Netizens bombard PM with questions on Facebook chat

Tom_kkh

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_664767.html

PRIME Minister Lee Hsien Loong was bombarded with thousands of questions during his online chat with netizens on the People's Action Party's (PAP) Facebook page on Wednesday night.

Most of them raised hot-button issues that have been cropping up on different platforms and at political rallies in the past week. These include the influx of foreign talent, cost of living and rising housing and transport costs.

The Facebook chat with PM Lee started at 8pm but hundreds of questions and comments, with some pledging support for the PAP and expressing words of encouragement for the Prime Minister, had started pouring in much earlier.

Within four minutes after PM started the chat, more than 200 questions and comments had flooded the page.

Responding to a question from Visakan Veerasamy who had asked if it was morally justified for public transport companies to make hundreds of millions in profits from commuters and if some of this could be passed on to the poor to pay for their bus fares, Mr Lee replied: 'We put billions of dollars in govt money to help subsidise the tunnels, trains and bus interchanges. I think that's morally justified, don't u think so?'

He also sought to assuage concerns over the influx of foreign talent. 'We are not planning to make a 6+ million population. Not trying to get there. Don't worry,' replied the PM to a netizen.

Who mentioned that the MPs are well connected with the ppl on the ground? Why do they still ask PM so many questions?

I think there were more thorny issues raised, but as usual sidestepped well and bring us go holland walk around.

just how much is spent in building the MRT? SMRT has been reporting PROFITS EVERY YEAR in the millions.

plus they are paying higher dividends each year to their shareholders.

again it is just corporation gains.

I also don't understand. Transportation company is so-called privatised here, govt pump in lots of money to subsidise the infrastructure... and this is justification for the company to earn huge profits??? I think the questioner also blur [confused]

If you can't convince them... confuse them! [laugh]

Never trust MIW...many wayang kings n queens inside...S'poreans kena whacked by them so many times aredi...It's time to wake up.

It's only when people on the ground make a lot of noise then they pay attention. Otherwise u tink LHL cares? He would continue 2 run S'pore like his mpire where he will take advantage of the political daftness of some of our citizens.

If u giv them full mandate, u tink LHL would bother to hav a facechat with young netizens? He wouldn't even bother.

Sensing the heated sentiment on the ground, LHL knows tat he has no choice but to face this n try 2 pacify us. He's trying to cool down the fire. He knows that some of the older generation r fearful of them but the majority of the Gen X and Y n perhaps some baby boomers r not afraid of MIW. Thus, now he changes his tone and try 2 engage the young thru the Net.

Now polling day is not even conducted n over yet n MIW r now feeling SO FEARFUL of us.

So who has the UPPER HAND? Of course we the citzens of S'pore. When we vote in more OPPOSITION to represent us, they have no choice but to buck up n pull up their socks. So it's good for S'poreans.

When Nicole Seah apologised for the Muslim community issue on behalf of Chinese S'poreans, now LHL also has no choice but to apologise n improve MIW public image. MIW cannot be projected to have an ungracious image. Tats embarassing n shameful to MIW cos Nicole is only 24.

When there are MORE OPPOSITION MPs in parliament, the opposition MPs would want MIW to be more accountable n LHL n i believe there would b fewer mistakes made by ruling MIW. Perhaps maybe S'poreans would c more apologies from MIW 2 us when they do make occasional mistakes.

FULL MANDATE TO PAP = Ignore u n dun listen 2 ur concerns, probably of making MANY mistakes higher

1/3 Opposition in parliament = They hav no choice but 2 listen 2 u more, there would b more debates in parliament b4 policies r implemented. That would reduce probability of making more mistakes

No mention of Gangsters-Rob-Citizens barred citizens from voting the candidate of the citizens' choice? This morning found only PAP posters on lampposts in Ang Mo Kio? What happened? Is cooling off day for campaigning online?

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

Who mentioned that the MPs are well connected with the ppl on the ground? Why do they still ask PM so many questions?

Does it appear that the whole A-team is not in Singapore most of the time? Or they emigrated unannounced already?

Everything is for show and if u are taken in n vote them, all of us will pay n repent for the next 5 yes. Pls do the right thing.

3rd Gear

I also don't understand. Transportation company is so-called privatised here, govt pump in lots of money to subsidise the infrastructure... and this is justification for the company to earn huge profits??? I think the questioner also blur [confused]

that's what politician do best <_<

He sy not 6+ million but maybe 5.8 million, not 6 mill what so no lie there.

MM SAY will import another 900,000 so should be 5,5 + 0.9 = 6.4M , who to belive , MM or PM ?

Paiseh the $$ govt pump is in our $...use our $ to subsidise the infrastructure and let listed transportation company earn our $...sibei best! [thumbsup]

Best part then these companies charge us more....and all this is justified?