Recommendations on Taiping

Enye

Can anybody offer any recommendations on things to do and eat in Taiping?

Thanks!

Its my home town, its an old town... they have a zoo there and they have some very nice nature landscape... We go fishing at Slim river and there are a few waterfalls around as well.. Its more of the chill out kinda place...

I usually eat at the Fajar hawker centre in the morning, the chee cheong fan is super nice, it melts in your mouth, the kopi peng is super nice and the nyona kueh is super cheap and nice too...

Afternoon i will eat KFC cos the KFC in msia is super nice, nicer than SG

Night I will eat at the hotel, the food not bad and there is ramly burger which I tapow back to the hotel hahaha..

Quite alot of stuff to eat there lah if you not particular, the food in Taiping is exceptionally nice cos they use "mineral water" there as if you know Taiping is actually on a hill/mountain hahaha (but not as high as Genting Highlands lah)

U can visit Taiping Lake Garden, Railway Station(1st train station in Malaysia) http://taipingtalk.com/railway/,

Zoo Taiping and Museum.

As for food, Ice Kacang, Chinese Mee Rebus, Wanton Noodles and Fried Fishball Noodles/kuey teow at Fajar Hawker Centre or formerly Larut Matang and Selama Supermarket). Chendol(Nearly to taiping St George Secondary School). Kai Si Hor Fun From KAKA and many more.

Need more information please visit the following link, Photos of taiping and all those nice foods information.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/IMT...gLang?sk=photos.

Enjoy.....

Thanks for the tips guys.

One question....is Fajar Hawker Centre in the town centre?

I don't use GPS so please don't tell me coordinates. [blush]

Stay at legend inn... can walk around... its very near the fajar food place...

Things that I like to eat in Taiping will be:

Chee Cheong Fan (Before 11am)

Nyona kueh/ham chee peng

Char Keow Teow

KFC

Curry Mee

Ngoh Tau Foo

Prawn noodles (penang style)

Ramly burger

See if you can buy made in Taiping

Tau Sah Ping

and Taiping Coffee

Oh when we go up to Taiping, we usually stay 4D3N and on the 1st 2 days we will stay in Taiping then on the 3rd day we will move up to Penang which is about 1.5 hours drive and back... then on the 4th day after we check out we will drive 1 hour drive to Ipoh as well.... We go to the slim river in Ipoh to fish..

Can go Maxwell Hill as suggested quite nice... I went twice when i was really young, now i cant go cos i motion sickness so i cant go up the hill hahahaha...

If you go Ipoh makan can spend the day at the hotspring theme park, maybe stay one more day then zip back to SG...

Usually my family will do a 5D4N, 4D3N in Taiping and 1N in KL or Malacca :)

I am going for 2N in Taiping and 2N in Cameron.

Maxwell Hill easy to negotiate with MPV?

How far up to the peak and how long does it take?

Edited by Enye

i been there once about 5-6yrs ago.

order anything you like at the hawker centre.

all the food so cheap. Less than M$20 can fill the whole table.

As for Maxwell Hill, nothing must to see. Just a relaxing place and enjoying the cold weather. On top of the hill have some chalets.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_quer...l+hill&aq=0

U can't go up the hill/peak on your own. Driving not allowed. U must take their jeep in order to go up there.

Walking up the hill can but will take u 3 hours journey. So better take their transport.

Since u going to Cameron Highland too, u can enjoy the cold weather as maxwell too. Beside that cameron got plantations and other activity too. Maxwell just a place for relaxing.

Hope u enjoy your trips.

Took my car to clear carbon last week & was too carried away. By then, overshot Ipoh & realised I was near Taiping. Decided to stay around the lakeside a few days & explore the region. 

It was hazy from the fire in Indonesia but no arid smell. 

20190925_124715.thumb.jpg.01e57ef39960ad600f8dc38c7b0aea82.jpg

Stayed at sentosa villa at the foothill of Bt Larut (formerly Maxwell Hill). View fr balcony.

20190925_162909.thumb.jpg.c50d998bc053b31798b6e49f256705bb.jpg

Frontage of main building where individual rooms are. 

20190925_162748.thumb.jpg.c5ab9734de5378190364baf884fb898b.jpg

Old scooters on display. This building has no elevators, fyi.  20190925_162847.thumb.jpg.de86a96fbae1250fcf4b38d3805cf1f7.jpg

Chalets within the grounds. Has a few old durian trees & shallow wading pool with running water.

20190925_162827.thumb.jpg.474fe0f0bbfa316dd530411be00e9b4e.jpg

20190925_162809.thumb.jpg.dcdc45fa9bb5584778db4dd8daff1148.jpg

Since it was a cool 27°C, went to Taiping Night Safari. Ticket included train ride. 

Only took a few pics because it was so dark. 

20190925_164248.thumb.jpg.837074b4bf1d538e281f9a6621b4c93b.jpg

20190925_164259.thumb.jpg.8bdd1b5e96b50f90760bed99c62041ae.jpg

Free roaming birds

20190925_164309.thumb.jpg.5de840a985a2b649c20d4da1a10d6c52.jpg

20190925_164322.thumb.jpg.ece36e70ca6a1134c916db3a4e4322bd.jpg

20190925_164336.thumb.jpg.6dec395466c9af2584df87fc4b499b87.jpg