Windows cannot wind up or down

Tailgatepro

my windows cannot wind up or down at one of the windows, the rest is working.

One of the Hi-fi workshop tested and said no power going to the motor and he didn't know more detail.

I do ask him is it "fuse" but he said cannot be.

so anyone know what the reason?

Honda airwave.

ask yr workshop mechanic to check see wheather is main pwr window switch or yr the dr to the pwr window switch work anot, or could be some wiring problem sometimes could be the pwr window motor u can try it yrslf by light bang on yr tirm board u think which door and press on the up & down button see whether it works anot try it out bro sometimes it works if u bang on the door it works could be yr motor kaput le then

Edited by Swiftboi

Is there any unusual sounds before the power window fail ?

For my case about 1yr back, there was a loud "puck" sound, the plastic pulley bracket [of the window regulator/winder] cracked.

To test whether the motor is ok, park at a quiet location. Place your ear to the door, operate the window button, listen for motor operating. If you can hear the motor running, then there is something wrong with the mechanism. If motor is not running, try checking the fuse. Likely you need to refer to the manual for the fuse location.

One of the Hi-fi workshop tested and said no power going to the motor and he didn't know more detail.

He was actually trying to tell you that "I really don't know and don't waste my time if you don't want to upgrade the speakers system and head unit"

LOL, that right - do sound system doesn't know abt windows electrical system.

try and error until he give up.

Is there any unusual sounds before the power window fail ?

For my case about 1yr back, there was a loud "puck" sound, the plastic pulley bracket [of the window regulator/winder] cracked.

To test whether the motor is ok, park at a quiet location. Place your ear to the door, operate the window button, listen for motor operating. If you can hear the motor running, then there is something wrong with the mechanism. If motor is not running, try checking the fuse. Likely you need to refer to the manual for the fuse location.

I second that.

Should be mechanical issue don't seem like a ele issue only affect one window

This thread reminds me of wat happened two yrs ago on my prev ride, kelisa. Went for supper on a fri night n decided to enjoy the fresh air thus wind down my window to the max. When I reach east coast, the bloody window cannot wind up n I tried n tried evry stupid ways but to no avail. In the end LLST go mac drive thru n den sleep in my car till the next morning. Went to workshop ard 9am n they only took 15 mins++ to solve it. Power window jammed n they apply some lubricant to it. Dunno if got change fuse or not. M'sia cars r well known for this probs. Even my fren Gen2 always got this stupid issue.

I think read from shell '100tips on saving on car' a free gift many many years back. It is a red palm size book

In the book it mention not to fully open window, higher chance of breaking the cable or something when going over hump ot pothole. Any expert can share the why is it so.

I think read from shell '100tips on saving on car' a free gift many many years back. It is a red palm size book

In the book it mention not to fully open window, higher chance of breaking the cable or something when going over hump ot pothole. Any expert can share the why is it so.

I am just a layman, and would like to share my power window problem with my Fiat Panorama. The design is not user-friendly, you need to press/lift the button continuously to open/close the window. The window will stop once you release your finger. However, when the window reach the bottom/top, you must promptly release your finger. Otherwise, the motor is still trying to wind the cable, and this cause the mechanism [cable, pulleys, brackets, rail] to be under "stress" until you subsequently reverse the window movement.

I am a very "kiasu" guy, and will constantly check whether fully close the driver window by habitually lifting the button. One fine day, the plastic pulley bracket finally cracked. Now dare not to be "itchy finger". And we draw a marker line on the window panes as a visual guide not to go down to full bottom.

I still prefer my ex-OPEL Combo van. You just need to toggle the switch momentarily, and the window will open/close and auto-stop at fully open/close. If you toggle the switch anytime, the window at instantly stop at that position. I think most other cars would have this system.

hi guys

my hyundai accent window also have this problem. Unable to wind down my left window. i check with komoco and then they told me that i need to change the motor and some rubber stuff....total cost amount to 400++

i feel that this is too expensive. any idea which workshop i could go to? Any recommendation?

my windows cannot wind up or down at one of the windows, the rest is working.

so anyone know what the reason?

Honda airwave.

Mine city also faced to same prb.. had check liao.. window motor kaput.. only KM have..need to oder from oversea .. cost $300 ~ $400 plus exluded workmanship..

another alterative is to go scapyard there to find the motor..but i hack care le..

i kena this window porblem oso with my Latio....motor concuss liao...lucky tat time still under warranty...go back to TCM...repair FOC...together with my aircon compressor..the bugger there said if not under warranty...kena pay abt $1k++

See if you can swap a switch over from a different side. Sometimes its just dirty contacts in the switch. If that doesnt work, why not look into second hand ones from scrap yards? I saved nearly 400 bucks by buying a tested used one from a scrap yard and installing it myself.

these days...power window parts veri expensive...single side repairs...cost 300 to 400 bux...

my doblo...cable pulley bracket broke it coses the cable wire to run haywire..replace the whole set...everythings including the motor, damage was 360bux just the parts.

last time i drove a second hand car which the power window could not work also.

when i went to a mech and opened up the door panel, we found no mechanism inside the door ... just a piece of wooden pole holding up the glass window permanently !!