I want my $2.2 million back

Greatbirdlegend

Too trusting, too complacent or just too dumb?

I'm talking abour Mr Wu. :D

One thing is for sure...Mr Wu is very rich.

-----

'I want my $2.2 million back', says boss

AsiaOne

Thu, Jun 09, 2011

By Karen W Lim

SINGAPORE - She loved luxury goods so much that she stole from her former boss to purchase them, and although she has been sentenced to a 59-month jail term and declared a bankrupt, he still wants his $2.2 million back.

Former personal assistance Samantha Chiam was sued by her boss, Mr David Wu, in the High Court in August last year.

She had stolen $1.3 million from him between 2006 and 2009 by forging his signature on his personal cheques and used it to splurge on branded goods.

Click on thumbnail to view (Photos: ST, TNP, Reuters)

Chiam, who told her psychiatrist: "Without my branded goods, I am nothing", forged Mr Wu's signature on a cheque for US$500,000 (S$615,000), then shopped at luxury boutiques, spending at least $10,000 at Loui Vuitton and $30,000 at Chanel each time.

Chiam, 30, who is a mother of three young children, managed to amass an extravagant collection of branded goods, including 200 pairs of shoes, 80 bags, jewellery and luxury watches, reported The New Paper.

RELATED STORIES

Brand-obsessed woman's Great S'pore Swindle

The Straits Times reported that Mr Wu, 38, obtained a court order to declare Chiam a bankrupt as she could not return the money. Chiam has since been convicted on nine counts of forgery, with 24 similar charges and one charge of converting benefits of criminal conduct was taken into consideration.

But Mr Wu, a Taiwanese who has lived in Singapore for 16 years and runs Triple Electronic, a Singapore-based firm which distributes electronic parts and has branches in Taiwan, the United States, Malaysia and China, told The Straits Times that he was not satisifed.

"In one year, she earns no more than $30,000. I got back close to $600,000 which she would have to work at least 2 years to earn.

She worked for me less than five years and took so much money. Who knows where she has kept the rest? When she gets out of jail, she can still enjoy it."

"I was understanding and lenient and yet she has shown no remorse or regret," he said.

Mr Wu trusted her to take care of his personal matters as he travelled often and made it clear the money she stole was from his personal account, not company funds.

"It's not a money issue. I'm very offended because she is not sorry.

"If she took the money for her family or kids, I can let it go. But it was to buy bags," said Mr Wu.

He also said that Chiam did not even say sorry.

"I will pursue this my whole life."

[email protected]

Wu probably employed her due to her nice Asx and not due to her competence in fulfilling her tasks required by the job!

Serve such Sinkie ...RIGHT!

Oh by the way...Mr Wu...you are very lucky she did not take more then money from you!

So be grateful instead of being vengeful [laugh]

how come she stolen $1.3mil ,,, den mr wu wan 2.2mil ????

so how much she took???

she return $600k liao mah.. so should be left 700k??

he muz b so rich until he never realise $$ missing from his PERSONAL account..

2006-2009 is 3 years..

3 years and he never realise...

yalor...$10 missing from my account i also will notice. [:(]

you should see if mr wu still single...got chance. [;)]

Wu probably employed her due to her nice Asx and not due to her competence in fulfilling her tasks required by the job!

Serve such Sinkie ...RIGHT!

Oh by the way...Mr Wu...you are very lucky she did not take more then money from you!

So be grateful instead of being vengeful [laugh]

Mr Wu is a Taiwanese who lived here so not a Singaporean.

If he is anything, then it got to be too trusting. But, what kind of Boss would trust a staff to this extent??

Anyway, I wonder how come no internal checks in place for all these kind of misappropriation cases? Mr Wu ought to relook at his Finance Staff & Auditors too. Best part is, how can anyone who do such a deed at night sleep peacefully without their conscience biting into them.

Only rich people will not notice $$ missing from account. To him is just loose change...but wat he say is correct..if steal money to feed family nothing to say...but to buy branded bags....ccb....

am sure she has asset right? cannot auction off and get back something?

i dun wan FT.. WHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA.. [laugh]

Hey come on la...we cannot discriminate against foreigners.

Imagine he so trusting on a staff....how much more he will thrust you. [laugh][;)]

Hey come on la...we cannot discriminate against foreigners.

Imagine he so trusting on a staff....how much more he will thrust you. [laugh][;)]

okok..

i try.. then i split his assets with u..

i 60. u 40. [laugh] [laugh]

Mr Wu is a Taiwanese who lived here so not a Singaporean. This has nothing to do with what type of citizenship...it is a matter of being able to understand human kind type of 'colors'!

If he is anything, then it got to be too trusting. But, what kind of Boss would trust a staff to this extent?? Maybe she allows him to ruba, ruba...we don't know...maybe he thought he stand a chance of 'one night stand with her' by working 'his way in'? [sly]

Anyway, I wonder how come no internal checks in place for all these kind of misappropriation cases? Mr Wu ought to relook at his Finance Staff & Auditors too. Best part is, how can anyone who do such a deed at night sleep peacefully without their conscience biting into them. You don't seem to want to know.... that there are many colors that humans are capable of!

I hope you are not such a moron in real life as demostrated by your post! [laugh]

anyway your tiger avatar is too old liao...time to change!

okok..

i try.. then i split his assets with u..

i 60. u 40. [laugh] [laugh]

wah you so generous. :wub:

no la you do all the hard and dirty work...无功不受禄

when you rich just remember the poorer bros in MCF and don't be too haolian. [laugh]

wats the purpose of pple having to sign on cheques when signature forgery gets past the bank and bank bears no responsibility in this? i.e. refund the money to mr wu?

Sorry hor...your money...you better safe guard it the best way..

Banks owe you no responsiblity! :D

The bank did not detect the forged signature or notify signatory of unusual large amount of cash cheques? How come the bank is not holding any responsiblity in this case? :huh:

Jail 5 yrs for $1.3M which is about >$200K a yr. quite worth it since she is only earning $30K a yr.