Every where is crowded as hell!!

BTW, that girl we met on the plane, gave me and wife a lift to the high speed rail. [thumbsup]

Pays to help people. We offered her our company wen she comes over to Singapore, she'll be over in late July. Hahaha...My wife's new friend. :D

haha welcome back bro...

actually wanted to go jiu Fen when I was at taiwan but kinda lazy so missed it...but from your pics seems like same as the 淡水老街 (Fisherman's Wharf) in taipei...hah.

My OC already wana go for the next trip again this year, back to Tai Chung for the 薰衣草森林 and 花海.. maybe will be another 2 weeks trip. [laugh]

Go other places lah.

Haha..

Now I'm planning to visit Taiwan next month and is begining with my research [cool] . Plan to stay for around 6 days.

Not joining tours as I wanted the flexibility and not wanting to visit just any places and rush like mad :huh:.

It seems like Jiufen is a must visit place as well as Taroke. Night market for makan is always the Shinlin.

I have tentatively draft a list of places that I wish to visit (sorry 1st, my hanyu pinyin no good):

Jiu ju

Yehliu

Simon ting

dan shui

Tai da

gu gong

gong guan

hua xi jian

zhong hua jian

Yuren matou

seven stars hill

and etc...

Hopefully 6 days can cover.

Regards,

U staying in Taipei only or visiting various cities???

There are more than one nite market in Taipei alone. The last trip, visited Shilin, Raohe and Tung Hwa. Each has different food and shopping variety. We had all our meals at the nite markets, none in any restaurant.

U should aim to visit one place of interest for half a day, two in one day. Like that not very tiring and save on transport too. Look at the map where the places you want to visit and plan to group them according to their location.

I see u want to visit Yu Ren Ma Tou, Dan Shui and Yehliu, these are all northern part of taipei. So just plan to visit them all in one day. Morning set out to the most northern one, Yehliu, see the geo formation, then go to Yu Ren Ma Tou and then take a ferry ride Dan Shui. Dan Shui lots of food and shopping. Remember to try the extra extra long cone ice cream. If you like to buy 70's or 80's sweets or toys, take a ferry from Dan Shui to Bali. Nice relaxing stroll along the waterfront. The ferry operates between Dan Shui, Bali and Yu Ren Ma Tou.

Then if you want to visit the eastern part of taipei, can go to Jiu Fen, Gold Mine museum and Keelung harbour. My last trip only went to Jiu Fen.

Just do the grouping thing, save transport cost and save time.

Hi there,

Thank you very much for the tip.

I was wondering whether I can use Taipei as the base to go places? Or should I do it in such a way whereby if I go northern part, I take up lodging there if go central then put up there. The reason I asked because I'm not familar with the cost and efficiency of their public transportation yet.

Regards,

Hi there,

Thank you very much for the tip.

I was wondering whether I can use Taipei as the base to go places? Or should I do it in such a way whereby if I go northern part, I take up lodging there if go central then put up there. The reason I asked because I'm not familar with the cost and efficiency of their public transportation yet.

Regards,

Up to ur preference. The train service there is cheap and connects to almost everywhere. If you want to stay at one place and travel ard, stay ard Tapei Main Train Station. From my last trip, I notice that my every other trip on the mrt, sure have to pass by Taipei Main Train Station.

I'm going to Taiwan for 14 days n my colleague helped draw up an itinerary. Now looking for a driver. My boss went on a trip where the driver follow them whatever they go n slp. And its by sino-global travel agency. I called them but they quoted me quite exp. Anyone knows of such driver or travel agent in Taiwan directly?

Hi MO,

Is there any building/street in Taipei like our Sim Lim Square that selling every kind of computer/electronics/electrical products for me to look see look see???

I know there is one in Kaoshiung, its called Nova building or something like that. The whole building sellings computer stuff and the streets also have lots of stuff. Its near to the Kaoshiung train station.

Any building like that in Taipei???

Better think again before buying. Usage in Singapore quite troublesome because equipment there is 110 volts. Singapore voltage range from 220 - 240 volts unless the equipment comes with both voltage and a selector. :wacko:

Edited by Renegade777