My experience working in civil service...

Relacklabrudder

As to why the additional leave is unpaid, Mrs Teo said the National Population and Talent Division (NPTD) observed that even with paid parental leave, some parents have not been using them in full.

“Some do not need all the leave provided; others face pressures at work that prevent them from taking more parental leave. Further paid leave does not benefit these parents,” she said. “Instead, parents want better assurance of workplace support, that they can take all their parental leave provisions if they need them.”

This is why the main objectives of the pilot are to test the general viability of longer parental leave, and to require all supervisors to facilitate such leave. Under this pilot, Mrs Teo said, supervisors in the public sector, which includes ministries and statutory boards, will no longer be able to say “maybe yes, maybe no” when employees apply for parental leave.

SMLJ.

Does this even make any sense at all?

Now who wants to be a public servant?

Maybe can change the title of the thread to the above???

Public service to give an extra four weeks of unpaid infantcare leave per parent, to be taken in the child’s first year

Under a pilot scheme announced on Thursday (March 2), public servants and their spouses will be guaranteed six months of parental leave per couple.

This means that as long as one parent is a public servant, the couple can have up to 26 weeks of leave, or six months, between them.

right sited here

SMLJ.

Doesn't have to make sense. It just have to mean "NO PAY!".

It's very weird how this policy works. What do they mean by 'as long as one parent is a public servant'? That means if the other parent is working in private sector ..... how to enforce the company to grant the leave?

Unpaid is not the issue here. For higher rank position, going on long leave like that is effectively like might as well resign already.

Actually civil servant different from public servant.

A civil servant is a public servant but a public servant is not a civil servant.

Edited by Showster

SMLJ.

What Mrs Teo was trying to say is like every month you earn $10k salary but you only managed to spend $5k at the end of the month. So might as well just give you a $5k salary since the extra money does not benefit you if you don't spend it.

Also let's not forget the latest and greatest wisdom from our rulers - give you unpaid leave will let you appreciate and value the importance of leave.

Tio bo?

Edited by Jellandross

SMLJ.

why no make sense?

only in cs you can take unpaid long leave and still retain your job

in the private sector, this is simply known as resign without job

govt jin

Edited by Enye

What Mrs Teo was trying to say is like every month you earn $10k salary but you only managed to spend $5k at the end of the month. So might as well just give you a $5k salary since the extra money does not benefit you if you don't spend it.

Also let's not forget the latest and greatest wisdom from our rulers - give you unpaid leave will let you appreciate and value the importance of leave.

Tio bo?

I think what she is trying to say is this.

1) the current parental leave and such which are paid are not fully utilised for a few reasons. One is there is no need for it and one is because of pressure at the workplace.

2) giving extra paid leave might not be useful as employers in the private sector might choose the easier way out and that is to sack the person taking extra paid leave. Having it unpaid might just sit better with private sector employers. Extra paid leave which is claimable to the gift (so private employers will not face the pinch)might happen in the future as this is the trial period.

3) sometimes it's not the money but the employee physical presence is needed. Your example is wrong. The correct example is you earn 5k a month. You can get another 5k in bonus but you will not be given because you don't need it. Which is kind of stupid for her to say it so bluntly.

4) I believe she has a kpi to meet so before she start throwing money to parents (1 is civil servant) must be assured money well spent and tfr increases otherwise people will slam her for giving more money to parents while tfr never increase (and need more foreigners still) when the money could be better used elsewhere.

Two cents. Not a pap supporter but just giving unbiased and neutral view.

why no make sense?

govt jin

Unpaid. Seriously. Unpaid

They can take their "pilot" and fly him kamikaze into their dumb asses. :D

Retain is one thing. Even in ps, it's a career-killer, obviously.

No matter how you argue it out, a staff, especially professional rank, cannot go 6 months out of office and still match up to those who are unburdened by family demands and can chiong at work.

Can keep the job, sure, but prospects are pretty much shot after that. Of course, for lower-rank staff, no issue lah.

It all depends on company culture and also the Boss' support. I work in a US MNC and some time back one of our team mate was diagnosed with early stage tumour. Our director who's an Aussie supported him to be absent from work with full salary for almost a year to focus on his treatment. This was not even on leave record or anything. The boss just said "go take care of yourself first and don't worry about work". The rest of the team load-shared his job while he's away. Fortunately, his treatment was positive. He's now back to work and doing well health and career wise.

I admit such examples are probably very rare but there are good bosses around.

Edited by Jellandross

It all depends on company culture and also the Boss' support. I work in a US MNC and some time back one of our team mate was diagnosed with early stage tumour. Our director who's an Aussie supported him to be absent from work with full salary for almost a year to focus on his treatment. This was not even on leave record or anything. The boss just said "go take care of yourself first and don't worry about work". The rest of the team load-shared his job while he's away. Fortunately, his treatment was positive. He's now back to work and doing well health and career wise.

So in this kind of company, do you think there needs to be a mandatory unpaid leave scheme?

why no make sense?

govt jin

Makes sense now :))

Unpaid now but will still retain job at the same salary when come back ...

Private sector, unpaid now , and jobless later

How does that make sense when this new scheme applies to the spouse of civil servants?

duh... unpaid is unpaid. 

you can still arrange to take unpaid leave with your boss and take that haitus off work.

why does it have to be mandated?!?

unpaid leave also == to no income. having a kid is already blardy expensive to begin with, loogee one month pay summore?!? nao pai ah?

somemore, unpaid leave == bonus prorated, who the hell want that?!?

reading between the lines, making it unpaid will also result in more people not utilizing it. then later will come out to say, "see, the scheme is there, but no one is utilizing it. no i dun give. give liow no one take!"
TMD!

got open position in your company bo?

Hehe...

And then say that 6 months is max cos give 6 months not fully utilised.

But take so much paid leave also very siong on the system and co-workers leh unless the company has got lots of excess. Most of us already work double for a single pay.

duh... unpaid is unpaid. 

you can still arrange to take unpaid leave with your boss and take that haitus off work.

why does it have to be mandated?!?

unpaid leave also == to no income. having a kid is already blardy expensive to begin with, loogee one month pay summore?!? nao pai ah?

somemore, unpaid leave == bonus prorated, who the hell want that?!?

reading between the lines, making it unpaid will also result in more people not utilizing it. then later will come out to say, "see, the scheme is there, but no one is utilizing it. no i dun give. give liow no one take!"
TMD!