Check Engine Light and Sluggish Performance

Kusje

The throttle body of lancer ex 1.5 needs to be cleaned every 50K. Else check engine light will show and engine can only go up to 2K rpm only. I also driving ex 1.5, encountered twice liao. After cleaning throttle body and reset ecu ok le.

Hmm, how come you drive so much? I got the EX when it was just launched and just passed 50k not too long ago but you've already passed 100k?

BTW, Throttle body can clean myself? Complete car n00b here.

Hi Bros...my ride is suzuki liana, a wk ago check engine light on & off intermittence. hav sluggish when rpm at 2000. but when rpm is above 2000 @ 90-100km, engine performance is normal. Any advice??

With K&N filter for mine. But throttle body is really dirty at 50000km...

K&N or most "sports" filter wil b very dirty.

TB needs to b cleaned often.

Mine original filter n now >100K km still never clean. [thumbsup]

Hmm, how come you drive so much? I got the EX when it was just launched and just passed 50k not too long ago but you've already passed 100k?

If u r a noob, then better not try.

Wait here n there spoil u go CnC wil get a bill of $2K. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Come to see me. I clean fr u. Only $100. [thumbsup]

Hi Bros...my ride is suzuki liana, a wk ago check engine light on & off intermittence. hav sluggish when rpm at 2000. but when rpm is above 2000 @ 90-100km, engine performance is normal. Any advice??

Sell the car n buy a real car.

Chevrolet Optra Estate. [thumbsup]

Mine also around 50k+ then give problem.....

my 3+ yrs had the same problem, it happened once every year.

i used to change the stock air filter to those after market type, same situation as urs.

c&c first clean the TB, 2nd incident replace a new TB for me and air filter to stock.

after all that, no problem at all..

btw a new TB cost around 1K..

mine 97000km already, been shuttling between jalan bahar (wife's place)n sengkang where i live. 2008 car. you can clean yourself, can go lancer ex club to see, they have a writeup there.

Sell the car n buy a real car.

Chevrolet Optra Estate. [thumbsup]

one of the better korean cars for a cheap thrill/steal/drive yes, but not a "real car" for sure

a riduculous car which has all its door handles breaking twice under warranty period , imagine have to go chevolet claim door handle 1 at a time for 8 times...

engine top also leak, side seals also leak, less than 2 yr...lol

poorly designed chassis frame for PSP rack also

chevolet also cant answer

one of the better korean cars for a cheap thrill/steal/drive yes, but not a "real car" for sure

a riduculous car which has all its door handles breaking twice under warranty period , imagine have to go chevolet claim door handle 1 at a time for 8 times...

engine top also leak, side seals also leak, less than 2 yr...lol

poorly designed chassis frame for PSP rack also

chevolet also cant answer

Er....Dunno how come u got such a lemon.

Mine driving coming >100K km n 5 years still very good. No major or silly problems leh. Those frens drive Chevy also say not bad leh?

But I never go agent. I only buy my own parts n get my own WS to do anything on the car.

[lipsrsealed] But I was just doing a promo fr my car lah. Push up the price then sell at a good profit. [:p]

Er....Dunno how come u got such a lemon.

Mine driving coming >100K km n 5 years still very good. No major or silly problems leh. Those frens drive Chevy also say not bad leh?

But I never go agent. I only buy my own parts n get my own WS to do anything on the car.

[lipsrsealed] But I was just doing a promo fr my car lah. Push up the price then sell at a good profit. [:p]

Not true leh. I heard similar stories like Furrynadz about .......... [:p]

K&N or most "sports" filter wil b very dirty.

TB needs to b cleaned often.

Mine original filter n now >100K km still never clean. [thumbsup]

Advisable to get it checked and cleaned.

The usage of the original air filter does not guarantee the TB will be clean. Personal experience. :D

Just that it will not be as dirty as aftermarket ones like K&N or Hurricane.

I usually clean my TB once a year.

With K&N filter for mine. But throttle body is really dirty at 50000km...

If using K&N, it is usually advisable to clean the TB around 40k mileage.

Ideally it is 20k mileage which is a year's mileage for some drivers.

The excessive vibration can also be due to worn engine mountings.

Vibrations due to engine mountings are different from those that of spark plugs or dirty throttle body.

Actually K&N air filter let dirt in easily...very common...that why it is called "FilterCharger".

That is quite true. But comparing all other aftermarket brands, apart from Apexi, this seems to be a more decent and better filter. In my opinion.

Mine with original filter >100K km still no problems. [thumbsup]

Underlying problem waiting to happen...... [laugh]

my 3+ yrs had the same problem, it happened once every year.

i used to change the stock air filter to those after market type, same situation as urs.

c&c first clean the TB, 2nd incident replace a new TB for me and air filter to stock.

after all that, no problem at all..

btw a new TB cost around 1K..

Some cars are more sensitive than others.

Vibrations due to engine mountings are different from those that of spark plugs or dirty throttle body.

What are the symptoms of those related to engine or transmission mounting