Having 2 baby car seats for a 5 seater car

Tingshen

I am having a Latio now and planning to have the 2nd baby. The car seat I'm using is quite big (360 degree turning from Combi). We plan to use the same for the 2nd baby. Currently my first baby is about 15months old.

If I need to use 2 of this combi 360 degree turning car seat, I am afraid that my wife may not have enough space to sit in between with 2 car seats installed at the back.

I have 2 questions:

1. What's the youngest age for toddler to use a basic toddler seat / booster seat?

2. What is the 5 seater car that has good space to house 2 such car seats yet having enough space at the centre? (besides Edix?)

Any other suggestions are welcome!

I try not to go beyond 5 seaters categories.....

I am having a Latio now and planning to have the 2nd baby. The car seat I'm using is quite big (360 degree turning from Combi). We plan to use the same for the 2nd baby. Currently my first baby is about 15months old.

If I need to use 2 of this combi 360 degree turning car seat, I am afraid that my wife may not have enough space to sit in between with 2 car seats installed at the back.

I have 2 questions:

1. What's the youngest age for toddler to use a basic toddler seat / booster seat?

2. What is the 5 seater car that has good space to house 2 such car seats yet having enough space at the centre? (besides Edix?)

Get MPV la ... i got a Wish coz i had my 2nd one .... compact MPVs not much diff from sedans i feel

I think boster seat at least 6-7 yrs.

I dunno which sedan have so large space leh ... Camry? Looks large enough ...

the problem about MPV is.....

the last row is so near to the road....if accident happen...sure kena jialat jialat one......that's what I'm worrying...

Normal sedan at least has the boot as buffer....

Edited by Tingshen

the problem about MPV is.....

the last row is so near to the road....if accident happen...sure kena jialat jialat one......that's what I'm worrying...

Normal sedan at least has the boot as buffer....

i was thinking about that as well .. but still went ahead ... coz some idiot can just bang u by the side as well .. . still up lorry big time ....

Had a combi baby seat (big one) at the back n a booster seat in front.....back can take only 2 more adults..cant even squeeze in one more...

my son has using the booster seat since 3-4 years old...save more space...

regarding your concern of the 3rd row passengers if your car kana from behind.....u can consider SUV 7seater instead...high so lesser risk...

but if kana big time still up lorry

Actually your wife can sit in the front seat. I will not trust to sit my kids in the last row of an MPV/SUV. Most cars are designed with side impact in mind, but few design much for the rear impact.

I have 2 questions:

for booster seat, your child needs to reach a certain height and weight...

see link

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Booster_seat#Booster_seats

Edited by Fireball0088

I have 2 questions:

How old will your first kid be when the 2nd one comes?

depending on that , your first kid can be placed in front while your wife sits behind with the younger one.

I made do with a 2 door coupe and 2 kids.

recently changed to a 4dr coupe with 4 seats.

so I'm sure it's no problem for you.

Edited by Throttle2

Get MPV la ... i got a Wish coz i had my 2nd one .... compact MPVs not much diff from sedans i feel

I think boster seat at least 6-7 yrs.

I dunno which sedan have so large space leh ... Camry? Looks large enough ...

Me too got a wish bcos of that lolz

I have 2 questions:

depend on weight actually. my start seating booaster at around 26 months. till date.

what you can do if you died died want 2 hugh child seat is to place the older child at the font. by 2 years plus, they are quite okay. so 1 child infont another one behind.

2 big child seat at the back of a normal sedan car is quite squeezy. Oso need to bear in mind in the early days of the 2nd one, the infant would need the mother's attention quite frequently... so prolly cant put 2 car seats and mum sit in front...

one option is to put one child seat in front and another behind. But, need to disable the front passenger air balloon. I personally dun like it cos it does seem more risky to put a child in the front seat.

what i did was to buy an infant carrier car seat (ard $100). it is used for infants up to 1 year old or 12kg. It is smaller than a full child seat. That way, the back of my car comprises the child seat, infant seat and my wife sits in-between. Not fully comfy but my wife can still sufficient space. My wife is medium built.

This allows time for my elder one (going to be 4 yrs old in Jun) to beef up more until she can transit to the booster seat safely. Then my younger one can take over the car seat, since he just turned 1.

I have 2 questions:

how about a SUV? 5 seater also plus definitely have a larger shoulder room as compared to normal sedans..

I think I can help you out on this. And you definitely do not need an MPV just because you have 2 young children. I know this as I regretted getting an MPV and end up "under-using" the seats. In the end, I sold the MPV within a year & switched to a 5-seat SUV.

For your information, I'm using 2 "large & bulky" car infant seats (read: Britax + Safe & Sound) in the back of the car & yet able to accomodate another adult (maid) in the centre & you'll be surprised that quite a number of cars suit your requirements, you just have to test out the space physically when u visit the showrooms.

Edited by LandieA3

I think I can help you out on this. And you definitely do not need an MPV just because you have 2 young children. I know this as I regretted getting an MPV and end up "under-using" the seats. In the end, I sold the MPV within a year & switched to a 5-seat SUV.

For your information, I'm using 2 "large & bulky" car infant seats (read: Britax + Safe & Sound) in the back of the car & yet able to accomodate another adult (maid) in the centre & you'll be surprised that quite a number of cars suit your requirements, you just have to test out the space physically when u visit the showrooms.

How does your maid get in and out of the car? Remove one of the baby seats every time ? [knife]

I also using Britax and it is surely big..

I am going the opposite way and getting a bigger vehicle, so that no need fiddle with the baby seats and yet all can enter/exit and seat comfy...

I have 2 questions:

if that you are going for MPV, make sure that Pram fits the car including the car seats.

Was driving a car with a big boot before and forgotten that MPVs have small boots.

Luckily test the pram before buying and fits just nice with no space for other stuffs.

which SUV are you driving.

to the thread starter, alternatively you can try to find 5 seater sedans with a 3point seat belt for the middle rear seat. This way the child seats can be in the middle and right side and your wife can sit on the left. I am using this combination with Combi Coccoro seats on a Suzuki Liana for my Kids. the 2Year old sits on the right side, forward facing, the 5mth old is in the middle seat rear facing. the left seat is still comfortable enough for me at 1.73m. If a 3rd kid comes along, the oldest will probably move to the front seat with a booster.

The liana has also ISOFIX for the 2 left and right rear seats. but i decided not to get ISOFIX seats as they are super bulky. also we do frequently transfer to car seats out to my parents and parents-in-law cars, when they take care of them. the combi coccoro seats are light enough to be transferred without any strain. So the key for such a combination is the 3 point seat belt for the middle seat as this will give you the flexibility you need.