Endoscopy

Davidklt

Thinking are the two test duration very long or the sedation too powerful, as the whole procedure took 2 hours?

Lol at "asscopy" :D good one Mockngbrd

Dad had to get a cystoscopy from Gleneagles. Thats through the freaking tip of the penis :o He is 70+ and managed to catch prostate cancer early. A few surgical procedures with them but afterwards opted for a new treatment method in NUH. Fully recovered now.

I don't think I can handle it [shakehead]

How does cystocopy done? Sounds even scary than endoscopy! Edited by 13177

Anyway, the Gleneagle doc put me under sedation the last time I did 2 years ago for my Endoscopy and Colonoscopy.

This is correct.

It's not a GA but a sedation which makes you have a light sleep without the downside of GA.

are you a 12yro who likes to peep into things, holes? [grin]

Perhaps. I am only 12yro, still at a learning stage, still curious about many things, including holes. You are "koko" please guide me lor... [:p]

go ask the master radx

Havent done any , any difference from endoscopy & colonscopy ?

Wad can be found form the test . . .

Im in mid 50s. Thx

There are many types of endoscopy procedure, for example, Arthroscopy, Gastroscopy, Colonoscopy etc. Go to the links below for detailed explanation.

I did my Gastroscopy in Apr 2011, and Colonoscopy on Oct 2012 at SGH. Both procedures were conducted by the Specialist doctors from the Specialist Clinic at SGH. Medisave can be used to pay for these procedures.

Try not to find out from other people about their experiences on these procedures, as you get will dif versions from dif people. Just go there and let the doctor attend to you and he will give you a briefing before the actual procedure is carried out. I will only tell you that for Gastroscopy, Doctor inserted the tube from the mouth, and for Colonoscopy the tube goes in from the rectum.

http://www.ehow.com/about_4672875_what-endoscopy.html

http://www.webmd.com/colorectal-cancer/colonoscopy-16695

But, but you are such an knowledgeable 12 year old!!!

I did Endoscopy because of gastric reflux plus some other complications. Colonoscopy was just a preventive check.

Anyway, the Gleneagle doc put me under sedation the last time I did 2 years ago for my Endoscopy and Colonoscopy. Knocked out by the count of 3 and I woke up 2 hours later. Nice nap. Nevermind about missing the thrill of seeing your intestine live, cos they recorded it down and passed it to me in a DVD. The effect of the sedation lasted the rest of the day.

Good solid nap?

To the misinformed, take note tht a diff scope is used for the mouth and/or arse....they dun use the same one /public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/laugh.gif /public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/laugh.gif

the one thru the mouth is a OGD, oesophagogastroduedonoscope

thru the arse Colonoscope /public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/tongue.gif

The comfort is different for diff scopes. My exp with colonoscopy.

Two days before started drinking the oral fleet to pass motion. Initially was all right then I passed clearer and clearer motion. Started to feel some cramps cos passed too much.

I passed motion like five times an hour all the way till I entered the endo centre.

I changed into the gown and got onto the trolley.

I was wheeled into the room where I was given oxygen and iv sedation. The doctor injected the meds then shouted," oh there's a bump but lucky the meds r in." :( I remembered thinking "what kind of doctor r u..." not sure if I said this aloud as I was groggy.

The actual procedure was painless but uncomfortable. The nurses had to hold me down as I kept trying to get up to pass motion.

No pain but I could feel the scope in my intestines. In fact, I kept putting my hands on the abdomen to feel the scope. The nurses had to hold me down :p

After the procedure, was wheeled out to recovery room to recover then to change clothes and speak to doctor before being discharged.

Bottom line, no pain but uncomfortable.

Why you guys go for endoscopy?

I knew Colonscopy is for irregular bowel symton, or blood in stools, etc....but not sure what is for Endoscopy leh...

Ai yo. Endoscope is general.

OGD is through the mouth.

Colonoscopy is through the rectum.

Consent is never written as endoscope.

I understand that Colonoscopy is done when the person lay side way on the crotch while the tube insert through rectum. But while performing endoscope, the person lay down, sit down or what?

Edited by 13177

Anyone have after effects after doing endoscope? Like throat pain or abdominal pain etc?

For days, my stomach had a very mild pain or discomfort. Can feel the pain is localize to a spot. The doc did told me he took a small tissue sample for analysis.

For throat, no problem. I think the doc did warm me of throat pain or discomfort.

Edited by Ender

Anyone have after effects after doing endoscope? Like throat pain or abdominal pain etc?

Sore throat is expected becos of the endoscope being inserted. Keep it moist with frequent sips of water or suck lozenges.

Abd discomfort is usually due to air being insufflated to obtain better visualisation of the intestines. The distended feeling should resolve with the passing of gas within 24hrs. If it remains or worsens, seek help.