CNA-LHL:"A-team" Leaders Needed To Ensure Singapore's Future

Vulcann

From Channel News Asia website:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1120849/1/.html

"A-team" leaders needed to ensure Singapore's future

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong says Singapore must develop the strongest possible team, with depth and resilience, to ensure its long term future.

An "A team" like this would have to include both competent ministers and younger ones, so as to enable Singapore to compete in the international league of nations.

Mr Lee was speaking to university students at the Kent Ridge Ministerial Forum entitled "Leadership Renewal: The 4th Generation and Beyond" at the University Cultural Centre on Tuesday.

Mr Lee said that assembling an outstanding team is not an easy task because in every election, his ruling People's Action Party (PAP) finds only three new MPs, on average, who can become Ministers.

He is confident he has put together an "A team", but he said he cannot assemble a second team and questioned how the opposition can find it easier to do so.

Mr Lee said a two-party system is not workable in Singapore because there is simply not enough talent to form two "A teams".

He emphasised that Singapore, more than any other country, needs capable leadership to tackle difficult challenges and maximise opportunities for the nation.

With a mediocre government, Singapore will fail, warned Mr Lee.

He said a two-party system will also throw up other problems, such as a division in society based on class or racial lines and groups pushing different policies.

And because there is a lack of talent, Mr Lee said he also disagrees with Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong's recent opinion that future ministers may end up serving only two terms.

Mr Lee said that is not possible because of the lack of numbers.

Mr Lee said Singapore has achieved this much today because of the various policies and systems the PAP government has put in place.

These include introducing policies to give all citizens a stake in the country's success and adapting a political system that will not be divisive for Singapore, such as creating the elected Presidency.

Today, Mr Lee said, Singapore's success is widely recognized.

He said the PAP accepts that some people will want to join the opposition and propound alternative policies.

But he added that as long as the government is competent and doing a good job for Singaporeans, Mr Lee hopes that the citizens will share the same cause with the PAP team to ensure that things remain on the right path.

Mr Lee called on Singaporeans to help this leadership renewal succeed, which he said will help the government develop good policies that will continue to bring prosperity and progress to Singapore.

"They (PAP team) need the voters' full support, not just to get elected but to deliver results for you....This is the way to safeguard our future - not to weaken the A team in the hope of buying insurance but to strengthen the A team to give it the best chance of succeeding," said Mr Lee.

"Over next 40 years, you will be building your careers and families. For you to do this in a secure, stable and prosperous Singa

From Channel News Asia website:

Ms Tin had drawn flake on the Internet for being too young and immature to become a Member of Parliament.

If it was just a forummer mentioning this, I would ignore... but this is CNA, for gawdsakes!

The correct term is drawn flak, not flake ... what the hell, did they think she was drawing snowflakes or cornflakes?

so that by 2020....we will have a younger team ready, able not only to maintain the present high standard of government, but to build on that and take Singa

my stand is still clear.. to improve, you need competition to keep you on your toes.. right now, there is no competition, so improvements are slow..

Anyway, i don't want "talents" for my A-teams.. we have lotsa qualified economists, lawyers, engineers which can easily fall into the "talent" category.. What i want is a govt who know what happen at the ground level.. eg, a Transport Minister who frequently takes the MRT and Buses during peak hour (WITHOUT SMRT/SBS staff clearing way for him). A govt who knows inflation is hitting hard against citizens and WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT, something as simple as not charging GST for basic food items like rice, cooking oil, flour etc. HDB who is serious about providing affordable housing and not just providing 'market subsidy' of 50-80k off the market price.

Edited by Shull

If it was just a forummer mentioning this, I would ignore... but this is CNA, for gawdsakes!

The correct term is drawn flak, not flake ... what the hell, did they think she was drawing snowflakes or cornflakes?

maybe the writer means dandraff????

Well... its the P. A-team. P

watch out, PAP will knock on your door tonight.....

sir, sorry to wake you up or interupt your sexual pleasure so late.......... would you like to be our team manager now that you have build the team for us...... honestly our feet are cold, need you to help us fight this erection..........

How misleading and doublespeak they employ.

Since they knew that Singapore is too small for competition, then why have GLCs privatised compete against each other.

Should not these companies like SBSTransit and SMRT, Singtel and Starhub etc be allowed to remain Stat Boards?

When an argument suits them, they say all sorts of things. But when it comes to their ricebowl, everything cannot change. Sheez.

Ditto GCT says in thefuture, ministers serves two terms, but the current underperformers st5ill dont want to step down. [furious]

Anyway [wave] to you white ghosts.

How sure he is that Opposition cannot find someone able to be an MP? I guess it is because people like Chen Siow Mao and Syvia Lim or even Vincent do not want to join them...so they can only find 3 in each election...sad

''And because there is a lack of talent, Mr Lee said he also disagrees with Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong's recent opinion that future ministers may end up serving only two terms.

Mr Lee said that is not possible because of the lack of numbers.''

Now they also don't agree with each other liao?....never discuss internal first before speaking to the public?haha

''And because there is a lack of talent, Mr Lee said he also disagrees with Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong's recent opinion that future ministers may end up serving only two terms.

Mr Lee said that is not possible because of the lack of numbers.''

Now they also don't agree with each other liao?....never discuss internal first before speaking to the public?haha

oops...somebody's gonna get his ass Party Whipped for this.... :wacko:

spotted in 2007 at the age of 23 years old ???? walao ehh .....

KNN.....speaking at NUS can be spotted? I think she was married to her super PA hubby at 22 year old right? of course got spotted lah...

it's to win uni students and graduates votes .... at 27 you can become mp and door wide opened to million-dollar minister [lipsrsealed]

KNN.....speaking at NUS can be spotted? I think she was married to her super PA hubby at 22 year old right? of course got spotted lah...

He said a two-party system will also throw up other problems, such as a division in society based on class or racial lines and groups pushing different policies.

isn't it also so with present situation?

republican and democrat better not see this video [laugh]